Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Success
I have bought a copy of this each year for the past 4 years and I have to say I find it an indispensable companion to my amateur astronomy. This year's book follows the same winning formula as previous editions, with comprehensive charts, relevant guides for the year's events, and interesting articles from respected experts.

RIP Sir Patrick
Published 19 months ago by Dezmondo

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expected much but left disappointed
Having never purchased one of these yearbooks I finally gave in this year and paid 10 for it. I must say, waste of 10, in my opinion. Very little detail in the monthly guides, and lists of objects to see are available on the net if you search a bit.

Articles didn't really interest me all that much. If you're interested in that kind of thing, might make you...
Published 18 months ago by GooseHolla


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all amateur astronomers, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 (Hardcover)
Essential reading for all amateur astronomers - first half of the book documents what to see in the night sky month by month and with plenty of diagrams. Second half of the book has some very interesting articles covering different aspects of astronomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. C. A. Mead (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 (Hardcover)
I bought this for my son as he is a great fan of Patrick Moore. A brilliant informative book. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reference Book., 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 (Hardcover)
I am very interecsted in this subject so the purchase is right up my alley. Very happy to have purchased this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and useful, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 (Hardcover)
Good book, am yet to complete it but it is useful and inspiring when researching astronomy. A real shame there will not be another like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 (Hardcover)
This was a present for my brother. I saw it last week - great book, great man. A great choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PATRICK MOORE'S YEAR BOOK OF ASTRONOMY, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 (Hardcover)
I have been getting this book every year since the 1960's, a must have for any amateur astronomer. Patrick Moore will be sadly missed by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What up in the sky for 2013, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 (Hardcover)
This is an iconic book by the late Sir Patrick Moore, who will be sadly missed in the amateur astronomical circles, it covers the things to see and events that will happen in the nigth sky throughout the year and also has several articles of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reference for astronomers, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 (Hardcover)
The 2013 edition of the always excellent Yearbook of Astronomy contains the usual starcharts for the northern and southern hemispheres, monthly notes, phases of the moon as well as information on minor planets, comets, meteors and other astronomical events for the year ahead. There is also a fine eclectic selection of longer, previously unpublished articles which include, amongst others such topics as; "ALMA: The world's most complex telescope", "The Dawn asteroid mission", "Storms on Saturn" and "Touring the subatomic universe".

One notable omission - its discovery presumably coming too late for inclusion in this publication - is the comet Ison but other than that this seems pretty flawless as usual.

A fitting tribute to the great man, let's hope that all future editions maintain this highest of standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good companion for the year ahead, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 (Hardcover)
As always in Patrick's style a concise appraisal of the year ahead. I wonder what we will have next year?? now Patrick is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patrick Moore Book Review, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 (Hardcover)
Brilliant!

Got it for my dad for christmas! Arrived as shown in online picture, arrived fast.

I would definatly recommend this product to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013
Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2013 by John Mason (Hardcover - 22 Nov 2012)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews