Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker from Nesser...
Another one for you Scandinavian crime fiction fans from the consistently superb Hakan Nesser. The Weeping Girl sees ex-Chief Inspector Van Veeteren's protege DI Ewa Moreno take the reins in this intriguing investigation, following the time honoured tradition of crime fiction protagonists unable to take a holiday without being immersed in a murder mystery...
Published 16 months ago by Raven

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars translation issues
The story itself was good, although not top class. The translation left a lot to be desired and made for a stilted, awkward read. Phrases were mangled, emotions subdued and generally took the edge off the book. Would read this author again, but will check the translator first!
Published 15 months ago by Bobby Lall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker from Nesser..., 25 April 2013
By 
Raven (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Weeping Girl (The Van Veeteren Series) (Hardcover)
Another one for you Scandinavian crime fiction fans from the consistently superb Hakan Nesser. The Weeping Girl sees ex-Chief Inspector Van Veeteren's protege DI Ewa Moreno take the reins in this intriguing investigation, following the time honoured tradition of crime fiction protagonists unable to take a holiday without being immersed in a murder mystery...

It's always difficult I would think to introduce a convincing new character from the shadows of such a compelling figure as Van Veeteren who has been at the heart of Nesser's previous books, but he achieves this with aplomb. Using Van Veeteren as her point of reference in her machinations of this perplexing case, his voice can still be heard loud and clear, and Moreno soon proves herself to be an able protege of the now retired detective. Moreno is an assured combination of dedicated and compassionate police officer, cut through with the normal doubts of a woman in the throes of a new relationship with..well...in Moreno's words `bloke/lover/stallion'. This is indicative of the humour that cuts through the plot with Moreno as queen of the apt aside to relieve the tension of this disturbing case, and as in Nesser's previous books, these forays into the realm of humour are balanced perfectly. The characterisation is excellent throughout, with Moreno clashing horns with the utterly inept, and `stiff-collared pain in the neck' local police chief Vrommel, but finds an ally in the charming and intuitive detective Vegesack, who more than proves his worth in terms of his dogged determination to get to the bottom of this case taking some degree of delight in ticking off his boss.

The plot mores than support Nesser's assured characterisation, opening with a young girl's mission to talk to her father having discovered his true identity on her eighteenth birthday. The only kink in her plan is that he is a murderer, incarcerated in a psychiatric unit, having been accused of killing a teenage girl some years previously. However, after meeting her father she disappears and so the intrigue begins. Moving fluidly between the earlier events leading to her father's incarceration, and the real-time investigation of her disappearance with the unveiling of dark family secrets, Nesser effortlessly leads us through the case, with his trademark attention to procedural detail. Admittedly stalwart crime readers may cotton on to how the plot will play out but, bolstered by the fine characterisation and a cameo appearance by the great Van Veeteren himself, there is more than enough to satisfy the reader and I have no qualms in recommending this as a good read overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nesser is back!, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is what crime fiction should be - intriguing plot, well-drawn range of characters and unpredictable. One of the best crime books I've read recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars translation issues, 12 May 2013
By 
Bobby Lall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story itself was good, although not top class. The translation left a lot to be desired and made for a stilted, awkward read. Phrases were mangled, emotions subdued and generally took the edge off the book. Would read this author again, but will check the translator first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great debut for Moreno, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having really enjoyed the previous books, I was unsure how this story would proceed without the great VV in the driving seat. Moreno becomes involved in a case whilst on holiday and as such is not directly responsible for it. The plot is well crafted and the ending not as I hadexpected.VV makes a guest appearance which was a bonus. I found it interesting and enjoyable and finished the book fairly quickly. I preferred this book to the previous one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars loved every minute of this book!, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book! Really enjoy Haakan Nessar books. Kept me interested from page one. Have bought the next one in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great - but misdescribed as a Van Veetern Book, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read but rather misdescribed as a Van Veeteren Book. It should be described as a Moreno book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but a predictable ending, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my second Nesser book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. However I found the ending a little disappointing and predictable, as though he didn't know where to take the story and he rushed the finish. I preferred the Stranglers Honeymoon. However I would recommend it and am trying to decide which book in the series to read next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Van Veeteren Classic, 13 May 2014
By 
Mrs. J. Gietzen (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read from Hakana Nesser - wel recommended to lose yourself in the morning commute with.... Have bought Kindle and hardback editions now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great crime novel, 21 April 2014
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I've enjoyed several of Nesser's Van Veeteren series, and this was no exception. VV himself is no longer the central character, instead Ewa Moreno is the focus here. On holiday, she is drawn into a series of cases, following an encounter with a weeping girl on a train. It's a dark story of deceit, abuse, lies and intrigue and keeps the suspense until the very end. Moreno's encounters with the local police are a central theme, as is her own personal life, at something of a crossroads. This is really good crime fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ewa Moreno Rules!, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the focus on this unique character. Her thought processes are always worth reading. She has a funny and practical take on life, and in her way is as brilliant and obsessively professional as V.V.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Weeping Girl (The Van Veeteren Series)
The Weeping Girl (The Van Veeteren Series) by Hakan Nesser (Hardcover - 25 April 2013)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews