Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Companion for the Soul
I have used this collection of daily reflections several times over the years. Nouwen is one of my favourite writers on spirituality (see my reviews of Reaching Out and Creative Ministry). Henri Nouwen was a Dutch Catholic priest, and acclaimed academic, who devoted his later years to serving people with severe developmental disabilities through the L'Arche Daybreak...
Published on 6 July 2012 by Rev. M. Bonser

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brief thoughts
Having read this author's work "The Return of the Prodigal Son" I was looking forward to reading a short passage of his writing each day. This is exactly what you get in this book but I would put the emphasison short. The readings for some days are better than others; this is a curate's egg - good in parts.
Published 19 months ago by Over60


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Companion for the Soul, 6 July 2012
By 
Rev. M. Bonser (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bread for the Journey: 19 (Paperback)
I have used this collection of daily reflections several times over the years. Nouwen is one of my favourite writers on spirituality (see my reviews of Reaching Out and Creative Ministry). Henri Nouwen was a Dutch Catholic priest, and acclaimed academic, who devoted his later years to serving people with severe developmental disabilities through the L'Arche Daybreak community, near Toronto, Canada. He describes the writing of this book as "a true spiritual adventure"(3) and "an adventure in solitude"(5) . The reflections come from the core of his being, and that core is faith in Jesus. He describes the little note book in which he wrote initially as "a companion with whom I had intimate conversations." Using this book day by day draws one into intimate conversation not only with Nouwen's thinking but with the Lord Himself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bread for the Journey by Henri Nouwen, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book and really is an inspiration for every day to help one on life's journey. I have given them as presents to people to help them as it has helped me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable for daily reflection and prayer, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is even better than I expected. The short daily reflections are profound and on the ball in relation to human life, experience and concerns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bread for the journey, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Henri Nouwen's books and this one is perfect for focusing the mind either first thing in the morning or last thing at night. Short and very sweet daily readings that do the job. I've got a hard copy that I've been using for last 5 years and its getting a bit worn now so I decided to update it to the kindle version and its just as good, in fact its better because the hard copy is quite thick and heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Brief thoughts, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read this author's work "The Return of the Prodigal Son" I was looking forward to reading a short passage of his writing each day. This is exactly what you get in this book but I would put the emphasison short. The readings for some days are better than others; this is a curate's egg - good in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wanted a copy of my own., 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered from two different shops initially; each failed to obtain product after considerable periods of time. Friend bought her copy from Amazon. My order arrived quickly and in good condition.

Inspirational short daily readings. Would appeal to many; non dogmatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Words and more words. It gets you thinking!, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Henri Nouwen is one of my favourite writers and this small book has some amazing insights especially about words! You must read it. A shortl reading to mull over each day, spiritual bread for the spiritual journey. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always inspiring to read snippets from Henri Nouwen. A great way to start the day! Definitely would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a message to encourage us to go deeper into the love of God, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a message for each day, a message to encourage us to go deeper into the love of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nouwen nuanced, 13 Feb. 2012
Many of the daily readings have the profound and simple touch which we treasure in Nouwen. Some verge on the sentimental and naive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bread for the Journey: 19
Bread for the Journey: 19 by Henri J.M. Nouwen (Paperback - 18 Nov. 1997)
Used & New from: £0.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews