Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evidence of a Wonderful Poet
I've been reading and loving Pie Corbett's poems in anthologies and books for teachers for many years - and now I'm so pleased that he finally has his own collection. Firstly - his love of words, of playing with words (We lioned down the corridor elephanting and parroting out into the sound of the jungle playground), of seeing how words behave (or misbehave), how they can...
Published on 27 Aug. 2011 by Fly Leaf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Doubtful at first.
Published 5 months ago by Grandma Kathleen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evidence of a Wonderful Poet, 27 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Evidence of Dragons (Paperback)
I've been reading and loving Pie Corbett's poems in anthologies and books for teachers for many years - and now I'm so pleased that he finally has his own collection. Firstly - his love of words, of playing with words (We lioned down the corridor elephanting and parroting out into the sound of the jungle playground), of seeing how words behave (or misbehave), how they can tell surprising stories or evoke moods or memories and how they can confound expectations. Secondly - I love the rhythm and rhyme of his verses. (A brick is not a beautiful thing. It's not like a kingfisher cutting a dash in its flashy coat of blues and scarlet.) Thirdly, what his poems tell us about life and about childhood - walking backwards into the wind, making shadow puppets - and lastly, and most importantly, some useful hints for tracking dragons. Children (and grown-ups too) will love these poems. They are thoughtful, sometimes serious, but always great fun. Buy this book for your class (buy them one each) or for your children (or grandchildren) today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long overdue publication, 15 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Evidence of Dragons (Paperback)
Pie Corbett's poems have been widely anthologised for many years but this is the first collection that brings together the best of his writing. There are poems like 'City Jungle' and 'Wings' that will be recognised by teachers as being wonderful models for children's own writing and a number of excellent performance poems just waiting to be tried out in school assemblies. Pie looks beyond the ordinary to create such characters as 'The Redundant Halloween cat' and 'The Shy Dragon'. He writes revealingly of his childhood and in 'The Cloud Appreciation Society' catalogues clouds - what they do, what they are, how they travel- in a really inventive way. This is a book that should quickly find a place in every primary classroom.The Works 2: Poems on Every Subject and for Every Occasion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful medium to communicate, 1 Aug. 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Evidence of Dragons (Paperback)
I do enjoy a bit of poetry every so often and whilst I'm usually found reading War Poetry, for a child this title from Pie Corbett is ideal. It explores so many different ideas and allows them to have something not only unique but meaningful to dip into whenever they get the urge. It's witty, it's clever and perhaps best of all it's a title that explores so many different subjects that it's one that will strike their own imagination. All in this is a wonderful experience for all who pick it up and the adult will get just as much from it as the child concerned especially when you consider how emotive and emotional this art form can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great food for thought, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of Dragons (Paperback)
Children loved the ideas in the book, It gave them a lot of food for thought to great their own writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely poems, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of Dragons (Paperback)
Wonderful poems for children, and adults, on a range of subjects, not just dragons. Good for reading aloud at end of the school day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My nephew really liked it. Would definitely recommend, 24 Jan. 2015
By 
M. O. Toole "Oirish Mike" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of Dragons (Paperback)
Bought as a gift. My nephew really liked it. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... for age of children i teach but would be good for, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of Dragons (Paperback)
not suitable for age of children i teach but would be good for KS2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of Dragons (Paperback)
Doubtful at first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evidence of Dragons
Evidence of Dragons by Pie Corbett (Paperback - 1 July 2011)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews