Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of "Enfolded in Love," by the author of "Prayers from Revelations of Divine Love.", 4 May 2010
By 
D. Mcdermott "David McDermott" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enfolded in Love: Daily Readings with Julian of Norwich (Paperback)
Prayers from Revelations of Divine Love
"Enfolded in Love," daily readings with Julian of Norwich. As the author of "Prayers from Revelations of Divine Love," a transaltion from Julian of Norwich, I would like to review "Enfolded in Love." I found the book wonderful to accompany Julian's book. It is a beautifully written synopsis of Julian's intense doctrine which gives a greater understanding to Julian's visions. It was prepared by the Julian Shrine in 1980 and has now sold over 120,000 copies establishing it as a worldwide classic. As well as the readings the book gives some information on Julian. What I found particulary useful is the index of sources for the readings linking up the chapters in Julian's book. So if you have Julian's book I would recommend you to read "Enfolded in Love" at the same time. If you don't have Julian's book then I recommend you purchase both. They will both be a blessing to you and help you to a deepening of your faith. The message that our Lord Jesus gave to Julian through the visions was for all her fellow Christians and has been passed down since 1393.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introducing Julian, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Alisoun Francis (kent, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This whole series produces an excellent introduction to some great mystics in the Christian Tradition. The slim, small volumes are well-designed and provide visual food for thought as well as providing snippets of the texts. The words are left to speak for themselves, and the translation is standard. I found that I wanted more after reading and meditating on this volume, Enfolded in Love.
Julian is a great character, down to earth and realistic about human beings yet full of insight about the loving nature of God, she never forgets that Christ is mother and father to humanity, and she balances the male aspects of God the Father with the loving and nurturing heart of God.
I would recommend, if you have not explored the Christian mystics , that you give Julian your attention. You will be surprised and delighted at her breadth of vision. Go for it.She is very much a writer who resonates with the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: Enfolded in Love: Daily Readings with Julian of Norwich (Paperback)
'Enfolded in Love' is a wonderful book for short readings to comfort and inspire everyday. Personally it helps me understand more fully what the title really means and I have experienced that feeling spiritually during meditation due to reading some of the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you fear God's punishment ,this is the book for you., 17 Sep 2011
This review is from: Enfolded in Love: Daily Readings with Julian of Norwich (Paperback)
If you fear God's punishment,and which of us doesn't ? this is a very consoling and comforting book to use daily.One would need to read a little background on St Julian of Norwich's life and visions beforehand ,as it is based on her interpretations of these visions. I hope you will feel enfolded by love as I did ,as distinct from fear and dread! Very definately worthwhile and easily read.There is something there for everybody. - it will change your outlook-this is where it's power lies. Enjoy her,yes Julian is female !! You will not regret it I promise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grown on me, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enfolded in Love: Daily Readings with Julian of Norwich (Paperback)
Arrived promptly and looked good. On using have found it a marvellous aid to daily prayer. Nice pocket size for carrying around too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was what was required, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enfolded in Love: Daily Readings with Julian of Norwich (Paperback)
Content is as required. Printing/production also. Wish it was still possible to buy the 1985 edition with illustrations on every page in black ink and gold paper outer with similar style motif.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what I expected, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. Elizabeth M. Wilkinson (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enfolded in Love: Daily Readings with Julian of Norwich (Paperback)
I have recently finished reading 'The Greening' which I think is about the best book I have ever read. There were so many references to Enfolded in love I was keen to find out more about it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make this book your daily read., 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enfolded in Love: Daily Readings with Julian of Norwich (Paperback)
Wonderful book. Read it years ago. Bought this one for a present
for someone who is now thoroughly enjoying and benefiting from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asking too much, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enfolded in Love: Daily Readings with Julian of Norwich (Paperback)
The book is as indicated, but the requirement to write twenty or more words about it is asking too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enfolded in Love: Daily Readings with Julian of Norwich
Enfolded in Love: Daily Readings with Julian of Norwich by Robert Llewelyn (Paperback - 1 Feb 2004)
3.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews