Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Halo novel ever. Of all time.
I've been a Halo fan for over 11 years now, I've seen the series expand from being an isolated tale about being stranded on a mysterious ringworld to something with a tremendous amount of depth. Greg Bear is a phenomenal writer and he delivers once again an absolute belter of a story in Halo: Silentium.

Prior to this, Cryptum was my favourite novel in the...
Published 20 months ago by Didact

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh.
Thankfully the last in the series! This brings the trilogy to an end quiet tidily, a lot more interesting than book 2 but does not excite. Fills in quite a few blanks in the storey and Halo series, but one of those books that despite feeling you have to read, you're glad its over. Not bad, but not good either.
Published 10 months ago by Matt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Halo novel ever. Of all time., 19 Mar 2013
I've been a Halo fan for over 11 years now, I've seen the series expand from being an isolated tale about being stranded on a mysterious ringworld to something with a tremendous amount of depth. Greg Bear is a phenomenal writer and he delivers once again an absolute belter of a story in Halo: Silentium.

Prior to this, Cryptum was my favourite novel in the series because of how well written and detailed the Halo universe was 100,000 years ago. Over the past 3 years, the Forerunner Saga has gradually introduced these characters I came to love and care about, and Silentium closes many of those arcs in a fashion which left me emotionally devastated (in a good way).

Let it be said that this novel is a mix of two things - a cosmic horror story interweaved with a mythical tragedy. Greg finally delves into the role and history of the Precursors, and I have to say that they are among the most utterly terrifying beings in my repertoire of fiction. This is full-on Lovecraftian-esque sci-fi horror, not something that has been watered down for the masses. My jaw was on the floor for a good portion of the book where certain revalations come to light which takes what you THOUGHT you knew and twists it in ways you'll never see coming.

It makes me very sad to see the end of Greg's involvement with the Halo series, I think he's the best thing to happen to it in many years. I'll close by saying that Silentium closes the doors on a number of questions we've had since the first game in emotionally satisfying ways, but sets the stage for double our previous questions and makes the future of humanity in the Reclaimer Trilogy look to be very bleak indeed.

If you're a Halo fan, you're interested in the story and want to see just how much depth Halo 4's story has - buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What science fiction should be, 13 April 2013
By 
Malcolm Roy Ash (Aston-by-Stone, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant example of something that's rare today. A contemporary but classical space opera that is beautifully crafted in its writing but also weaves in marvelous science. Believable characters, supper plot and a real feel for where science can go and its effects on people make this a great antidote to another witch, vampire, PC saga. Here the author shows science fiction at its best. Somehow apart from Asher and a few others so few seem able to master the genre today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable, 13 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ties up some of the loose ends and plot holes that were "created" as a result of the Halo 4 story without being too Deus Ex Machina. Also fully explains the Precursor/Flood connection.

Also does an excellent job of showing how desperate the Forerunners were, showing why the flood were their undoing and why they realised lighting the Array was their last option. During Primordium, I lost all sympathy for them, but by the end of this book, I was secretly hoping there would be another way (although that was obviously impossible).

Some stuff was expected, but there were still some shocking plot twists towards the end.

Worth hitting up youtube and looking for "Halo 4 Silentium Rebirth Narrative" for an additional 40 minutes worth of narrative by Greg Bear which goes in to a little detail about the Lifeworkers reseeding Erde Tyrene (and it ties up Risers story).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sincerely brilliant, 6 April 2013
This book is brilliant, to fully comprehend it I recommend reading the other books first.
My favourite book alongside the ghost of Oynx and the Fall of Reach in the halo series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silentium, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic books and links in to halo 4 very nicely, one of my favourite halo books. A must read for halo fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a huge lore nerd like myself you will love this book, it answered all the question I had left about the halo universe and more a must read for fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Silentium: Book Three of the Forerunner Trilogy (Forerunner Trilogy 3) (Paperback)
Thankfully the last in the series! This brings the trilogy to an end quiet tidily, a lot more interesting than book 2 but does not excite. Fills in quite a few blanks in the storey and Halo series, but one of those books that despite feeling you have to read, you're glad its over. Not bad, but not good either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carries the trilogy, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll keep this a short review.

The first book was decent. The second book was pretty dull for the most part. This book was awesome, almost all the way through, and genuinely made the series worth reading. Hooray. You basically finally get what you wanted from the beginning - perspectives from some of the most important Forerunners of the time, loads of info on the Forerunners, Flood, Precursors, ancient Humans and more which I can't really say without spoiling it. I just wish it had been this good from the start.

All in all, a great conclusion to a good series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Conclusion., 18 May 2013
This review is from: Halo: Silentium: Book Three of the Forerunner Trilogy (Forerunner Trilogy 3) (Paperback)
After following the Halo canon since it began, November 2001 - eleven and a half years ago, I know it particularly well. I've read every novel. Collected all the graphic novels. Drooled over all the Encyclopaedias and Art Books. Played every game - Campaign, Cooperative, Death Match and DLC. Watched every piece of animation ever released and have several wiki entries in both Halo Nation and Halopedia to my name. I'm proud to say I'm one of the original fans.

I have to admit, I'm baffled at the high praise the book is receiving from some on here. I can only imagine that many are not aware, the story Greg is telling, is predisposed to finish with the firing of the Halo Array. A finale that's already established, laid down at the very beginning of the Halo canon - awaiting it's finale. An event Halo fans have known for many years - incase it's new to you. As will be the Arks, Shield Worlds and Halo's themselves.

I'm a big fan of the first two novels within Greg's Forerunner trilogy, and not sure why Primordium (the second in the series) is seen as the weaker of the three. It, along with Cryptum (the first) build very compelling lead characters, that we soon become attached to. Something Silentium fails to achieve. Although it has to be noted, the lead characters in Silentium are no longer the same that took the lead in the previous novels, and this I feel is one half of the problem. I don't believe Greg has achieved the same level of reader attachment to Bornsteller, Ur-Didact and the Librarian, than he did with Chakas, Riser and even Vinnevra. But there's a glimmer hope, and its called Silentium Rebirth Narrative. More on that later.

Throughout the first two books we're given the time and events to spend some engaging time with our lead characters, imo, that's Chakas and Riser. Closely followed by Bornsteller, with the Librarian and Ur-Didact playing supporting roles. Which is something I loved about these books. Because while the start and end of the Forerunner saga is already set, from the Halo canon that precedes it, Greg fills the middle with whatever he likes, and there's a lot to like. So lets be clear here, if you're already well versed in the Halo canon, the Halo Array, Shield Worlds and Arks in Silentium are no big deal. Greg's imagination is expected to deliver elsewhere. Just like he does within Cryptum and Primordium.

Whereas the first two novels take the time to build real attachments, empathy and bonds with our lead characters - you positively care for them, with them every step of the way. Silentium leaves you with none of that, simply failing to deliver it. Like a film director that won't let the camera settle on an actor for any length of time, allowing the viewer time with them, time to bond. Because he's always cutting away, in the pursuit of some perceived high energy impact gained from it. But in reality he leaves you unattached, distant and eventually feeling disaffection towards the whole affair.

A typical example being when the Ur-Didact is captured by a Gravemind, something you would expect to be a significant event, consider it's a meeting of the trilogies two arch-enemies. Capture, interaction between the two, and release/escape, is covered in just 10 pages. Throughout the three books that make up this particular trilogy, just 10 pages are dedicated to what should be a significant event within the trilogy. No wonder Silentium leaves you with no attachment to the lead characters. We simply don't spend enough time living character building events with them.

It also feels like the book isn't actually finished, reading like a plot that's still in the process of being blocked out, as disparate plot lines wait to be knitted together. While there's nothing wrong with chapters telling different parts of the plot, as we move from character to character. The 'strings', as they're called here, feel particularly stringy. Repeatedly being little pieces of plot thrown in, waiting to be stitched together, but it never arrives. Or worst still, nothing more than filler that knowingly adds nothing to the story.

Silentium really doesn't feel like it's finished, it feels disparate and scattered. Actually, it feels like there's another 200 pages waiting to come, but time ran out before it could be fleshed out and completed. And there's just too many loose ends left untied to bring a satisfactory conclusion to the reader, for what is supposedly the end of the trilogy. I can only guess this may have been at the instruction of 343, allowing them plot lines they can pursue in Halo 5 and 6 (the games). But I find this hard to believe, as there's 100,000 years before the Halo timeline takes up the story, from where the Forerunner saga concludes. And even Forerunners don't live that long. Not unless there are several more Cryptum's floating around in the universe, for the Master Builder, Iso-Didact, Librarian and new Lifeshaper - are they alive or dead? We really don't know. And does the Halo Array firing reach Erde-Tyrene? It should do, as it's in the same universe. But again we don't know, as we aren't told. See what I mean about unfinished business for the conclusion of the Forerunner saga. I can only presume it isn't the end and there's another book to come, tying off the loose ends. Either that, or it's a poor end to an important saga, within a much cherished Halo canon - spanning eleven and a half years and counting.

Imo, don't expect great things from Silentium. Read Cryptum and Primordium, they're both good books, and enjoy the uplift you're left with at the end of second of the two - Primordium. It's a great place to finish the Forerunner trilogy, and if you haven't already read the Halo canon preceding it, I STRONGLY urge you to do so. If you don't play video games then watch the Halo Legends DVD. You'll then know how and why the Forerunners reach their demise, and I'm afraid Silentium adds very little to the telling of it.

Now, on to Silentium Rebirth Narrative. A video from Waypoint on YouTube, released in March of this year (2013), tying up a few loose ends left by Silentium. It's revealed that the Iso-Didact and new Lifeshaper are alive, along with Riser on the lesser Ark, and hints that either the Master Builder or Mendicant Bias might have also survived. We can only presume the new Lifeshaper reached the lesser Ark before the Halo Array were fired. Also, we're reintroduced to Riser, and as usual, whenever Greg pens his narrative around Chakas and Riser, those familiar affections and heartfelt bonds quickly reappear. Why wasn't Greg able to produce these same emotive connections for the Ur-Didact and Librarian?

As a Halo fan there's no question I don't welcome Silentium Rebirth Narrative, but why was the tying of these loose ends not in Silentium? If the intention was to leave, what is without doubt a more final and satisfying conclusion to the Forerunner trilogy, to a video, then it has been at great expense to the final book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love halo, you will love this., 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Silentium: Book Three of the Forerunner Trilogy (Forerunner Trilogy 3) (Paperback)
For those who have completed all the games and are in love with the rich lore of the Halo games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo: Silentium: Book Three of the Forerunner Trilogy (Forerunner Trilogy 3)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews