Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem for all ages
This book is an absolute gem. It is witty and sharp, and it is fabulously illustrated. Some of the other reviewers did not know who this book was aimed at. Well you could say the same for every movie by Pixar or Disney, they are all loaded with innuendo and adult content, far worse than the word Jackass. The message in this book is fantastic. And it alludes to the fact...
Published on 20 May 2011 by borgsblueyes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a book, and that's all
The title is quite eye-catchy, but the content somehow does not live up to the title's big gag. It's a book, better than some other commonly designed and written picturebooks,such as gift books, yet it's just a book as it states. Humourous, yet not stunningly good. Not complicated. Sadly, there are few interactions between words and pictures, no counterpoints, no...
Published on 17 Nov. 2012 by Smellyfly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem for all ages, 20 May 2011
This review is from: It's A Book! (Hardcover)
This book is an absolute gem. It is witty and sharp, and it is fabulously illustrated. Some of the other reviewers did not know who this book was aimed at. Well you could say the same for every movie by Pixar or Disney, they are all loaded with innuendo and adult content, far worse than the word Jackass. The message in this book is fantastic. And it alludes to the fact there are lots of children today who haven't ever read a book and never will. And these children will loose out on one of the greatest experiences in life.

As for the computer speak in the book well kids today are very computer aware and probably know more about computers than a lot of adults. Kids from the age of four (and probably younger) are using computers, especially with crazes such as Moshi Monsters and Club Penguin, where they have to go online to play.

Finally why get caught up in 'who is this for'. Why does a child that is a little older have to have books with a specific amount of text? Can they not read something with little text such as this book and just enjoy it. After all that is the aim, for children to read and love books. I hope that children and adults from 0 to 100 read and get to share in this joyous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but telling, 3 Jun. 2012
By 
Bob Sherunkle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Book! (Hardcover)
I heard about this book thanks to Alan Yentob's excellent BBC documentary "Books - The Last Chapter?" My nine-year-old grand-daughter, despite being as technically ept as you would expect, is an avid reader of books, and amazingly is dubious whether she would really want a Kindle. I bought this book for her. Like me, she read it in a few minutes, but she definitely got the point. Her verdict: "Hilarious!" When I asked for a one-liner, she gave me the following cryptic statement: "It's a book, so don't expect more than a book."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 Dec. 2012
By 
Miss Barnard "book addict" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's A Book! (Paperback)
I work in a school and in one of our inset days, we had someone come in to teach reading and comprehension. The trainer happened to have this book on show and I just fell in love with it. I've loved books all my life and have never understood those who don't; it's more apparent these days with people more concerned with apps, programs and the specs of various gadgets than reading an actual book and enjoying it for what it is. Just a plain old book that fire up your imagination like nothing else. This book is for anybody who loves a good book (which seems to have taken second place to the all pervading technological gadgets of our time). Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help a new reader to be proud of the achievement, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Book! (Paperback)
An excellent book, which helps youngsters learning to read to be proud of what they are doing and to strive to be better at it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can you Tweet with it?, 29 April 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Home Counties, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Book! (Paperback)
I have two girls,aged 8 and (not quite) 4. While the younger loved the illustrations and rhythm and pace of the story,and laughed at the Mouse under Monkeys hat, the elder very much understood the books clever message and found it all the more amusing because of it.

Proof books are still very much relevant to children. And adults, for that matter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitely a book worth having, 9 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: It's A Book! (Hardcover)
I have to agree with borgsblueyes that the message within this short book of brilliant visual impact is one which applies to all age groups. I am hoping that it will appeal to older children whose reading ability is lower than their actual age. Gems like this with few words, yet in no sense babyish, are hard to come by. Any book which flags up going to the library as a fun activity has to be welcomed too. I would slso recommend "Sweets" by Sylvia von Ommen if you and the children in life have enjoyed Lane Smith's short and to the point approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a book, and that's all, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Book! (Paperback)
The title is quite eye-catchy, but the content somehow does not live up to the title's big gag. It's a book, better than some other commonly designed and written picturebooks,such as gift books, yet it's just a book as it states. Humourous, yet not stunningly good. Not complicated. Sadly, there are few interactions between words and pictures, no counterpoints, no surprise. I cannot believe it is an award winning picturebook. But don't get me wrong. It is definitely not a bad book, but it is just not that good to win a prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Book, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Book! (Paperback)
This is a superb little book - full of fun - it will really get you thinking about the differences between reading a book and reading digitally - very much recommended for adults and also for children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Book! And a great one at that!, 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Book! (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book for both children and adults that proves in a fun and beautifully illustrated way why printed material will never be obsolete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Electronic Vs Paper fight, 26 Feb. 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: It's A Book! (Hardcover)
I love titles that are something a little different to the many out there. What this title by Lane Smith brings to the fore is the debate about traditional publishing vs. electronic. It's definitely creative, it has some great characters and the overall story is one to enthuse and amuse both adults and children. My only real gripe with this title is the name of one of the characters. Whilst I know that the term Jackass is technically correct, with the insult connotations I feel that they should have perhaps changed it to Donkey. That said though it is a fun title and one that really gave me a laugh and will also hopefully do the same for my nephews which are the main thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's A Book!
It's A Book! by Lane Smith (Hardcover - 4 Mar. 2011)
Used & New from: £2.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews