Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2010
Prayers from Revelations of Divine Love
"Enfolded in Love," daily readings with Julian of Norwich. As the author of "Prayers from Revelations of Divine Love," a transaltion from Julian of Norwich, I would like to review "Enfolded in Love." I found the book wonderful to accompany Julian's book. It is a beautifully written synopsis of Julian's intense doctrine which gives a greater understanding to Julian's visions. It was prepared by the Julian Shrine in 1980 and has now sold over 120,000 copies establishing it as a worldwide classic. As well as the readings the book gives some information on Julian. What I found particulary useful is the index of sources for the readings linking up the chapters in Julian's book. So if you have Julian's book I would recommend you to read "Enfolded in Love" at the same time. If you don't have Julian's book then I recommend you purchase both. They will both be a blessing to you and help you to a deepening of your faith. The message that our Lord Jesus gave to Julian through the visions was for all her fellow Christians and has been passed down since 1393.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
This whole series produces an excellent introduction to some great mystics in the Christian Tradition. The slim, small volumes are well-designed and provide visual food for thought as well as providing snippets of the texts. The words are left to speak for themselves, and the translation is standard. I found that I wanted more after reading and meditating on this volume, Enfolded in Love.
Julian is a great character, down to earth and realistic about human beings yet full of insight about the loving nature of God, she never forgets that Christ is mother and father to humanity, and she balances the male aspects of God the Father with the loving and nurturing heart of God.
I would recommend, if you have not explored the Christian mystics , that you give Julian your attention. You will be surprised and delighted at her breadth of vision. Go for it.She is very much a writer who resonates with the world today.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
'Enfolded in Love' is a wonderful book for short readings to comfort and inspire everyday. Personally it helps me understand more fully what the title really means and I have experienced that feeling spiritually during meditation due to reading some of the content.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
If you fear God's punishment,and which of us doesn't ? this is a very consoling and comforting book to use daily.One would need to read a little background on St Julian of Norwich's life and visions beforehand ,as it is based on her interpretations of these visions. I hope you will feel enfolded by love as I did ,as distinct from fear and dread! Very definately worthwhile and easily read.There is something there for everybody. - it will change your outlook-this is where it's power lies. Enjoy her,yes Julian is female !! You will not regret it I promise you.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
I have recently finished reading 'The Greening' which I think is about the best book I have ever read. There were so many references to Enfolded in love I was keen to find out more about it myself.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Content is as required. Printing/production also. Wish it was still possible to buy the 1985 edition with illustrations on every page in black ink and gold paper outer with similar style motif.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Arrived promptly and looked good. On using have found it a marvellous aid to daily prayer. Nice pocket size for carrying around too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
This is a real treat, a refuge for the world weary, or for one who wishes the experience of divine connection. A small edition - pocket sized and slim which makes it more lovely somehow.

A collection of reflections and remniscences that are brief enough for easy access and assimilation, and of sufficient length to be useful and engaging. And these thoughts run deep enough to stir the soul into recognition.

A wonderful little book and would make an ideal gift for those on the spiritual journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
This is a great spiritual book, which if you are a Christian will greatly extend you knowledge of Jesus. I have given this book away so many times and it has always been welcomed by the recipients. It never ceases to amaze me that someone in Mother Julian's day could have such a deep understanding through her visions. I highly recommend this book - either as a daily study or to read and re-read. Some mew understanding will always be found.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Todays spirituality conceived in centuries previously. Vet good , causing one to look more deeply into todays revelations. Surprise, Surprise!! How relavent this is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)