Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent finale to the series
Jupiter War, Neal Asher, Tor, 2013, 471pp.

This is an excellent finale to the `Owner' series by this author, and continues directly on from the end of the previous novel, Zero Point (Owner Trilogy 2). It is an excellently constructed novel, as Argus Station moves from Mars, to the far side of the Sun (from Earth), to the Asteroid Belt, and to the moons of...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Mice Guy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not his greatest
I loved the first book but i find i'm reading this just to get to the end not so thrilling.
However neal asher does inject many points to ponder on the state of the human race politic and other thought provoking ideas.
Published 8 months ago by A. Peach


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars good? nay bad but find myself still missing the Polity, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So, 3rd book of the Owner series finished - like many I struggled a bit with the first one, found myself getting into the second one much more and have slightly fizzled out with the third - like many trilogies it ended the 'series, but didn't quite satisfy so as to leave room open for future stories - loads of options left open for more sequels and spin-offs - what would I like (if you're reading Neal) perhaps 50 years on for Saul (and his backed up and enhanced 'crew') when he hits the first alien populated star etc; 50 years also the rough period he guessed for 'Earth' to gain an 'interstellar' drive capability again so maybe room for conflicting 'human species' spreading out amongst the stars.
There would also be the scope for the Protectors and himself to develop into AI's etc; There were obviously future scenarios explored briefly in the Engineer Reconditioned etc (though I haven't yet gone back and re-read them - the book is buried somewhere - I'll find it or buy the Kindle version - why can't you buy a 'hard copy and get the digital version included? Most annoying!). So a whole new 'Universe' to explore? why not; though like every Asher fan I'm sure we'd love a bit more BrassMan/Cormac; again, perhaps a couple of hundred years in the future; and Prador and Jain - still plenty of room for spin-offs I think, though I can easily forgive Neal for wanting to do something different for a while.
So, verdict? if you're a Asher fan, read and stick with them - not as easily & enjoyably digestible as the Polity books - not really any pleasant characters for a start; but no doubt the 'start' of the next universe so get stuck in and wait for the next, with Banks gone, (Richard) Morgan seemingly moving into fantasy stuff, and Hamilton doing, annoying near future stuff - who else are we going to read ;-)

righy ho, have now re-read the 3 Owner stories in the Engineer, a few links but not many, them being set 10,000 years in the future from this series, but enough to show links betwen the Polity are there; so Neal, I gave you a couple ideas, get writing! (oh, and can I have free copies for the dieas et when you write them up - ta)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, kept me gripped, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. P. Barclay (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't really say what I want here without spoiling the book for others, so I will compromise by saying it was a great book that kept me up very late at times but then ended before I thought it should... I hope there is more to come, but not from within the Sol system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still a must read for Asher fans, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Accepting that it's a two dimensional universe and story, much less fleshed out than the Cormack universe, it's still a great action read for Asher fans and if you're a sci fan addict who's not tried Asher yet, it's still a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Final Chapter of the trilogy: Had to be read really, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There were enough hooks in the first book to encourage me to get Zero Point and then Jupiter War, but after the initial set up of a Committee owned distopian earth, and a man becoming something far more as ComLife, I found JW a little dry. There were some excellent ideas, but the whole thing was really a good description of building a new spaceship and robots, and so overall the series dried out. Hamilton does better, more engaging SF trilogies

(I will still probably read about Saul and his further adventures, if there are any)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plot and counterplot as the trilogy changes gears slightly (plus the expected big bangs!), 28 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Roy Ellor "Roy Ellor" (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off, I loved this book and had to devour it at one sitting. The previously hyperviolent story of Alan Saul, The Committee and Serene Galahad gets into the endgame for one side or the other, and Saul opens the story on Mars where he is effecting the rescue of his sister Var.

From there we launch into an intelligent, deftly plotted chase round the solar system as both sides prepare for what is obviously going to be a final confrontation. Saul with his growing spaceship and Galahad with the resources of a cowed Earth to bring to bear on him.

One aspect of Neal Asher's talent at hard sci-fi like this is that it is believable, paced beautifully and has all the requisite gory battle sequences that one would expect. Jupiter War doesn't disappoint; in fact it introduces some deft tricks towards the end that are obviously the product of informed imagination. I won't say what as that would be a huge spoiler!

There is also a supporting cast who occasionally plot against their relative superiors, as well as one or two people who may not be quite all they seem. The side story of Messina clone Alex is one such example as that young man finds himself in the situation where his life needs totally re-purposing and the blocks installed in his mind are slowly removed so his past can break through.

Great Science Fiction as I have come to expect from Mr Asher, this time with plenty of intrigue and the odd red herring. The ending leaves it open to continue the Owner story forwards, giving Neal two discrete universes in which to tell his stories. Excellent read but make sure you read the first two volumes to ensure maximum enjoyment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not as good as the first 2 books, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jupiter War: An Owner Novel (Owner Trilogy 3) (Hardcover)
Jupiter War is slower paced than both 'Departure' and 'Break Point' and the action is much less here than in the previous volumes. That said the build up is all right although it was almost boring in places, wheras the other 2 books are very fast paced with lots of action, blood and gore - both with very good plots. If you've read the other 2 installments, you'll be wanting to read this - it's good, but not as good as the others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit slow, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really struggling to get through this one although I feel I should having managed to work through the other two - but have to admit it's getting to be more work than pleasure. The Owner trilogy doesn't compare to Asher's other work, which certainly isn't literature but is (usually) fast-moving and holds one's attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jupiter War - a fitting and adrenalin filled end to the series...., 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a Neal Asher fan for a while - loved the Polity and Spatterjay stories, so was looking forward to the Owner series.

As usual, Neal's descriptions of the world he has created bring the story to life beautifully. The characters are well written and thought out. The sci-fi ideas in the book are firmly based in our current understanding of science.

Jupiter War is fast paced and keeps you turning pages right until the end - I definitely recommend you read it - but go back and read books 1 and 2 first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant finale to the trilogy, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jupiter War: An Owner Novel (Owner Trilogy 3) (Hardcover)
I am a big fan of Neal Asher's books, so inevitably any review by me could be rose tinted. I'll try and keep that in check...

However I can assure you that this is a cracking ending to the three books. I did wonder how Mr Asher was going to fill the pages of a third book, as everything seemed pretty near to some sort of resolution after the second book.

This book manages to bring together some intelligent plotlines on Earth, Mars and the station, and weave them into an exciting and satisfying ending.

The problem with a lot of trilogies or series of books is that the ending is somewhat disappointing and sometimes somewhat rushed or contrived. This is not the case with Jupiter War.

Well paced (I did find Zero Point dragged a little sometimes), intelligent plotlines, good hardish sci-fi, tense and exciting battles.

Let's face it, if you have read the first two you are going to buy this book, but if you have not read the first two please do so in the happy knowledge that the third book in the series is very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best tales I have read for a long time. I am a great fan of N.A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jupiter War: An Owner Novel (Owner Trilogy 3)
Jupiter War: An Owner Novel (Owner Trilogy 3) by Neal Asher (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews