Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
I am enjoying this book very much, great to get to read the thoughts of such an outstanding man. Great value for money. I would most certainly recommend this book to anyone.
Published on 23 Jan 2011 by Kitty

versus
61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hotch Potch of information
This book in some ways is not what its title suggests

Yes they are Mr Mandela's words, but he DID NOT have anything to do with the book. When asked to help put the book together, he declined.

What we get is a collection of diary extracts, letters, conversations that is apparently based around themes, but in the most part are disjointed and some...
Published on 20 Jan 2011 by Fred Duck


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hotch Potch of information, 20 Jan 2011
This review is from: Conversations With Myself (Hardcover)
This book in some ways is not what its title suggests

Yes they are Mr Mandela's words, but he DID NOT have anything to do with the book. When asked to help put the book together, he declined.

What we get is a collection of diary extracts, letters, conversations that is apparently based around themes, but in the most part are disjointed and some extracts used more than once. If the extracts were given in chronological order and proper footnotes given (not Nurse X was a nurse! - this is a footnote in the book)then it may help the reader follow it.

This is a useful resourse, where the index would be used to look at particular items, but as for reading it from front to back - it was hard work.

If you do not have a strong understanding about Mr Mandela's life, this is NOT the book to start with - read Long Walk to Freedom before attempting this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Conversations With Myself (Hardcover)
I am enjoying this book very much, great to get to read the thoughts of such an outstanding man. Great value for money. I would most certainly recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 26 Nov 2010
By 
C. Saunders (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conversations With Myself (Hardcover)
I think that Nelson Mandela is one of the greatest leaders and humanatarians of our time. This book is exceptionally excellent, because it was compiled when he was serving his time on Robben Island. It is also a very personal look at his thoughts. He talks about numerous issue's with regard to his family his Mother and his wife Winnie.
The Long Walk to Freedom in Mr Mandela's words was really a collective of the people he served time with all of their trials and tribulations. This book is more about him and his thoughts not as a collective.
Again an awesome read from a great person............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Through A Glass Darkly, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Eugene Onegin (Lincoln England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Conversations With Myself (Hardcover)
Nelson Mandela has always been one of my heroes and his autobiographical Long Walk to Freedom is one of the most compelling and inspiring books I have ever read, a volume I frequently return to. Therefore, it gives me little pleasure to report that this new book is a great disappointment. The prospect of reading the thoughts of the 'private' Mandela is indeed an exciting one, but these extracts from his conversations with friends, notebooks and random jottings have little new to say. A large part of the problem lies in the editing-although the book is organized thematically insufficient detail is offered on the historical context and despite the biographical chapter at the end many personalities are mentioned without explanation. Then again, many of the entries are undated and it is often not clear whether Mandela is referring to people before or after they died or looking back on contemporary or historical events. Most damningly of all, it has to be said that many of these entries would never have never come close to publication had they not been penned by Mandela-they are no more than lists or scribbles with little value outside of their context. Of course there are insights not least into the depth of Mandela's advocacy of armed struggle when no alternative exists or in his stubborn refusal to discuss details of his private life. That said the most powerful entries are those which show the depths of his loneliness on Robben Island where his desperation breaks through his words.
What is also clear from this volume is just how carefully controlled all of Mandela's public utterances are and I would suggest this book is no exception. Mandela place in history is secure, but reading this volume is not the place to discover why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Behind the scenes with Nelson Mandela, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Rev. M. R. Hodge (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting background information on one of the 20th Century's greatest people. However, drawing on a large number of sources, it is not always brought together in as helpful way as it could have been. "Background information": not a starting place for finding out about Nelson Mandela.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm!!, 20 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a big fan of Nelson Mandela (Who isn't?), and having thoroughly enjoyed Long Walk to Freedom, I though that I would devour this book with relish. However, the format is unusual, and it was not written by Mandela, rather it is a compilation of conversations/letters/writings put together by someone else. I did not find it as enthralling as I had hoped. It has some meirt, but ultimately I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nelson, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. P. Fry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conversations With Myself (Hardcover)
I would read this mans shopping list. Although it is not a novel and more like dipping in and out of a diary, it helps if you have read his previous works, but it is still immensely enjoyable. Will not be to everyones taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Conversations with Myself, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So glad I found this book. It gives an insight to Nelson Mandela's life: his thoughts, his concerns and his strength throughout. A true Gentleman - a Great Man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great insight into the mind of Nelson Mandela. Not a classic (hence not five stars), but for somebody interested in South African history in general and the struggle for democracy in particular, a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conversations with myself, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellant book by a very brave man.
Having just returned from South Africa where the man is almost a saint, one can understand why as he has had to endure so much hardship throughout his life to fight for the rights of the black community & the common man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conversations With Myself
Conversations With Myself by Nelson Mandela (Hardcover - 12 Oct 2010)
£20.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews