Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat speeds off to say Goodnight to her sleepy friends
in another super book from Ian Whybrow, with endearing full colour illustrations throughout, from Ed Eaves.

In large paperback format (c 24.75 cm square) this book opens to 18 high quality pages, in the popular 2-page spread format, offering super value for money.

From the back cover:-

'The moon is up, the stars shine bright
Off goes...
Published on 3 Sept. 2009 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappoiting
Just boring. A chance for a lovely idea but each page being furry is not enough interest. Virtually NO story as such.
Published 12 days ago by black cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat speeds off to say Goodnight to her sleepy friends, 3 Sept. 2009
in another super book from Ian Whybrow, with endearing full colour illustrations throughout, from Ed Eaves.

In large paperback format (c 24.75 cm square) this book opens to 18 high quality pages, in the popular 2-page spread format, offering super value for money.

From the back cover:-

'The moon is up, the stars shine bright
Off goes Cat to say goodnight.

Stroke the soft, furry animals on every page and join in saying goodnight.

Woof! Yip! Tweet!'

The easy-to-follow text is laid out in rhyming couplet style, enhanced by a repeat element on the word 'Goodnight' along with a relevant animal noise.

Example of text:-

'The moon is up, the stars shine bright,
Off goes Cat to say goodnight.

Out in the garden, all alone
Who's that guarding a juicy bone?

Goodnight, Dog.
Woof, woof, woof!

Look! By the trees, it's the clever fox,
With his bushy red tail and his neat little socks.

Goodnight Fox.
Yip, yip, yip!............'

The stunning pictures offer lots of scope for further discussion, and of course the soft-velvety texturing effect (even on the front cover page) makes this book hard to beat!
The various 'NOISE' words are printed bolder than the rest of the text and offer that `all-join-in' opportunity, although 'Goodnight' is the word we adults like to repeat most!

One of my long-term favourites, this delightful book ends with a double-page spread of all the animals featured saying 'Goodnight' for the final time.....as our youngest climb into their buggies to go home!
Awww!

The back inside cover shows the other titles available in this educational series:-

Say Hello to the Animals
Say Hello to the Baby Animals
Say Hello to the Snowy Animals

And, hot off the press (at the time of writing):-

Say Hello to the Dinosaurs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say Goodnight to the Sleepy Animals, 4 Feb. 2010
A great bedtime story for any baby or toddler (although my older children like it too). Cat guides you around and about as she says goodnight to other animals before returning home to her kittens. My little one loves the cute and fuzzy animals and the little rhymes are easy for her to copy so she can 'read' along. I would recommend this and all the other books in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grand daughter's favourite, 13 Oct. 2009
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This charming book has become a favourite and is read aloud by a three year old to her dolls and teddies after I have 'said goodnight'. It is calming, reassuring and pleasant with delightful illustrations. We really like it and enjoy stroking the furry parts of the pages. An inexpensive treasure of a book for children old enough not to tear the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cute furry friends, 31 July 2009
By 
An ideal bedtime book for my grandson (2) who is being brought up bi-lingually and the touch-and-feel aspect definitely adds to the attraction of having the story read to him in his second language! The animals are beautifully drawn, in the bright colours children love. These sleepy animals very quickly became the must-read every evening!!
touchwood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant night-time story, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say Goodnight to the Sleepy Animals! (Board book)
We first got this book through the library, and it was really helpful to my daughter at bedtime to settle her. Occasionally, she would wake in the night, and I would read this book to her to calm her down and get her ready to go back to bed. We've since purchased the book and read it most nights. The amount of text on each page is just right (and rhymes), and my daughter likes seeing the cat on each page.

I would highly recommend this book (the board book, which has soft-to-touch animals)!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for young children, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say Goodnight to the Sleepy Animals! (Board book)
My now 15 month old has been obsessed with "Say Hello to the Snowy animals" by the same author, for months.
For a change (read as: my sanity) I thought I'd try another of the books in the series.
It doesn't disapoint. It's got lovely pictures, textures for little ones to feel and is great for teaching animals and noises.
It's not quite as good as the Snowy animals but still a fun book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of our Favourites, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say Goodnight to the Sleepy Animals! (Board book)
A really lovely bedtime story but you may want to buy a couple of them. Being hardback and having a young child bending the pages the first book we had fell into two pieces and sellotape didn't work very well to hold it together! We had bought a back up though and that one is still going strong! Lovely story to read just before bedtime, my son loves to point to and stroke the animals. Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb books, 20 May 2010
By 
G. Russell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought these for my 17 month old daughter who loved one she got from her Aunt. They are fab, great pictures, fantastic furry or scratchy feelings to the characters. She loves them and it keeps her amused when we are reading them, and if she likes them, I like them!! Brilliant for the price - seriously get some!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great bedtime read, 5 July 2010
This book is brilliant for bedtime. My 8 month old daughter giggles when I read each of the animal noises and likes to touch the furry animals on each page. The rhymes flow beautifully and the book is just the right length to settle my daughter down before she goes to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Bye bye, bye bye, bye bye", 23 July 2012
This review is from: Say Goodnight to the Sleepy Animals! (Board book)
My little one got this book for his birthday and we've read it every night since, he hasn't got tired of it. After one read, you could hear 'bye bye, bye bye, bye bye..." coming from his room when reading it. Now he's copying more and more and loves to do the animal noises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Say Goodnight to the Sleepy Animals!
Say Goodnight to the Sleepy Animals! by Ian Whybrow (Board book - 2 Sept. 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews