Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surely a modern Classic.., 3 Jun 2013
By 
M C. MacLeod (Scotland Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation (Paperback)
I am so impressed by the power and wisdom of this book. Among the many literary bridges already taken between Buddhist thinking and a mystical Christian approach to Inner Space, this must surely be high on the list. Yes, it does talk of 'God' and perhaps gives rise for the reader to look at the definition and meaning of such a word in their lives, but it also give a wider vision of the power in silence over and above what we cling to as our definition of who we are in everyday dealings with our impressions of the world. The approach needs courage and perseverance and loving kindness (metta) but the rewards are there to be found and Martin Laird eases the way with good practical suggestions. Don't be misled though, by its small size , this very very far from a how-to book.. it might also be useful to those following a Quaker way.

. I have ordered three copies and regret not buying the hardback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars christian mindfulness teachings, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation (Paperback)
A great book for introducing christians to the practice of mindfulness meditation. However i feel picking up a half-decent buddhist meditation book would explain aspects not fully covered here, and take things alot further down the path. Im not sure if its because within the christian tradition mindfulness meditation is not widely taught in churches etc, while it is fundamental to buddhist practice. As a buddhist i found it interesting to see the convergance of the two paths with the same practices. This book will certainly enrich my own meditation practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AM STILL READING IT, 8 Nov 2013
By 
P. A. SMITH "Patricia A Smith" (England, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation (Paperback)
What I have read so far is very enlightening and I am enjoying the book very much. I hope that the remainder will live up to my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contemplative Meditation, 27 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation (Paperback)
A book not to be rushed. I'm captivated by the wealth of helpful information, addressed in simple language, for anyone to easily follow.
I'm only just starting this book - watch this space...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Way into Prayer, 11 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation (Paperback)
This book is a very great help in the practice of prayer. It is too early for me to say much, since I am only a beginner!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book About Contemplation, 11 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation (Paperback)
This is a truly lovely book outlining the history and practice of 'going into silence'. I will keep reading it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From the christian tradition, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation (Paperback)
This is very useful resource, drawing deeply on the ancient christian tradition.
Literature is also used effectively to give insight into situations and benefits.
It also offers practical advice re. breathing, word/mantra use and awareness.
Certainly helpful for anyone wishing to deepen, or refresh, their living experience of contemplative prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for meditation, 4 April 2014
By 
denisj "jdj" (west yorkshire dales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation (Paperback)
Martin laird has proved himself a truly great writer and spiritual teacher by producing this second superb Christian book . I enjoyed every line and was bitterly disappointed when the last line appeared .....Give us more of this sensible, practical spiritual rich food please Fr Martin . It s like reading pure Thomas Merton in the 21st century !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could read this again and again, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation (Paperback)
Reading this is in itself an act of contemplation. His writing style is thoughtful, and calming. I think I will read this again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation
Into the Silent Land: The Practice of Contemplation by Martin Laird (Paperback - 24 April 2006)
£9.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews