Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meister Eckhart; a Spiritual Master
This is a deeply spiritual book, which lifts the reader out of him/herself. It would appeal to anyone seeking to deepen their prayer life, and spiritual life. It is beautifully written, but needs to be read slowly. It can be used for meditation or contemplation, and is, in my opinion, not only spiritually rich in content, but one of the best books I have ever purchased. I...
Published on 10 May 2009 by Mary Dring

versus
48 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this if you're new to Eckhart!
This book has some really perceptive things to say, and if you know anything about Meister Eckhart already it is well worth reading. But, if you're completely, or relatively, new to the teachings and writings of the brilliant 13th century German mystic you definitely shouldn't read this book as an introduction to his spiritual insight, mainly because it's not a...
Published on 9 Aug. 2006 by Marc John


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meister Eckhart; a Spiritual Master, 10 May 2009
By 
Mary Dring (Kent. England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Way of Paradox: Spiritual Life as Taught by Meister Eckhart (Paperback)
This is a deeply spiritual book, which lifts the reader out of him/herself. It would appeal to anyone seeking to deepen their prayer life, and spiritual life. It is beautifully written, but needs to be read slowly. It can be used for meditation or contemplation, and is, in my opinion, not only spiritually rich in content, but one of the best books I have ever purchased. I would certainly recommend it to those interested in a deeper spiritual life, or prayer-life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this if you're new to Eckhart!, 9 Aug. 2006
By 
Marc John - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of Paradox: Spiritual Life as Taught by Meister Eckhart (Paperback)
This book has some really perceptive things to say, and if you know anything about Meister Eckhart already it is well worth reading. But, if you're completely, or relatively, new to the teachings and writings of the brilliant 13th century German mystic you definitely shouldn't read this book as an introduction to his spiritual insight, mainly because it's not a straightforward translation of Eckhart's wisdom but a heavily re-interpretated and quite opinionated rendering by an English monk. Less than 5% of the entire text is Eckhart's own words, 45% is the monk expounding on it and the remaining 50% is the author diverging completely into his own spiritual philosophy, much of which is mainstream Christianity.

But, to give credit where it's due, the monk, Cyprian Smith, does offer some thoughtful and accurate reflections of what Eckhart knew and taught, primarily that God is WITHIN you and can be experienced directly by all, in what Eckhart poetically termed as the "Birth of God in the Soul." You don't need the church or any of its sacraments. All you need is you, plain and simple.

The problem with this book is that the author tries to fit Eckhart's wisdom too narrowly into the traditional Christian way of thinking. By chapters six and seven it becomes blatantly clear that Smith is on a mission to repackage the liberating gnosis of Eckhart and give it a thorough Christian re-branding, rather than letting religion itself be transcended altogether in favour of real enlightenment. This was Eckhart's real intention, but the fact seems to evade the author of this book.

For example, the instant Smith started claiming that our potential enlightenment has only been made possible by the arrival in time and space of a historical Jesus, who lived two thousand years ago, I knew the book had veered dreadfully off its stated course. In fact, with this way-off statement alone Smith shows he hasn't really understood Eckhart's poetic style as much as he thinks he has.

As somebody with personal experience of the inner experiences Eckhart speaks of, beyond simply reading his books, I found myself cringing at several misguided statements the author makes about how a reader of Eckhart is meant to understand him. This is exactly the reason why you should read direct translations of Eckhart before approaching this book, worthy as it is in places. Then you'll be equipped to sift out what is really Eckhart and what is, actually, Smith's own personal, pro-Christian slant.

And, it must be asked, who exactly is Cyprian Smith and what qualifies him to write this book in the first place? Besides being a monk we are told nothing about the author. He seems content to write as though we should all simply accept he is some kind of authority on mysticism and Eckhart. Yet we do not know where he studied Eckhart or for how long or what his own spiritual experiences have been.

What does seem clear about the author, from his style of writing, is that he must have once been a very troubled, confused Christian who struggled with the illogical, literal aspects of religion. My guess is that he came across Eckhart's wholly metaphorical interpretations of Scripture and that these insights "saved" him, giving him a whole new approach to his faith.

But, unable to fully disengage from his Christian conditioning, Smith is attempting to reconcile Eckhart's enlightened teachings with more traditional pulpit preachings, particularly about Christ as a historical fact and as the world's first and only Redeemer. Smith seems unaware, or unwilling to accept, that equally gifted mystics such as Siddhartha Gautama in India and numerous Gnostic ascetics were around centuries before the coming of Christianity.

The Birth of God in the Soul, in other words, DID NOT begin with the historical Jesus; it had been achieved by many great mystics prior to the arrival of Nazareth's famed carpenter. If Smith were able to acknowledged this, his book would rank far higher in the canon of mystical literature instead of reading too much like a recruitment dossier for Christianity.

Ultimately, through this fault and others, this book finally does not do justice to the true spirit and intention of Eckhart's wisdom, which was for us to transcend religion, not reinforce it!

Overall, qualify what you read here very, very carefully indeed, but don't discount the book it altogether. Some of the passages are very well written and in general you're left with the feeling that Smith is a genuinely decent fellow who is only trying to figure out the big questions like a lot of other people. Just don't buy this book thinking it's an absolute authority on Meister Eckhart.

Most important of all, read "From Whom God Hid Nothing" and "Everything As Divine" before this. Eckhart is NOT difficult to grasp at all. Be wary of authors and publishers who claim otherwise - in most cases they just want to justify their own agenda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction, 19 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Way of Paradox: Spiritual Life as Taught by Meister Eckhart (Paperback)
I think this is a great book for anyone new to Eckhart wanting to find out the basics of what he is about. Eckhart is problematic for anyone seeking a level introduction as so many have claimed him as their own: Catholic mystic, Catholic heretic, Western Buddhist, medieval New Age thinker etc. It is of course up to each individual to find out who Eckhart is for them, (there are, after all, in a sense as many 'authors' as their are 'readers' as Roland Barthes once said).

I think one should not be deterred that Cyprian Smith sees Eckhart from a Christian perspective. Eckhart was after all an extremely learned Dominican scholar and inevitably expresses himself accordingly. Cyprian Smith (a Benedictine monk) comes from a tradition that is able to read Eckhart from a view of Christianity that has a generous breadth. None of what he says should stop the reader from making his own appropriation of Eckhart, although in order to do that one must recall that this is exactly what it says it is: an introduction. A fuller picture of this enigmatic figure will require some reading of his actual works and then I fear the controversies really do begin!

I loaned this book to a friend who comes from a diametrically opposite spiritual perspective to myself. He was quite unconverted to my point of view but loved it too. I see that as a recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound, 30 May 2011
This review is from: The Way of Paradox: Spiritual Life as Taught by Meister Eckhart (Paperback)
This is a book that I have been waiting for a long time. Often I have been confused by the strangeness, mysteries of life. This small volumn has set a framework to begin to live these contradictions and to begin to accept rather than try ro solve them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more about christianity than meister eckhart, 25 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of Paradox: Spiritual Life as Taught by Meister Eckhart (Paperback)
A well written book but I felt the author was struggling hard to fit Meister Eckhart's mysticism and spirituality into a traditional ritualistic christian framework. Personally I feel Meister Eckhart rejected a lot of what the church taught (he was excommunicated after all) and the author spends a lot of time attempting to reconcile Eckhart with the Church with his theorizing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiritual teaching of Eckhart, 10 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way of Paradox: Spiritual Life as Taught by Meister Eckhart (Paperback)
A spiritual seeker's introduction to the thought of this extrardinary man, who has a great deal to offer us today. Exciting, clear-headed, wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Way of Paradox: Spiritual Life as Taught by Meister Eckhart
The Way of Paradox: Spiritual Life as Taught by Meister Eckhart by Cyprian Smith (Paperback - 22 Nov. 2004)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews