Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent finale to the series
Jupiter War, Neal Asher, Tor, 2013, 471pp.

This is an excellent finale to the `Owner' series by this author, and continues directly on from the end of the previous novel, Zero Point (Owner Trilogy 2). It is an excellently constructed novel, as Argus Station moves from Mars, to the far side of the Sun (from Earth), to the Asteroid Belt, and to the moons of...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. Mice Guy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not his greatest
I loved the first book but i find i'm reading this just to get to the end not so thrilling.
However neal asher does inject many points to ponder on the state of the human race politic and other thought provoking ideas.
Published 8 months ago by A. Peach


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alan Saul, Demigod, Complete Idiot, 5 Jun 2014
By 
C. Jack "colinjack" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of Neal Asher and liked the series but this book had two problems that I consider pretty inexcusable, especially considering they existed in the previous book.

The first is a lot of it is quite boring, there's only going to be one or at most a couple of encounters between Earth and Saul's station/ship. Asher thus spends large sections padding things out with stuff about about changes to the ship and technologies. That stuff is dull, it'd be one thing if the technology was something tangible like the Proctors but when its just a new weapon or changes to support the new engine it quickly gets tiresome.

The second issue is Saul is supposed to be a demigod but given that how is he put in a situation where he isn't just wiping his enemies away. The answer is we get yet more mutinies and more annoyingly he proves himself to be a complete idiot. I mean he's a demigod but he doesn't work out they could turn the new engine into a weapon and furthermore a delivery mechanism for a weapon. That wouldn't even require a mental leap, people try to weaponise every new technology.

Even more annoying not only can Saul not work it out but neither can his weapon experts, his proctors, his other technology experts. There is literally no-one on board who has thought "hrm, wonder if this warp technology could be used as a weapon".

Its ridiculous, among the most annoying and ludicrous plot devices I've ever read and means the book should be reclassified as fantasy.

Anyway its been a good trilogy but this book, when judged on its own, is not that great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars opinion of the Jupiter War book, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jupiter War: An Owner Novel (Owner Trilogy 3) (Hardcover)
For a demigod, Alan Saul made some foolish decisions at the end and his dispatch of both the "Fist" and the "Command" appeared (to me anyway) to be a bit contrived
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat for an Asher fan, 25 May 2014
By 
K. Newell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read most of Neal Asher's books but somehow missed this one. Excellent author and his usual high quality storytelling. Delivered direct to my Kindle via Amazon wispernet so ready for reading immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!!, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Intelligent, inventive and simply did not want the book to finish!! Modern day space opera at its best, giving us a glimpse of what may be possible, if we so choose. Gripping storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loose ends, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is engaging enough to make it to the end, but sadly weaker than the first two books in the trilogy. Feels like there were only two books worth here, but publisher took last 50 pages of second book and stretched it into a third novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This series is a fantastic trilogy, edge of seat until the last., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Each book in this series is brilliant . The plots, people and sci fi make them a classic. This last one kept me engaged, unable to put the book down to get back to real life. Can we have more please. Can you extend a trilogy when the books are this good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dull, 26 April 2014
By 
Julia (Guildford, Surrey England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The general idea behind this series is good. However, I found that the execution got bogged down in technical detail.
Yes - we need to know generally how things are working, but we don't need pages and pages of descriptions about the spacecraft, the robots, and then more about the spacecraft. I probably only read 1 page in 3 scanning through until I got back to the story. A bit like Hardy and all his (endless) descriptions of trees and scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ending, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot of space operas suffer with a damp squib of an endgame. This book nicely tied it all up with promise for the future.
The series got better book by book. The technical narrative of shipbuilding was tedious at times. But everything else enthralled me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jupiter War, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Neal Asher is one of the greatest science fiction writers of the early C21th. I can't wait for his next series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality sci-fi yarn, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cracking good read. Humanity at its best and worst. Non stop fun that makes you think about life and death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jupiter War: An Owner Novel (Owner Trilogy 3)
Jupiter War: An Owner Novel (Owner Trilogy 3) by Neal Asher (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews