Customer Reviews


308 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what i expected
I have just finished this book and what a surprise! It is not what I expected I did not really like Alan Sugar before I read this book, but I found this book absolutely fascinating I could not put it down Its one of the best autobiographies that I have read it just shows you there are 2 sides to every story especially regarding Terry Venables what sly and corrupt person...
Published on 11 Nov. 2010 by holidaytommy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly needs an editor
Apparently, Alan Sugar hates wafflers. After slogging through over 600 pages of this, it seems it takes one to know one. Books often suffer because of a lack of detail but in this case there is just far too much of it. Some information, like accounts of Terry Venables financial skulduggery to raise funds for his takeover at Tottenham, is highly relevant. Much more -...
Published on 7 Feb. 2013 by Sue Denham


‹ Previous | 124 25 2631 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars ... as it's not my thing but he seemed very happy with it, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What You See Is What You Get: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for my Dad as it's not my thing but he seemed very happy with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy one, get one free, 3 Oct. 2010
By 
uspnet (chelmsford, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What You See Is What You Get: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
As the recent wave of AMSpublicity suggests, the secret that there are two Lord Sugars is now out there:- Lord Grumpy and Lord Softy; and we get to learn about both with this book. None of the other books written about his Lordship have come close to the level of insight that this "warts and all" stream of consciousness provides. It's a real page turner, and clearly expressed in his own words.

Will those who read this book learn anything about starting and running a business? As AMS observes, the world and UK business climate has changed hugely in the past 40 years (not least due to the imposition of miles of additional red tape and huge startup costs, paradoxically by the party that His Lordship represents in the House of Lords); however, the AMS basic philosophy of cost control, attention to detail and that you only get to eat if you can sell, are going to be more important than ever. Although the prospect of the nation's road network jammed with Lord Sugar-wannabes in their vans, is daunting.

Football nightmares aside, Sugar's main secret seems to be that he is one of those rare business time managers who has managed to ignore the 80/20 rule and replaced it with his personal 100/100 philosophy: the section on his aberrant football diversion could have been split out as a separate book, although it serves as a salutary reminder to all sane businessmen that those whom the Gods would destroy, are encouraged to buy football clubs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What You See Is What You Get: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Very good reading material and uploaded instantly to my Kindle Fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read nice to see someone work so hard to achieve goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct. 2014
By 
DJT "DJT" (Hertforshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, loved it. Sir Alan speaks a lot of common sense
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug. 2014
By 
Excellent. Great to see someone tell it like it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What You See Is What You Get: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Great present for my boss
Fantastic service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son very happy product arrived as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Dec. 2014
By 
B. Durojaiye (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A present which my husband thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read. Got hooked quite early on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 2631 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What You See Is What You Get: My Autobiography
What You See Is What You Get: My Autobiography by Alan Sugar (Hardcover - 30 Sept. 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews