Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To be read and then picked up again and again.
I have always held a deep admiration for Henri Nouwen through a number of his books that I've read and this one is no exception. It does, however, give the reader who is perhaps struggling with everyday life just a perfect insight into the inner mind when we are going through difficult times.
It is, in many ways, both uplifting and encouraging to read the complete...
Published on 18 Mar 2011 by John Wilson

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Empty platitudes
This book is the worst disappointment after the over 400 books I have bought with Amazon in the last few years.
It contains just a number of empty platitudes. AND disconnected: they ring like the "inspiring sentences" which accompany a New Age calendar.
Of course I have nothing to object to "inspiring" New Age calendars nor to anyone who may enjoy them. What is...
Published 10 months ago by G. Moreno


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To be read and then picked up again and again., 18 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom (Paperback)
I have always held a deep admiration for Henri Nouwen through a number of his books that I've read and this one is no exception. It does, however, give the reader who is perhaps struggling with everyday life just a perfect insight into the inner mind when we are going through difficult times.
It is, in many ways, both uplifting and encouraging to read the complete honesty in which Henri speaks about the difficulties he is going through and to know that with persistent belief in the God of our own understanding we will come through the dark tunnel and emerge all the better for it.
A book to be picked up time and time again and any passage read in isolation to ponder over in stillness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only a handful of books in your lifetime are as good as this., 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom (Paperback)
After reading Nouwen's book I should really just box up virtually all of my Christian books around my house, put them in the garage to avoid being distracted, and spend the next ten years reading, and re-reading The Inner Voice of Love alongside the Bible.

Truly, this is a heart-breaking, deeply profound, beautiful expression of our brokenness, lostness and hope. It is so beautifully written with such tender simplicity that it cannot help but leave you with a sense of your life having been changed.

Buy many copies and bless many people with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nouwen, 30 July 2010
By 
C. Burke (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom (Paperback)
It is very refreshing to read a book written from the heart and soul. It is brave of anyone to allow material of personal spiritual journalling quality to be published. It is a very valuable resource for anyone who is struggling with questions of faith and life as it connects with teh universality of experiences. It provides Christian meaning for times of suffering, as a connectedness with the cross on the journey to the resurrection.

It is a very simply written book, best read in small sections for reflection and reassurance through difficult times. It is accessible for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


161 of 177 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartrendingly Beautiful, Mindshatteringly Life Changing., 3 Nov 2000
This review is from: The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom (Paperback)
Wow...
Let me say it again: WOW!!! This book will change you. It does not matter who you are or what your story is...if you are a human being...this book will change you.
Stop reading this review for a moment. Go buy the book. Come back and I will tell you more:
OK then. Now that you have purchased a copy (if you haven't I'm serious-go do it) lets talk about the book you will soon posses---or should I say will soon posses you. This book is amazing. It is the chronicle, told with heartbreaking honesty, of one man's ascent from darkness to light; from death to life...from nothingness to the arms of God.
This is not a story however. There is no narrative. It is a collection of spiritual imperatives that Henri Nouwen wrote to himself during the worst spiritual, emotional, and psychological crisis of his life. Each one drips with meaning.
Each imperative is soaked in the power and grace that can only come from passing through the fire of human suffering. This stuff is what was left at the end of each day Henri spent in the refining fires of his struggles. There is no dross here.
God has clearly spoken here in and through this man. Get this book and listen to what He has to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and challenging, 23 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom (Paperback)
If you have never read any books by Henri Nouwen then you are missing out! This is a good one to start with. You have to read it in small chunks as there is so much packed into each reading. There are some simple yet profound truths that have the power to change your life. The Return of the Prodigal Son would be a good one to follow on with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully comforting and consoling read, 16 Dec 2009
By 
A. L. Reeve (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom (Paperback)
I would massively recommend this book for anyone feeling hopeless,hurt,let down, abandoned or unloved - or simply for anyone seeking spiritual nourishment.It is the most comforting and reassuring read, really seeming to get to the heart of what it means to be human.Structured as a series of "vignettes",each not much more than a page long, Henri Nouwen offers insight, reflection and inspiration for those grappling with emotional and relationship challenges. Nouwen has such a deeply compassionate and empathic take on things - the whole book cries out "I hear you, I've been there, I feel your pain". And it offers hope. Nouwen's Christianity is surely how it should all be - simplicity,love before judgement, solidarity and healing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 3 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom (Paperback)
This is a set of most beautiful writings from the heart. Snippets of wisdom, of hope, of guidance, of fragility, of strength. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing book, 28 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom (Paperback)
This is without a doubt the best, most encouraging and amazing book I have read in 2009. I had read two books previously by Henri Nouwen and had been impressed with his gentle but challenging Christian spirituality.

This book started life not with the intention ever to be published. Henri Nouwen went through a very dark period in his life, suffering from depression it seems. With the support of cousellors/ spiritual guides he eventaully managed to pass this stage. This book is a series of about 50 short imperatives/reflections that Nouwen wrote to himself. That a man clearly in depression could write so honestly and eloquently is astonishing.

The introduction of the book explains that the short writings do not need to be read in order and it is not recommended many are read at one sitting an I adopted this approach and can see why it is necessary so as to have time to reflect on each in turn.

An excellent book for those dealing with loss, friendship, spiritual searching, depression, but in reality for anyone. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inner Voice of Love (Paperback)
Very inspiring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom (Paperback)
Purchasing this book, in my case, served two purposes; acquiring the book itself and also discovering for the first time that buying a used (second hand) publication in good condition, at times, is really worth trying.

Thanks for your service which I have always commended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom
The Inner Voice of Love: A Journey Through Anguish to Freedom by Henri J.M. Nouwen (Paperback - 17 Feb 1997)
Used & New from: 6.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews