Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American-centred writing decreases the book's credibility
"What is a tribble, and why is a tribble difficult to control?" is one possible question from readers of 'The Yahoo! style guide'. In a style guide from a global company, I expect internationalised content. Readers who do not know American culture will struggle to understand some of the content.

'The Yahoo! style guide' explains how to write for an...
Published on 21 July 2010 by MikeUnwalla

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Generic, self-contradicting churn that is available in abundance online
The advice in The Yahoo! Style Guide isn't bad, but it's totally generic, obvious material that the Web is already full of. You can get this information for free very easily, and even then it's not terribly good value. Most of it consists of "keep your writing clear and simple" being repeated in different ways for several hundred pages. There is also some generic...
Published 4 months ago by Xiu


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American-centred writing decreases the book's credibility, 21 July 2010
This review is from: The Yahoo! Style Guide: The Ultimate Sourcebook for Writing, Editing and Creating Content for the Web (Paperback)
"What is a tribble, and why is a tribble difficult to control?" is one possible question from readers of 'The Yahoo! style guide'. In a style guide from a global company, I expect internationalised content. Readers who do not know American culture will struggle to understand some of the content.

'The Yahoo! style guide' explains how to write for an international audience. Unfortunately, the text does not conform to the guidelines that are in the book. Possibly, many readers of the book do not read English as a first language.

Some irritating errors spoil the book. For example, the statement, "It's impossible to write without using some idioms" is not correct.

The chapters are organised in sequence from less technical to more technical. Ideas are introduced early in the book, and are discussed in detail later. For that structure to be effective, readers need to know where to find information. For the best user experience, a better index is necessary.

Despite my criticisms, the book is useful. Although I do not agree with some of the guidelines, I learnt new things.

'The Yahoo! style guide' is much more than only a style guide. The book has guidelines about words and grammar, but the book also deals with accessibility, audience analysis, text for headings, HTML, search engine optimisation, the design of user interfaces, US copyright law, and many other topics. Therefore, 'The ultimate sourcebook for writing, editing, and creating content for the digital world' is an accurate subtitle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful and great for SEO tips, 28 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Yahoo! Style Guide: The Ultimate Sourcebook for Writing, Editing and Creating Content for the Web (Paperback)
If you're writing for the web and want to engage your readers, improve consistency and style, as well as having a chance against all the content out there in relation to SEO this is well worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for anyone creating web content, 19 July 2010
By 
Paul Nattress - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Yahoo! Style Guide: The Ultimate Sourcebook for Writing, Editing and Creating Content for the Web (Paperback)
This should be the first book that anyone interested in website creation should read. The web writing guidelines are clear, supported by good examples and will open your eyes to how writing for the web should be done.

Whilst the advice in here can be found online there's great benefit in having it all in one place, well presented and in a solid real book format. Coming from Yahoo! and published by Macmillan, no writer, editor, content creator or anyone else involved in website creation can sensibly refute the guidelines this book gives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive and full of good ideas., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yahoo! Style Guide: The Ultimate Sourcebook for Writing, Editing and Creating Content for the Web (Paperback)
Well worth the cost. Gives good advice and is clear in its details. A good section for me was how to optimize your site for search engines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still the Daddy, 30 Dec 2012
By 
Nickel (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yahoo! Style Guide: The Ultimate Sourcebook for Writing, Editing and Creating Content for the Web (Paperback)
Apple, Amazon, Google and Facebook are making the running these days, but just remember it's Yahoo who was the innovator and is still there, still profitable, still innovating. I don't agree with everything in this book, but it's well written, well signposted and has plenty of excellent advice - and even some useful coding examples. Content marketing is 2013's buzz phrase - this book tells you how to do it and do it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A concise style guide for web content, 13 Jun 2011
By 
Cath MacAdam "Green Web Marketing" (Sunshine Coast, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Yahoo! Style Guide: The Ultimate Sourcebook for Writing, Editing and Creating Content for the Web (Paperback)
Excellent and concise guide full of detailed info for publishing digital media content for an international market. As well as guidelines for writing online content, it includes spelling, grammar, punctuation, consistent style etc. Also purchased Ginny Redish's 'Letting go of the words' & Krug's 'Don't make me think', no need for any other books as far as I'm concerned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, great overview, great tips - great book!, 26 May 2011
This review is from: The Yahoo! Style Guide: The Ultimate Sourcebook for Writing, Editing and Creating Content for the Web (Paperback)
As a writer of web content I was looking for a book that gives me an overview of different anspects of web writing, but also in-depth info. I can highly recommend this book, if you...
... know some basics, but want to learn more (like me)
... are a writer, but don't know anything about web writing
... aren't a writer and don't know anything about web writing

+ The book is easy-going - I could hardly put it down
+ All points are illustrated with examples
+ There are exercises (with answers etc) to put theory into practice
+ Lots of web addresses where you can get more info
+ From basic (but vital) writing tips to SEO and some HTML - everything is explained so you know why you should be doing things in a certain way

I'll certainly keep referring to the Yahoo! Style Guide - it'll be somewhat of a bible for my web writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Generic, self-contradicting churn that is available in abundance online, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The advice in The Yahoo! Style Guide isn't bad, but it's totally generic, obvious material that the Web is already full of. You can get this information for free very easily, and even then it's not terribly good value. Most of it consists of "keep your writing clear and simple" being repeated in different ways for several hundred pages. There is also some generic advice about basic HTML mark-up.

It also contradicts itself, regularly breaking its own advice. This crops up early on, when the Style Guide correctly suggests that culture or country-specific writing should be avoided. This is followed by a section of writing involving 'soccer moms', 9/11 and other such references.

I've never seen a style guide that was actually useful or insightful, and this just puts another nail in the style guide coffin for me (sorry for the unclear, culture-specific metaphor).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews