Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A star buy!!
As a complete newcomer to the field of astronomy I was baffled as to where to actually begin. So I bought a telescope .... a good start, but what to do next? I happened upon this book and it has opened up a whole new world or worlds for me!!

The first part of this book deals with monthly charts and astronomical phenomena. We get detailed star charts for both...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by Foxylock

versus
0 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish seller
still waiting for this order. Ordered on 12th December 2010. Will not be ordering from Amazon again. Very poor service
Published on 23 Dec 2010 by angela


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A star buy!!, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011 (Paperback)
As a complete newcomer to the field of astronomy I was baffled as to where to actually begin. So I bought a telescope .... a good start, but what to do next? I happened upon this book and it has opened up a whole new world or worlds for me!!

The first part of this book deals with monthly charts and astronomical phenomena. We get detailed star charts for both hemispheres, a chapter on the planets and the ecliptic, the phases of the moon are detailed and the longitudes of the sun, moon and planets are given. The most notable events are listed and followed by a month by month planner of more events. Also covered in fine detail are: Eclipses, occultations, comets, minor planets, meteors and some events for 2012. An interesting year ahead by all accounts.

Part two is the article section and it certainly doesn't disappoint with eight fine articles specially commissioned by some of the worlds leading astronomers. It will hold the attention of even the most fidgety readers!! My personal favourite was: "Water ice on the moon" by David M. Harland.

The final section contains a collection of miscellaneous articles on subjects such as: Interesting variable stars, Mira star: Maxima 2011, interesting double stars, interesting Nebulae, Clusters and Galaxies and the usual roundup of societies and contributors.

I found this book extremely helpful, informative yet concise and a great aid in helping me sound like I know what I'm talking about!! A must have for the serious astronomer and invaluable for the bluffer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars!, 20 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011 (Paperback)
Indispensible guide to night sky divided into 3 sections.

Part I contains, amongst other things, the star charts, monthly notes, phases of the moon and guide to various astronomical phenomena.

Part II is a selection of eight articles on matters astronomical, which it's almost worth buying the book for in their own right. An eclectic mix of such topics as "Water Ice on the Moon", "Meteors from the Dragon's Head" & "Astronomy and the Early Royal Society".

Part III is a section on miscellaneous objects such as variable stars and nebulae.

Can't speak for more serious stargazers but as an (extreme) amateur I can't recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read., 22 Sep 2011
By 
M. Lambe (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011 (Paperback)
This is a great book which I hope to buy again next year. I keep returning to it again and again. It's split up into several sections all of which are of interest to the amateur astronomer. The articles at the back are fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very comprehensive year book, 12 Jun 2011
By 
R. Cook "techno-bat" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011 (Paperback)
This astronomy book details all the forthcoming celestial events for each month of the year and much much more.

In Part I, monthly astronomy notes, star charts, moon phases, planet positions, eclipses, occultations, comets and meteors are all featured for 2011.
Part II of the book (about 45% of the contents) consists of feature articles covering a wide range of different topics eg Meteors from the Dragons Head, The Japanese Patrollers: From Honda to Itagaki, to name but two.
Part III, Miscellaneous, covers some extra detailed lists, eg Double Stars, Nebula and Galaxies, etc.

Altogether a surprisingly thick little book and a comprehensive read for the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Issue, 9 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011 (Paperback)
These books are always superb and this one is no exception. For newcomers to astronomy or experienced astronomers, these books are extremely valuable. Lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astronomy Yearbook 2011, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011 (Paperback)
Delivered promptly and in good condition. As always, an excellent read, that has become a part of Christmas. The combination of sky charts, month by month event listings and background articles makes it useful both for specific events and for fascinating reading at other times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good as Always, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011 (Paperback)
A month by month guide of what to look up at - really useful whether you are new at astronomy or more seasoned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent summary of the year ahead, 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011 (Paperback)
This book covers all you need to know about the sky at night for 2011 with additional pieces about various aspects of space - would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish seller, 23 Dec 2010
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011 (Paperback)
still waiting for this order. Ordered on 12th December 2010. Will not be ordering from Amazon again. Very poor service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011
Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2011 by Patrick Moore (Paperback - 5 Nov 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews