Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally an evolutionist who talks evidence
I have read many books by supporters of evolution, many of the authors were distinguished scientists. But this one is by far the best because the author, who is an expert on fossils, really describes the evidence. He goes through may topics in detail, origins of dinosaurs, birds, and mammals. Probably the best part is when he focuses on the semi recent past (50 MY ago)...
Published on 1 Dec. 2007 by T. Lawry

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject, but a bit too much ranting
I've enjoyed reading this book. The Evolution-themed books I've read lately (such as "Ancestors tale", "Life Ascending") have contained lots of startling insights, but have been written mostly from the molecular point of view and it was nice to read a book that focussed on what the fossil record actually tells us.

A couple of criticisms, however...
Published on 29 Sept. 2010 by Mr. Steve Lloyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally an evolutionist who talks evidence, 1 Dec. 2007
By 
T. Lawry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters (Hardcover)
I have read many books by supporters of evolution, many of the authors were distinguished scientists. But this one is by far the best because the author, who is an expert on fossils, really describes the evidence. He goes through may topics in detail, origins of dinosaurs, birds, and mammals. Probably the best part is when he focuses on the semi recent past (50 MY ago) when the various types of modern mammals appeared. The fossil record is at its best so there are lots of transitional forms or "missing links", which actually are NOT missing, which really demonstrate that evolution did occur. This is the book I have been waiting for for years. Bravo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evolution: The Fossils Say `Yes' To It And `No' To Creationism, Including Intelligent Design, 8 Aug. 2008
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters (Hardcover)
"Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters" is the best book I have ever read emphasizing the importance of the fossil record as the indisputable "facts" of biological evolution, documenting the history of life on Planet Earth. Its publication is long overdue, and yet, remains quite timely, when major publishers like Simon and Schuster have mistakenly published sterling examples of mendacious intellectual pornography like Michael Behe's "The Edge of Evolution". Indeed, Prothero's book ought to be viewed as the one that demolishes forever, Behe's inane assertion (which he had expressed in a private e-mail reply to me that I've posted elsewhere here at Amazon.com) that the fossil record is irrelevant, claiming that the "truth" will be found only at the molecular level (More than anything else, that terse comment from Behe merely demonstrates his profound ignorance and understanding of the fossil record. Incidentally, Prothero refers to Behe as an "Intelligent Design creationist".). It also demonstrates the absurdity of creationist claims from the likes of Behe's Discovery Institute colleagues Paul Nelson, Jonathan Wells, and Geoffrey Simmons, among others, that the fossil record does not have "transitional forms". Indeed, as Prothero clearly shows his readers again and again, the history of life on our planet is replete with "transitional forms" documenting the evolutionary transitions from fish to tetrapods, from terrestrial carnivorous dinosaurs to flying birds, from primitive ungulate mammals to whales, and from apes to mankind. He also stresses the relevance of the fossil record to other aspects of evolutionary biology, noting its relevance with respect to molecular - as well as comparative anatomical - data. All of this is told in clear, concise, and persuasive, prose that often reaches the same literary heights attained by Prothero's mentor and friend, the late Stephen Jay Gould; without question this splendid book ought to be regarded as among the finest published last year.

Prothero's book is also a superb guide to the history and - regrettably - ever-present danger posed by Intelligent Design advocates and other creationists. The first three chapters emphasize the profound intellectual differences between valid mainstream science like contemporary evolutionary biology and pseudoscientific religious nonsense like "scientific" creationism in all of its flavors, especially Intelligent Design. Prothero offers a detailed look at the scientific method in the very first chapter, comparing and contrasting it with creationism (He also provides a superb introductory guide too to the writing of the Judeo-Christian Old Testament.). The second chapter is an in-depth exploration of creationism, tracing its roots in early 20th Century American Fundamentalist Protestant Christianity, and, of course, describing the emergence of Intelligent Design and its zealous promotion by the Discovery Institute, the Seattle, Washington-based "conservative" think tank (However, much to my amazement, he does not emphasize sufficiently, the important work done by philosopher of science Barbara Forrest and biologist Paul Gross in their book "Creationism's Trojan Horse: The Wedge of Intelligent Design" in exposing the Discovery Institute's crypto-Fascist agenda for a future United States. Yet, to his credit, he does acknowledge that agenda by referring to its infamous "Wedge Document" while noting the Discovery Institute's deceitful promotion of Intelligent Design at the expense of valid mainstream science like contemporary evolutionary biology.). Finally, in Chapter Three, Prothero exposes both the intellectual inanity of "Flood Geology" and the popular creationist pastime of "quote mining"; the latter, a practice that's still popular with Discovery Institute Senior Fellows Michael Behe, William Dembski and Jonathan Wells.

The next two chapters comprise an excellent introduction to the history and science of evolutionary biology and the theory and practice of cladistic systematics. In Chapter Four, Prothero discusses the history of evolutionary biology, tracing its intellectual roots from the ancient Greeks to Lamarck, Darwin, and those biologists who became the "architects" of the Modern Synthesis Theory of Evolution (also known as the so-called "Neo-Darwinian Synthesis", since it merged population genetics with paleontology, biogeography, ecology and systematics). He also discusses some of the current controversies in contemporary evolutionary biology, beginning with evolutionary developmentaly biology, better known as "Evo - Devo", and, ending, of course, with punctuated equilibrium, noting how often it has been twisted and bent out of shape by creationists of all stripes, who have excelled only in "quote mining" from the published scientific and popular publications written by Stephen Jay Gould and Niles Eldredge; the two American invertebrate paleobiologists responsible for "punk eke". In Chapter Five, Prothero offers an especially lucid account of the theory and history of cladistic systematics, emphasizing its importance as a tool for studying both Earth's current biodiversity and its history of life.

In "Part II Evolution? The Fossils Say YES!", Prothero gives us a whirlwind tour of the history of life on Planet Earth, emphasizing major episodes in the history of life on Planet Earth, beginning with the origin of life, and culminating with the emergence of mankind. In Chapter Six, Prothero offers clear, persuasive evidence for the relative ease in creating life from inert organic compounds, brushing aside creationist arguments to the contrary. He debunks the outdated notion of a "Cambrian Explosion" - which remains popular with creationists, including Intelligent Design advocates - in Chapter 7, observing that the fossil record points to instead, a "Cambrian Slow Fuse", involving the gradual diversification of hard-part skeletonized fauna over the span of eighty million years, from the Late Precambrian through early Ordovician. He discusses the emergence of tetrapods from limbless fish in Chapter 10, the rise of early amniotes (which includes the reptiles, birds and mammals) in Chapter 11, and the evolution of flight in avian dinosaurs in Chapter 12, demonstrating the existence of countless "transitional forms". Further chapters are devoted to the origin of whales (Chapter 14) and humans (Chapter 15), and thus, offer a terse, but still thorough, glimpse, at the history of life on this planet. Prothero's coverage is so superb, that I am surprised by his all too brief references to mass extinctions, especially when their very existence ought to raise ample questions about an Intelligent Designer and his ability to "design" life that is extinction resistant.

In the final chapter of his book (Chapter 16), Prothero makes a truly compelling argument explaining why creationism is a clear and present danger, not only to American education, but indeed, the very survival of the United States too. He quotes from an extended excerpt from the Los Angeles Times, describing creationist Ken Ham's indoctrination of young school children against evolution, conjuring up - at least for me - an image of Adolf Hitler's infamous Nuremberg Nazi Party rallies. He blames the advent of creationism since the late 1950s for fostering scientific illiteracy among Americans, and noting that this threatens our future economic success as we compete with other, better educated, countries like those in Europe and East Asia in a global economy increasingly dominated by science and technology. He also argues persuasively that denial of evolution is harmful to our health and well being, graphically illustrating this point by reminding us of the unsuccessful 1984 baboon to human heart transplant by a creationist Loma Linda University surgeon. Prothero's dire warning is a message I have read before, especially from Niles Eldredge, but here, Prothero's remarks are most compelling, and ones that ought to be heeded by all (Not surprisingly, Prothero compares and contrasts current denial of evolution with that of global warming, and finds obvious parallels with both.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely recommended!, 10 Jun. 2008
By 
Garry Paton "Garry Paton" (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters (Hardcover)
What a fantastic book....and yet, extremely sad and worrying. The author explains with extreme clarity the scientific method, evolution, transitional fossils, etc. It's lovely reading, I only wish I had such a concise, concentrated series of effective chapters when I was an undergraduate student! What's the sad part? Despite the overwhelming evidence...well, there are a lot of people out there who would wish us to stay in the Dark Ages. I had no idea (as a British citizen) how well organised, funded and determined these Creationists types are. It's very worrying indeed. This book acts as a perfect example to what is required - an affordable book with explanatory laymen's terms - to all scientists out there, never mind the next paper - get writing like Prothero, a scientific literate society NEEDS YOU, urgently. Well done, an excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evolution - The Works, 18 Aug. 2008
By 
J. Taylor (Poole, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters (Hardcover)
This book astounded me with quality from start to finish. Here we have a guy that really knows his field (paleontology), seems to understand many others and can communicate ideas superbly.

Prothero does talk hard evidence, of which he provides plenty of varied examples. He also understands when to stop elaborating and provides many good references for individual subjects; there is an absolute minimum of repetition in around 350 large pages.

The pages themselves are lavishly illustrated and I found the cartoon humour very amusing. I read this book over 9 days and found the individual topics were highly relevant to the main subject.

As for subject matter, this book is about evidence for biological evolution in the light of creationist denial of the same. Prothero was brought up amongst all of this. As somebody who can read the scriptures in greek, he cannot be accused of biblical ignorance, rather the other way around: I thought Prothero developed a compelling arguement that the creationists in charge of leading their movement are simply ignorant of real science (because they don't do any), preferring instead to quote carefully selected out of date sources, rather than put their claims to falsifiable tests. The rest follow these teachings with sincere trust.

This book would make a good companion to 'the making of the fittest' by Sean B Carroll for a genetic perspective, or 'the ancestors tale' by Richard Dawkins for the zoological works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth should be a good thing., 13 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters (Hardcover)
The truth should be a good thing, and when people purport to be leading you to the truth, but instead lead you astray, then they do a disservice to the truth, and to you. If you are being told that the Earth is less than 10,000 years old (young Earth creationism), that fossils are created "kinds" (Intelligent Design) or that Noah's ark is a literal account of geologic history then they are not bringing you closer to the truth but obfuscating it from you.

Readers who are religious should not shy away from this book, in fact it specifically deals with the issue of what evolution means to your religious beliefs and your experience of meaning in the face of scientific understandings of nature, and Dr. Prothero clearly makes his case for the compatibility of evolution and religious belief. If the truth matters to you, then this is a vital book.

Personally, I prefer to see the evidence, hear compelling argument and make up my own mind, as any thinking person (regardless of religious affiliation) should do. Well, in Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters by Donald R. Prothero we have the ingredients for a great serving of truth, and an eminently readable and accessible book delineating the appropriate methods for viewing the science of evolution (the nature and philosophy of scientific claims), the multiple lines of evidence from horses to ancient camels, and the author's considerable and rigorous arguments for evolution by natural selection. We are entertainingly told how to avoid being led astray by creationist muddling of geologic history, unqualified and deliberately misleading interpretations of fossil anatomy and their baseless and devious attacks on our current understanding of the process of evolution as an underlying principle behind accepted modern natural science.

Without resorting to only attacking creationist arguments purely on their flaws, which in itself is deftly and convincingly done, Dr. Prothero elucidates the lines of evidence for a scientific understanding of evolution and adds weighty argument for the idea that these lines of evidence are our most informed and accurate understanding of the processes behind the complexity and beauty of the natural world as we see it today. This book is a fine example of emotionally restrained, yet scientifically rigorous and devastatingly effective argument for, not only evolution, but intellectual honesty and moral courage in the face of creationists who clearly want to deceive and distort science for their own evil ends.

One can clearly hear the author's frustration throughout the text in the face of creationist mischief, but he remains restrained in dealing with these misguided and misguiding folk by refraining from resorting to their underhanded tactics and instead focuses on the evidence, and the weight of clear argument and correct interpretation. And there is almost too much evidence to be contained in this book, even though it does a good job of introducing and explaining a wide variety and pithy selection of the molecular, genetic, fossil and philosophical. This book is sure to be intellectually stimulating to readers who are new to evolution, or experienced readers who would like to update their information to the latest lines of evidence, and to any person who cares about getting to a good understanding of how the fossil record informs our understanding of the natural world. The book also points to additional sources for furtherance of your appreciation of the evidence.

I particularly enjoyed reading about how sequentially unbroken the lines of evidence are in the microfossil record (radiolarians) and in the synapsid line (a transitional form delineating evolution from primitive amniotes, to synapids and finally mammals).

Carl Buell's illustrations are immaculate and really add illustrative and educational value to the chapter contents.

I am in awe at what a great book this is, and reminded that there is so much evidence in favour of evolution as a fact, and evolution by natural selection (the process by which evolution takes place) that creationist counter efforts are clearly spurious.

Dr Prothero has done a great service to the advancement of science and our understanding of the natural world in writing this book, and he does you a great service in illuminating the truth should you be so lucky as to pick up a copy of this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will this book prove effective?, 24 July 2008
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters (Hardcover)
A society driving an eminent scientist to produce a book such as this is in need of some serious reflective thinking. The UK has as much need for that as the author's US audience. Prothero's account is not the first such investigation of the clash of science and superstition, but it ranks as one of the most thorough and revealing. Although this is a work of science, it is also a campaign manifesto. The author is eager to expose the fallacies of "Christian" creationism and the duplicitous methods used to foster it. The account may appear strident in some places, but it's too well researched - at many levels - and too well written to dismiss it as purely polemical. Above all, it's a needed work, deserving serious attention.

Evolution, he declares forthrightly, is real. The fossils support it in too many ways to be subjected to doubt. Those who try to erode the idea or dismiss the evidence are mistaken, misdirected and often malicious in their methods. Let there be no uncertainty, the panorama of life is there to see. There are many ways of confirming how animal life has varied over time and Prothero takes us through the analysis tools used to assess the evidence. Radiometric dating should be well understood by now, but creationists still find ways to attempt to challenge it. We learn about taxonomy and cladistics, one of the more arcane aspects of fossil analysis. Molecular analysis, what DNA can tell us about the past is, of course, the fastest growing field in palaeontology.

These tools, applied to the fossils and the environment they were found in, establish the relationships demonstrating that challenging evolution is a meaningless enterprise. Still, the challengers continue to emerge. Prothero's prime target in his account is Duane Gish. The Institute for Creation Research. Gish, who seems to have been around at least since the Noachean Flood, still plods the lecture circuit, where Prothero demolished his presentation at least once. Prothero notes that ICR publications, and Gish's lecture presentations are, at best two decades behind what real research has revealed. Prothero is scathing about those who can write of palaeontology without even gotten their hands dirty doing field work. Even creationism's illegitimate offspring, "Intelligent Design", fares no better in the author's hands. If a "designer" was involved in prompting evolution, It botched the job. Why so many forms of wings, for example, when one or two would suffice? Wings and hands are physically related through what palaeontologists call "homology". As Prothero ably demonstrates, adaptations of similar bone arrangements through time produced wings and hands in various animals. Creationists, who continue to call for "missing links" want the entire process lined out in exquisite detail. That's not likely in the world in which fossils form.

Prothero then describes the emergence of early life. His discussion of the Cambrian Period - once referred to as the "Cambrian Explosion" - and its precursor "The Garden of Ediacara" makes an excellent read. He goes on to the value of invertebrate fossils, most notably the formenifera, in showing the slow, but discernable progress of life over time. Vertebrates, who form the beginnings of our own body plan with a backbone, brain and vision systems, are well depicted. In "The Great Leap Upward", he explains how some of those vertebrates learned to live on land. The lobe-finned fishes led the way, and the recent find of Tiktaalik in Canada, gives much information on how they did it. More significant is the revelation of what body plan changes could lead to dinosaurs, primates, and us.

In his conclusion, "Why Does It Matter?", the author answers the question in two ways. First, he castigates his fellow "Christians" for using deceit and deception in thinking they are reinforcing their faith by deluding others about the validity of evolution. The story of the roots of who we are is too important to dismiss or take lightly. Such tactics must be kept out of classrooms - particularly in the US where Constitutional strictures apply [lucky US!]. Most important of all, he urges, the movement is creating a scientifically illiterate population. In a highly competitive technological world, such a condition bodes ill. Denial of evolution, he notes, reaches into domestic realms such as health care and agriculture. Allowing ideologues influence into the political realm is liable to result bad decisions with long-term effects. How to avoid such ill-considered eventualities? The place to start is here, by reading this book carefully, shedding as much as possible preconceived notions about life and how it works. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Deployment of Scientific Data, 31 July 2008
By 
Nick Candoros (Athens - Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters (Hardcover)
The initial ambition of the book is quite a tall order: To present, in a concise, well structured and all inclusive way, the overwhelming evidence for the existence of Evolution in the Natural World, as developed by Darwin and confirmed through the continuous and arduous research by thousands of scientists for the last 150 years.
The material evidence itself is vast, since it covers hundreds of millions of years and innumerable families of creatures, from simple single-celled organisms to complex living beings in many animal lineages. The author repeatedly laments the constrictions of space imposed by the book, which forces him to focus only in some "key" groups and their evolutionary history, while mercilessly abandoning a wealth of valuable fossils and the arguments for the nature and process of Evolution they offered.
But he has chosen well. The moments of Earth's evolutionary history he examines closely and the species selected for each and every one of them, present ample and undisputable proof for the way the Natural World evolves, creating the wealth and beauty of prehistoric and modern ecosystems. Again and again, a veritable avalanche of data, from an immensely rich fossil record worldwide, is used, in an objective, well-structured, scientific way, in order to demonstrate that Evolution exists and works more or less according to Darwinian principles.
The book strives for scientific cold-blooded objectivity and an adherence to provable and well-established facts. Nevertheless it has a militant character, since the author aims to utterly discredit the creationist view of the world, with its narrow-minded interpretation of physical reality. And he clearly means business, since his arguments, in every chapter, are akin to concentrated artillery fire, against the unrelenting attacks of the opposite side to all things scientific which do not agree with their strict beliefs.
To an educated European like myself, the sole fact that such a wealth of scientific evidence for the existence of Evolution, is not enough proof by itself, but has to be deployed as an army against a fundamentalist ideology, fills me with a mixture of amusement and dread. The later because this whole conflict takes place within a supposedly free, democratic, fully developed and powerful nation as the USA. So, for all our sakes, the book, apart of very well written and pleasurably educating, is critical in the positions it defends and the thorough way it does it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good defence of evolution, 12 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book and did find it very insightful but as with S.Lloyds 3* review, I also grew tired of the constant references to creationism.

I realise it was a polemic against them but I am not interested in anything they have to say and prefer to devote my time to understanding evolution, not their nonsensical ramblings.

Loved the joke about inteligent design and the flu vaccination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and easy to read guide to the evidence for evolution, 2 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters (Hardcover)
When I first bought this book I thought that it would only cover the fossil evidence. How wrong I was, it covers everything!

I've read quite a few books on evolution and in many ways this is the best yet. Coming from a non-scientific background I found it easy to read and understand. The good, clear writing is ably assisted by the many diagrams and pictures used to illustrate the evidence, and Prothero definitely succeeds in his aim of showing that the evidence for evolution is overwhelming.

In the course of the text Prothero takes us through all of the arguments used by those who oppose evolution, and he very clearly shows why they are wrong.

I cannot recommend this book enough, it has been both a pleasure to read and a great educational tool too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An evolutionist's counter-blast, 25 Oct. 2008
By 
T. J. R. Weakley (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters (Hardcover)
I have read and re-read this book with great enjoyment. It is written by a master of the subject, and is both clear and authoritative. Paradoxically, it also saddened me - because it is such a very American book, from the fact that so much space has had to be devoted not to explaining evolution itself but to demolish the claims of the creationists and biblical literalists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters
Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters by Donald R Prothero (Hardcover - 13 Nov. 2007)
£20.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews