Customer Reviews


426 Reviews
5 star:
 (235)
4 star:
 (130)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All is not what is seems in Paradise...
This is the second book in Baldacci's Reacher-like series featuring John Puller, a military cop. The Forgotten picks up from where Zero Day left off, but it's not necessary to have read that book previously. Whilst the events from that book are referred to occasionally, there are no spoilers given.

When the book opens, Puller is contemplating returning to work...
Published 20 months ago by Julia Flyte

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The passing of a good writer.
The most ludicrous plot ever. David Baldacci has let himself and his fans down badly with this drivel! Please give us back the old David.
Published 18 months ago by Louisa Christie


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All is not what is seems in Paradise..., 8 Nov 2012
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Forgotten (John Puller 2) (Hardcover)
This is the second book in Baldacci's Reacher-like series featuring John Puller, a military cop. The Forgotten picks up from where Zero Day left off, but it's not necessary to have read that book previously. Whilst the events from that book are referred to occasionally, there are no spoilers given.

When the book opens, Puller is contemplating returning to work after a brief vacation taken to recover from the events of Zero Day, when his father receives a worrying letter from Puller's Aunt Betsy, who lives in Paradise, Florida. She alludes to something dodgy going on and "mysterious happenings at night". Puller goes down to Florida to visit his aunt, but when he gets there he discovers that she has recently deceased, having drowned in her backyard in what the police have decided was an accident. Given the letter she just wrote, Puller is not convinced it was an accident and starts to investigate further. Almost immediately it becomes apparent that there is more than meets the eye to the entire affair.

At the same time, there is a mysterious man who has literally washed up in town. He has arrived on a mission, but we don't know what that mission is or whether he is going to turn out to be a villain or a hero. He is Puller's match in every way.

The first half of the book develops slowly but maintains the intrigue as Puller pursues his investigations. In the second half things start to come together and the action builds. There are several twists along the way.

It's impossible to avoid the comparison to Lee Child's books because the lead character and overall formula are so similar. If you enjoy Child's books, you're pretty sure to like this too. It's not as good as Child at his best - it doesn't hold your attention as well and Puller is not as charismatic as Reacher. But it's as good or better than several of the recent Reacher installments. I find Baldacci pretty hit and miss as a writer, but this one works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well developed plot, but work on characterisation is required, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
David Baldacci is one of the best thriller writers.The Forgotten is a mammoth novel. It is gripping and compelling. The plot is well developed. However, there is one area I feel the author needs to work on.

John Puller is involved in a new case. A letter has been received by John Puller Snr, the father and an ex-military. The contents of the letter becomes a concerning matter for John Puller Snr. Aunt Betsy (Puller's aunt) has reported of strange events occurring in Paradise, Florida, as stated in the letter. The letter prompts the special agent to make a visit to aunt's house. Upon arrival, the agent makes a shocking discovery. The aunt has been found dead. According to police investigations and medical examination, it has been concluded the aunt death is an accident caused by drowning. John questioned this and is not convinced. Could Aunt Betsy been murdered? What evidence suggests it is a murder? The agent looks vigorously into the case. There is another twist to the plot. A series of strange and terrifying events are affecting Paradise. Could these events be linked to the aunt's death? The plot is gripping, thrilling and compelling. I have to give credit to the author for devising a nail biting plot. He has grafted the skill to a high level.

My main criticism reserved about the novel is Puller's character. The dedication and commitment on a professional level is highly commendable. To me, the character lacks a personal touch. There is a lack of charisma and sparkle injected to the character. In subsequent novels, I hope the author can show the character in a different light and I can connect better to the character

The Forgotten shows the class of Baldaci as a world class thriller writer. I enjoyed the novel. On reflection, I would offer the novel four stars. I deducted one star as the central character lacks particular qualities. The author needs to work on John Puller's character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Baldacci back to near his best, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Years ago I thought David Baldacci was one of the finest thriller writers around but after he started churning books out at a rather suspicious rate the quality seemed to take a dip. Happily, "The Forgotten" is a real return to form. The first Puller book was so obviously a Jack Reacher rewrite that, while entertaining, it still didn't feel all that great; this one is far more satisfying. It tackles a serious subject, people trafficking and modern day slavery (in America), and does so with respect; but there's a lot of good old-fashioned gunfights and chases too, a great little twist, a couple of misdirections. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm very pleased that this second book in the series was written as the first book was brilliant! Love the main character, plot very well delivered - just the right amount of info at the right times in each chapter to keep you wondering although towards the end it gets full of action which would be good for a film. Good author, read a few of his and will read more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read for crime lovers, one of the best Baldacci novels I have had the priviledge to have read.
Colin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true thriller!, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book had me hooked from the first few pages & eagerly wanting more! Haven't come across this author before but I will be on the lookout for other titles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Forgotten, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book. Couldn't put it down. Looking forward to more of John Puller. I think I've read most of Baldacci's books and this one is up with the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reachers long lost brother, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Baldacci's books, Pullen is a likeable character, possibly without Reachers likeability and complete conviction in himself and his abilities, not a bad book though, 8 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not finished yet but enoying it greatly. I love a crime/mystery/thriller story and this does just the job. I would recommend this to anyone of like mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent book. could not put it down. bring on the next one. action packed from start to finish well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Forgotten (John Puller 2)
The Forgotten (John Puller 2) by David Baldacci (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2012)
15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews