Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good short story collection
I've been a Peter F Hamilton fan for a long time, in fact the reason I read sci-fi nowadays is because of Pandora's Star. The last collection of short stories by Peter F Hamilton was A Second Chance at Eden released way back in the late 90's, but it was a collection of Confederation exclusive stories based on his Night's Dawn universe. On hearing about this new collection...
Published on 25 Oct 2011 by Mark Chitty

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing.
Firstly, I should say that I am a fan, at least of Hamilton's space operas, less so the Mandel stories. I like the detail of the background descriptions, which admittedly make the novels long, but they are essential to understanding character motivations. I approached this book with some trepidation, which proved well-founded. The problem with those featuring Paula Myo is...
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by Robin Monks


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesnt just do epics, 18 Jun 2012
By 
D. J. Ketchin "living in books" (Edinburgh Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter Hamilton has written a good number of epic Sf stories recently.

This short story collection shows he has not lost the skill of the well written short story or novella.
The stories are 2 self contained shorts and 5 Commonwealth short stories.
Several feature Paula Myo and act as bridging stories between the Starflyer war period and the Void series.
The independent stories tend to deal with the issues around longevity - a subject Hamilton touches on in several of his books.

All in all a set of excellent thought provoking short stories which made me want to pick up and reread all his older books again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good and well written, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent selection of short stories set in a universe regular Hamilton readers will know, but which should be accessible and entertaining for new readers. Nothing really profound but entertaining nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection - although some will be familiar, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Peter F Hamilton is one of my favourite writers. These short stories (although some are novella length) demonstrate his ability to set a scene and build an environment. If you have not read any of his short stories, this is a great place to start. One caveat, check the list of contents before you buy, since some have appeared in SF mags or other collections such as Gardner Dozois Best of... series. I had read all but two before. However Hamilton is one of the worlds best SF writers and a single collection is worth it for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Sci-Fi Shorts, 6 Oct 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Manhattan in Reverse (Hardcover)
I love short stories as it's something that you can quite easily dip into on journeys or lunch breaks or a brief time of peace and quiet without worrying about forgetting what's gone before. When you add to this an author with a huge amount of talent to the mix such as Peter F Hamilton, you know that you're going to get value for money, especially when you know that it's going to have his trademark pace and prose that have made him a name to reckon with within the Science Fiction genre.

Each of the stories within are great fun and my personal favourite was The Forever Kitten as I loved the way that he developed the characters, the setting as well as the overall plot which kept me glued from start to finish as you question yourself about the real world applications of the research. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars full of great Hamilton ideas, 25 Dec 2012
By 
Rudolf Roemer (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This a great read for all Hamilton fans waiting to full the void until he publishes his next big space opera. Nice ideas well-presented. I enjoyed it, particularly the Paula Myo Wiedersehen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter F. Hamilton is one of my favourite Science Fiction authors and with this collection he doesn't disappoint, several stories are standalone but there are some that tie into his commonwealth universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first Hamilton book I've read, I enjoyed reading this and will try another one, possibly The Great North Road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 16 Dec 2012
By 
R. Hale "milkyeyes" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hamilton again shows his understanding not just of sci-fi but of being able to create fully realised world's that leave you wanting to find out more. The additions to his Commonwealth universe in particular really develop his story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Piece of work by Peter F hamilton, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter F Hamilton, yet again provides a convincing world in which his characters and story line exist. The sense of realism based on his descriptions of Newcastle and the marriage with the technology from the story time line, leaves me believing in this book. The only issue with the ebook is the errors that exist. This is a little frustrating as these errors are not in the printed material. I docked a star for these errors as it seems nonsensical.!! Surely the ebook and printed material come from the same source.!! However, that aside this is ONE BOOK I HAVE RECOMMENDED, An excellent intro to Peter F Hamilton for those that have never read him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Early efforts, 25 Aug 2012
By 
McHugh Bryan "Mackan" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manhattan in Reverse (Paperback)
The author hasn't found his style yet.
Long winded and very dated. Only of interest as a comparison to his later works - which really grip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manhattan in Reverse
Manhattan in Reverse by Peter F. Hamilton (Hardcover - 7 Oct 2011)
14.39
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews