Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent story for 2-3 year olds.
I work with 2-3 year olds, and this is a firm favourite, requested often by the children. The children love to lift the flaps and to make the noises of the animals. They all love to say 'Oh dear'. I would recommend this for children from 1.A pleasure to read
Published on 24 Feb. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok
Not as good as Dear Zoo. It's all about looking for some eggs and perhaps I'm being pedantic but the point at which 'Buster' asks the duck I think there should be some nod to the fact that ducks DO lay eggs, but in this case they have obviously hatched into ducklings, rather than just another 'Oh dear!'. On a plus note, at least the duck is not yellow, as precisely NO...
Published 16 months ago by A. Mansell


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent story for 2-3 year olds., 24 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
I work with 2-3 year olds, and this is a firm favourite, requested often by the children. The children love to lift the flaps and to make the noises of the animals. They all love to say 'Oh dear'. I would recommend this for children from 1.A pleasure to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Farmyard Fun Toddlers Book, 28 Nov. 2005
By 
As with many children’s books simple concepts normally produce the best books. In this book Buster is staying on Granny's farm and one morning she asks Buster to get some eggs - but where will Buster and Teddy find them? The book then goes to all the different animals on the farm, which are hidden on each page behind card doors. Toddlers love lifting these card doors to reveal the animals behind. You will find all the farm favourites in this book including a sheep, a pig, a cow, a horse, ducks, a dog, a cat and even a little tiny mouse. Eventually you will find that elusive chicken and the eggs. Along the way there is lots of scope for enhancing the book by doing the animal sounds. At first you may find that your toddler listens carefully as you make the animal sounds, but then you will have the joy of hearing your toddler copying the sounds themselves. This is a robust board book which can withstand lots of wear and tear, though the flaps are a little more fragile. It is a very colourful book and the pictures are very well presented. Lots of five star fun down on the farm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear!, 4 Sept. 2003
This is the first book my one-year old has asked me to read over-and-over-and-over again. She has lots of books, so this one really must have something special, but I don't know what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book with flaps to discover, 8 Sept. 2010
By 
Aesop "bookbabe" (Hatfield, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oh Dear! (Board book)
this is a good book, but not as good as dear zoo. its basically the same thing but on a farm looking for eggs for tea, each time the little boy doesnt find any, he says 'oh dear' and carries on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended reading for adults... oh, and toddlers, 18 Dec. 2009
By 
subject2status (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter had this book many years ago along with other Rod Campbell books such as 'Dear Zoo' and it ended up being a family favourite for all of my children. It's interactive away ahead of it's time with flaps for kids to open and reveal parts of the story.

Now, 27 years later I find myself buying it all over again for HER daughter, how cool is that? A great book with an engaging story that kids love and as appropriate to 2010 as it was back in the 1980s. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasic book, 29 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: Oh Dear! (BB) (Hardcover)
My husband chose this book for our daughter as we are chicken farmers and the book is all about Buster looking for eggs on his Granny's farm. My daughter loves opening the flaps (which are fairly strong) and seeing which animals are behind them. A great way to learn farm animals (we also make their sounds too). A fantasic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "No eggs here! Oh dear!", 15 Nov. 2011
By 
Nicola Hardy (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oh Dear! (Board book)
Buster the toddler, accompanied by his teddy bear is sent out to fetch eggs on his Grandma's farm. Starting with the barn, Buster goes looking in various places, asking different animals along the way. Finally, he remembers who lays the eggs, and finds the place where they live!

The structure and rhythm of the tale will be familiar to readers of 'Dear Zoo', but there's a lot more going on in this book. Buster and his teddy are pictured on each double page, along with a place on the farm and an animal. There are plenty of words for a toddler to learn or repeat - the names of the animals, the places that they live, the noises that they make, and the repeated refrain: "No eggs here! Oh dear!"

The pages in the board book edition are nice and robust; the flaps a little less so, especially when they are larger ones (like the dog's kennel).

My twenty-month-old daughter loves looking through lift-the-flap books, so this has been a nice story to share with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book bursting with lift the flap and farm noises. wow, 19 May 2001
By A Customer
A wonderful book that my daughter almost tears from my hands to read. A brilliant read together book that learns young children about farm animals, the noises they make and the excitement of lifting the flap to see if their guess was right, each time we read it gets more exciting and is the climax to a good story time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite, 2 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Oh Dear! (Board book)
I originally bought this book for my first daughter who loved it. My second daughter (1yr) has now claimed it as her favourite. The flaps are easy to open. They seem to love the repetetiveness of it and both know the words off by heart by just looking at the pictures. A fabulous book< every child should have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book bursting with lift the flap and farm noises. wow, 19 May 2001
By A Customer
A wonderful book that my daughter almost tears from my hands to read. A brilliant read together book that learns young children about farm animals, the noises they make and the excitement of lifting the flap to see if their guess was right, each time we read it gets more exciting and is the climax to a good story time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oh Dear!
Oh Dear! by Rod Campbell (Hardcover - 5 Jan. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews