Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any royal enthusiast
I am only half way through this book, and am truly amazed by the editing and presentation. William Shawcross has done an amazing job of selecting and annotating and commenting on the vast correspondence the Queen Mum wrote during her long and colourful life. The letters she wrote to her parents-in-law - George V and Queen Mary - are themselves a testament to who she...
Published on 11 Nov 2012 by Ilana

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No real sense of person...
I was looking forward to this book as I didn't know a huge amount of the Queen Mother's life. Unfortunately this book does not really reveal much of the person behind the title - the letters included, while they reflect the wide range of her friends and acquaintances, and do demonstrate the close bonds within her family, don't provide a particularly deep insight - and so...
Published 10 months ago by traveller


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 30 Dec 2012
By 
Charles MacPherson (New York & Globe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counting One's Blessings: Selected Letters of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
In a time when the penned written word is a lost art form, I must say this book and her letters inspire me. Thank you Your Royal Highness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
happy with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counting One's Blessings: Selected Letters of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
I bought this Book ages ago and I have to confess that I have not as yet read it but know that I shall enjoy it once I get round to it. It had very good reviews. It is now out in Paperback I believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mum loves it, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counting One's Blessings: Selected Letters of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
My Mum loves everything to do with Royal history and she was quite pleased to find this in her Christmas stocking. Full of history and nostalgia.

For any fan of The Royal Family, it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counting One's Blessings: Selected Letters of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
This book is great, good for anyone interested in the Queen Mother, but not necessary really. Letter writing is out of fashion, this books this fashion at its best. Super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting look at royal life., 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counting One's Blessings: Selected Letters of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
This book was bought as a Christmas present for someone. It is really interesting and the private letters of the Queen Mother give a real look at what life is like as a royal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas present for my wife, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counting One's Blessings: Selected Letters of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
Loves royalty and has many books about them and the past royalty but this lady was special and my wife loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counting One's Blessings: Selected Letters of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
I thought this would be a marvellous read, and some people might think it is, but for me it was disappointing, rather repetitive, and I couldn't get into it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was very disappointed that it arrived without any dustcover so I just ..., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counting One's Blessings: Selected Letters of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
I was very disappointed that it arrived without any dustcover so I just have a boring old looking book to add to my bookcase once read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, let down by author., 27 Dec 2012
By 
Peter F. Brunnen (London - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counting One's Blessings: Selected Letters of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
This is a great book badly let down by the author in all likelyhood using microsoft word and the 'american english' spell checker. There are too many sloppily american spelt words that the Late Queen Mother simply would not have used or spelt the way they are in the book. American English is NOT English and never will be. I do wish authors would either read what they write and get an English dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Counting One's Blessings: Selected Letters of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews