Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will be a great hit
Reviewed by my wife, an early years teacher:
Rod Campbell's lift-the-flap Dear Zoo has become a classic book for young children. You will find it in every nursery and early years classroom, and in countless homes. It leads to all sorts of discussion about what is in each container, sizes, what makes a good pet to have in your home, and has inspired many children...
Published on 25 Oct. 2011 by Eric Baker

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars There are better ones available
I liked the book but hated the thin pages inside which were very easily torn by our 18-month old son. There are better ones out there with heavier gram pages
Published on 21 April 2013 by ELENA FALCONAKI


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will be a great hit, 25 Oct. 2011
By 
Eric Baker (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dear Zoo Noisy Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Reviewed by my wife, an early years teacher:
Rod Campbell's lift-the-flap Dear Zoo has become a classic book for young children. You will find it in every nursery and early years classroom, and in countless homes. It leads to all sorts of discussion about what is in each container, sizes, what makes a good pet to have in your home, and has inspired many children to write their own letters. Now, recognising and matching sounds can be added to the fun with the publication of the Noisy Book version. The sounds made by some of the animals will be easily recognised: the lion, the puppy, chattering monkey etc. Others pose more of a challenge: what noise does a giraffe make (leaf munching here) or a grumpy camel? I like the fact that the animal pictures to press for each sound are arranged down the side of the book in a random order, so there is an additional challenge in matching the sound to each animal revealed behind the flaps. My favourite is the frog - and I cannot wait to find out which one my 2 year old granddaughter likes best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Dear Zoo Noisy Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great addition to the Dear Zoo base story, encouraging my son to interact with the book rather than eat it. I'm hoping that the older he gets the less he'll need the audio aids and may just enjoy the story. If not at least it will have taught him some animal sounds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baby loves it, 2 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Zoo Noisy Book (Hardcover)
Our 14 month old loves it so much we bought one as a gift for someone else's kid for christmas. I paid over £8 on Amazon when I bought the first time but the second purchase was just £5.

Flaps have already been ripped and sellotaped! They are just paper, like the normal Dear Zoo book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book for young readers, 31 Oct. 2011
By 
C. Verspeak "f*" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dear Zoo Noisy Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What can I say except my three-year old loves this book. Its a fairly simple story with lots of repetition so she had it memorised on the third or fourth read. Hopefully this will make learning to read the words easy later on too. The illustrations are quite simple too but really this book is about the sound effects. There's a nice selection of animals, some domestic, some more exotic and the effects are all fairly authentic sounding. Its not too loud either, always a plus for the hard-working parent :)

A nice little book for learner readers and animal fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stood the test of time, 15 Dec. 2011
By 
PJ (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dear Zoo Noisy Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My daughter is 18 months old and she keeps coming back to this book. It's not about the story - it's just an excuse to reveal a different animal from behind the flap on each page and then press the corresponding button for the noise, but the flaps are all still intact (not the case with all her books..) and she really enjoys finding the right animal noise to press. So for me it's a winner, it's quick to read, and my daughter enjoys it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than original, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
GadgetDad "kcampbel" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dear Zoo Noisy Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I gave this book to my one year old nephew and it was a total success. He already had this book in its original format...ie. without the sounds but this is a total winner......his 3 year old friend was fascinated by it too.
Books with sound in are fabulous and there is only one thing better from a young baby reader's perspective and that it is a book with pull flaps AND sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dear Zoo Noisy Book, 6 Aug. 2012
By 
chris aylett (leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Zoo Noisy Book (Hardcover)
Great book, but possibly not ideal for very young toddlers. I brought it for my 18mth daughter, who loves it, but really the flaps are too fragile for tough treatment, so I've put it away until she's a bit older. But I really love the book, and would recomend it for 2yrs onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Zoo Noisy Book (Hardcover)
This is the second noisy book we have bought our granddaughter who is almost two.

We are taking her to Twycross Zoo and wanted to give her a keepsake and so bought this along with a soft monkey. The book has lovely big easy to read text and then a picture of the animal behind a folding card, so you can play hide and seek. There is an indication of what picture of animal to press to get the sound.

The sounds are quite realistic and great fun for us all to make!

At the back are some easy and fun things to do:

It reads 'Press the animal who is: Too naughty! what's he called?' hopefully the user will press the monkey sound.

We also have the farm book and will be looking to get more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lift the flap, see and hear the animals!, 22 Oct. 2011
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dear Zoo Noisy Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The zoo is sending the author pets it thinks he might like. They arrive in boxes and you can lift the flaps to reveal their identities and press the buttons down the side of the book to hear their noises.

So far so good, Dear Zoo is something of a baby classic. The noises of the animals are pretty realistic although it may have been nice to see the monkey actually being naughty rather than just being told so and the snake looks far too nice to be scary!

Also on the downside, some of the buttons had to be pressed quite hard to be activated, which may be frustrating for small hands wanting to do things for themselves but overall this is a very good first book for the very young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good and educative book/toy, 24 Oct. 2011
By 
@iGlinavos (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dear Zoo Noisy Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This will be a good addition to a range of books and education toys for the 12months-2years category. It has nice designed pages (not too much to confuse the eye) with little flaps behind which the animals hide. The child will seek to reveal the animals and then try to match the picture with the 'mugshot' of the animal and hear the matching sound. This is contributing to recognition and coordination. There is a durability issue, as there is with all products with paper flaps, but even if your kid tears them, they can be easily restored (with a bit of tape) and the sounds and pictures will be there still. Good buy, but not at the advertised price. My ceiling for this would be £7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dear Zoo Noisy Book
Dear Zoo Noisy Book by Rod Campbell (Hardcover - 7 Oct. 2011)
£8.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews