Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An illuminating and revealing biography
Philippe Auclair's book on Thierry Henry is far removed from the usual banal chronological flattery that is the usual footballer biography. Auclair's thorough and deep research into Henry's past explains, not always in complimentary or sycophantic terms, the behaviour of a rather unusual and prodigal footballer. His childhood, his over bearing father and successes and...
Published on 21 Nov 2012 by Rayne Rooney

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok
Really wanted to enjoy this but so much of the book is coloured by the writer's mistrust of Henry that I felt kinda robbed. That said it does cover important chapters of Henry's life and development as a footballer and is an easy read
Published 24 months ago by andrew monu


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An illuminating and revealing biography, 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: Thierry Henry: Lonely at the Top: A Biography (Hardcover)
Philippe Auclair's book on Thierry Henry is far removed from the usual banal chronological flattery that is the usual footballer biography. Auclair's thorough and deep research into Henry's past explains, not always in complimentary or sycophantic terms, the behaviour of a rather unusual and prodigal footballer. His childhood, his over bearing father and successes and mistakes in his career all compile into a brilliant and complex portrait of one of the world's leading sportsmen.

For those with an interest in football and Arsenal in particular, this book will be revealing and very interesting regardless of how much you think you know about Henry's career already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry: Lonely at the Top: A Biography (Hardcover)
It's surprising nobody has written a proper biography, as opposed to a cut and paste job, of Henry before and Auclair's effort is so comprehensive it's difficult to see how it can be bettered.
Henry is not a straightforward hero and Auclair examines his relationships with his father and the likes of Zidane and Raymond Dommenech to explain why.
Henry's lack of leadership during the South Africa World Cup campaign comes in for unsparing criticism, but the book ends on a high with his cameo for Arsenal in 2012. This book makes an excellent companion to Arsenal - The French Connection: How the Arsenal Became L'Arsenal which profiles Henry and the equally fascinating background stories of Arsenal's other French players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REVEALING BIOGRAPHY OF THIERY HENRY, 31 May 2014
I must declare first of all that I am not an Arsenal fan, but I have read a few books about some of their players-Tony Adams, Kenny Samson etc., and a biography of Arsene Wenger who I greatly admire as a person and a cerebral football manager. This biography was not 'a kiss and tell' book, it was written by an educated and thoughtful journalist-yes they do still exist!!!- The book covers Henry's life from the estates of Paris to the 24 hour world of New York. It was an enjoyable read, though at times I did become rather bogged down in certain details.
Henry certainly had great footballing skills which were seen at their pinnacle when he was a member of the Arsenal football club, somehow everything before and after seemed like an also ran.
This is a book Arsenal fans will greatly enjoy, and also the general football supporter who enjoys his football biography with detail, thought and comment rather than a blow-by- blow account of every game and breakdown of the opposition through someone's illustrious career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry (Kindle Edition)
Really wanted to enjoy this but so much of the book is coloured by the writer's mistrust of Henry that I felt kinda robbed. That said it does cover important chapters of Henry's life and development as a footballer and is an easy read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed. Struggling to get through this, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry (Kindle Edition)
Disappointed. Struggling to get through this. Overly wordy - could easily have been pruned. Feels as if the author has been spurned by TH and this colours his view. Am an Arsenal fan but don't blindly idolise Henry and would like to see more real evidence for Auclair's slant. Perhaps the evidence will turn up later in the book - if I get much further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful insight into a hero so many of us, especially gunners fans, adore. Learning a lot about Titi that was never uncovered before. Couldn't put it down. A must read for Arsenal fans, a must read for French football followers; in truth, a strong reccomendation to any football fan. Well done Phillip Auclair, who I also advise you follow on Twitter. #brilliantjob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thierry Henry, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Michael Burke "The Jazzman" (Brentwood England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry (Kindle Edition)
This gives a good insight into the footballing world of what has to be one of the greatest strikers we have seen.

Although written in an indirect way the writer gets to the core of what made TH14 who he was/is.

As an Arsenal fan it also strengthens our beliefs of the love he had for The Gunners in his time with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I have to say that I was disappointed with this book, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry (Kindle Edition)
I have to say that I was disappointed with this book. I expected to enjoy it more because I am a huge Thierry Henry fan and love Arsenal, but it was just a repetitious catalogue of his career and goals rather than giving anecdotes about Thierry as a person or stories from the Arsenal training ground. Robert Pires' book would absolutely knock it into fits, to be honest. The author gave the impression that he didn't even like Thierry at all. All in all, very disappointing, although I did read about three-quarters of it hoping it would improve, but it was too dull to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The title is misleading, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry (Kindle Edition)
The book is full of material, good work, about football from the time henry joined to 2010 world cup. Maybe the title would have been "the game and thierry henry".
why 3 stars? Too much of details, it is at time difficult to keep the reading.
The insight about the 2010 france world cup, the history, politics, racism... is not a bad thing. If for frenchis, Titi was forgotten with that world cup, in england Thierry henry is still a great deal and this book tells us nothing about the real man!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Something Missing, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry (Kindle Edition)
I found this a very strange book, which may be due to the fact that it is by a Frenchman about a Frenchman. It gives a reasonable account of Henry's career but, other than his relationships with his father & Zidane, tells us very little about the man. His ex-wife and current partner get barely a mention. I got the impression that the writer had little regard for, or little knowledge of, his subject at a personal level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thierry Henry: Lonely at the Top: A Biography
Thierry Henry: Lonely at the Top: A Biography by Philippe Auclair (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2012)
Used & New from: £17.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews