Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plausible Spy Fiction
Ian Fleming created an exotic and seductive world for his hero to move in. One which, I suspect, most readers would like to inhabit themselves, despite its dangers. Chris Morgan Jones has created the opposite. The world of The Jackal's Share - and its predecessor, An Agent of Deceit - is existential and repulsive. No one would want to live in this world. Except, we all...
Published 24 months ago by lucyb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars more formulaic than first novel in series
I was greatly looking forward to this book, but was let down, I don’t think it was anywhere near as good as its predecessor. If I had read this one first, then I doubt I would have read another from this author. The main storyline was really quite boring, with no excitement at any point. I had enjoyed the earlier novel so much, but this was much more formulaic...
Published 3 months ago by ESES


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plausible Spy Fiction, 30 April 2013
This review is from: The Jackal's Share (The Ben Webster Spy Series) (Hardcover)
Ian Fleming created an exotic and seductive world for his hero to move in. One which, I suspect, most readers would like to inhabit themselves, despite its dangers. Chris Morgan Jones has created the opposite. The world of The Jackal's Share - and its predecessor, An Agent of Deceit - is existential and repulsive. No one would want to live in this world. Except, we all do. It's a world of money, power, and corruption and Jones takes us through the Accounts Departments' of the Underworld.

Some have compared Morgan Jones to Le Carré. The only similarity I can see is his subtlety and quiet ratcheting of tension. Their playgrounds are very different. Morgan Jones is a pioneer for a new direction in spy fiction, one in which personal interests - rather than national - govern events, and where a few, phoney offshore addresses can be as deadly as a nuclear bomb. It is not the world of Fleming, or Le Carré. It's the world of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent second book from this writer., 15 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Jackal's Share (The Ben Webster Spy Series) (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed Morgan Jones' first book, An Agent of Deceit and so looked forward to seeing what his second book had to offer.
Quite simply, it's an excellent thriller and whilst his first was good, this is better. His characters are more rounded and the pace of the book is better. He clearly knows his stuff and has an excelent way of showing the reader his murky world of the modern super rich whose fortunes and lives are built on sand. There are some nice links to the first book wit hjust enough background to make this a stand alone novel but you will want to read his first after this I'm sure.
This is an intelligent thriller, well written and free of the many cliches which seem to clog up this genre. A fine writer and one to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A briliant read, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jackal's Share (The Ben Webster Spy Series) (Hardcover)
Having enjoyed an Agent of Deceit, I was looking forward to the second Ben Webster thriller. Happily, this surpassed my expectations: Chris took us to a different part of the world - with some really insightful social comment on top of the fast-moving and, for me at least, totally unpredictable plot line. The prose - always good - seemed sharper, the descriptions more focussed. Where next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It got me, 19 Nov. 2013
The opening chapter of Chris Morgan Jone's The Jackal's is a clear pointer of what the rest of the story would be. He gave us not only a gripping story, but one that is equally fascinating and intriguing. Starting with a funeral on the first page, it triggered so many questions. I saw it before in Triple Agent Double Cross by Janvier Chando. Chris made my time worthwhile with the gripping plot, colorful characters and the smooth flow of the story. I enjoyed every chapter and wished the story would continue after I came to the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nuanced portrayal of a twilight world, 15 Nov. 2013
Just finished reading 'The Jackal's Share' and really enjoyed it - superlatives are too frequently used these days, but it is the best thriller I've read in the last couple of years. The world of the contemporary private investigator is well drawn and his adversary is not a caricatured villain, but a believable character of hubris and tragedy.

Picked this one up at the airport in a rush and I've now ordered the predecessor in the series for more leisurely consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars more formulaic than first novel in series, 10 Jan. 2015
I was greatly looking forward to this book, but was let down, I don’t think it was anywhere near as good as its predecessor. If I had read this one first, then I doubt I would have read another from this author. The main storyline was really quite boring, with no excitement at any point. I had enjoyed the earlier novel so much, but this was much more formulaic. I will be more cautious about reading any more sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real achievement., 29 Jun. 2014
This book represents a very satisfying thriller and a truly impressive extension beyond genre, as well indicating a significant step forward for it's author. And by 'extension beyond genre', I do not imply the sort of disquisition into 'grand themes' that is often a weakness with some of the luminaries of spy and crime fiction, but rather the elegant and sometimes rather striking way in which the inner lives of his main characters, Ben Webster most of all, are animated and written out.

The development of the character of Ben Webster becomes a real achievement. His idiosyncrasies, like those of most of us, are a constantly shifting scale of talents and failings, and the weight of these imbalances is a constant source of debate in the mind. Rid yourself of the failings, and you might throw away the talents too. Webster's wife's analysis that his resentment of the very people he investigates is a strange form of self-loathing may be true, but this very resentment is also the foundation for his motivation to investigate in the first place, not to mention the defining point of his personality and profession as an investigator and not a diplomat or indeed financier. Whether his investigations are worthwhile or not is always going to be an open question at the source of another constant internal debate. As an investigator he has access to a world beyond his imaginings in terms of 'wealth' and 'influence', on the other hand his interest as a character and as a human, and by extension the appeal of the narrator to the reader, is precisely his role as ironic guide to a world he knows is full of demented horrors.

The deft handling of moral complexity, the sorts of dilemmas, paradoxes and confusions that beset everyone in the most important aspects of their lives is often truly moving.

The writing is more than up to the delicate task of balancing these internal debates with the forward motion necessary for an exciting thriller. I found the transition in the first three chapters, from exposition and information to Webster's wife's analysis on waking in the morning (after Webster has returned from a stress dispelling morning outdoor swim) truly breathtaking, and beautifully and efficiently rounded off in the final sentence of chapter three: 'Five minutes into a new day, without the benefit of cold and exercise, and she was effortlessly right.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, enjoy it. Great read!, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jackal's Share (The Ben Webster Spy Series) (Hardcover)
The Jackal's Share, first of all, is a great read. Flawless, no, but a great read nonetheless. Ben Webster is shaping up to be a good serial protagonist although I suspect that to go the distance a prologue or two will be needed and very likely be beneficial. It feels a very personal book and this plays out in the acutely observant nature displayed by Ben. I like dirty, sinister, malevolence and there are plenty of those sorts to enjoy in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars action -packed, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jackal's Share (The Ben Webster Spy Series) (Hardcover)
fast paced thriller, with good prose, characters not entirely believable but unfolding plot moves narrative on in global conspiracy that seems plausible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 28 April 2013
By 
Kyle Armstrong (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book hit the ground running and got my full attention from the start. However, it seemed to run out of steam a bit during the Marrakesh segment. Without giving the too much away I got confused about Ben's escape from the car. Tiny flaws followed but overall an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jackal's Share (The Ben Webster Spy Series)
The Jackal's Share (The Ben Webster Spy Series) by Chris Morgan Jones (Hardcover - 14 Feb. 2013)
£16.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews