Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an interesting read, but not what it says on the tin
In How to Develop Emotional Health Oliver James explains how bad parenting in children leads to adults having poor emotional health. He differentiates emotional health from mere happiness, as a state in which we cope with the demands of other people in a way that is healthy, instead of a hell is other people scenario that Sartre identified. Inasmuch James doesn't really...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Robert Marsland

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
This book was okay but I think it puts too much emphasis on your childhood in determining how your emotional health is today. I much more preferred Phillipa Berry's 'How To Stay Sane' in the same series of books by The School of Life.
Published 6 months ago by Hannah K,


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an interesting read, but not what it says on the tin, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life) (Paperback)
In How to Develop Emotional Health Oliver James explains how bad parenting in children leads to adults having poor emotional health. He differentiates emotional health from mere happiness, as a state in which we cope with the demands of other people in a way that is healthy, instead of a hell is other people scenario that Sartre identified. Inasmuch James doesn't really put much forward as solutions to poor adult emotional health (apart from a few suggestions, but this only takes up a short amount of the total text) and instead concentrates on what parents can do for their children through how they approach the parenting process. He also talks about how being a success in life may not be everything and how emotional health and a loving upbringing can offer an alternative route. very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life) (Paperback)
This book was okay but I think it puts too much emphasis on your childhood in determining how your emotional health is today. I much more preferred Phillipa Berry's 'How To Stay Sane' in the same series of books by The School of Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life) (Paperback)
enjoyed every word, helped me understand myself a bit more. Had I developed emotional health as a child and teenager, my life would have ended up very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worthwhile book, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good easy read .easy to navigate no over complicated jargon and good practical examples and case studies .worth a read for anyone interested .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really, really good., 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great insights, plain, clear & concise. Not wrapped in riddles, great price. Could do with more female theorist contributions. Happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money., 7 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What the hell... This might be a good read for people that are generally well but definitely this book won't give you any guidance on how to actually change your thinking if you are having any mental health issues. And then again, if you are perfectly fine and just need a boost of positive thinking - this book is simply a compilation of shallow 'how I struggled but now I am invincible' and really gives you no food for thought...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 17 Dec 2014
This review is from: How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life) (Paperback)
Mr Oliver James is simply the best parenting author along with Penelope Leach, what they do for the humanity is just wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life) (Paperback)
Easy readable book on emotional health
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life) (Paperback)
Another good read by Oliver James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting insights, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent readable invitation to look at a whole gamut of ways to think about improving ones emotional health whether you consider yourself to be healthy I run healthy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life)
How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life) by The School of Life (Paperback - 2 Jan 2014)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews