Customer Reviews


425 Reviews
5 star:
 (260)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


254 of 263 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DS Grace thrills again
I had pre-ordered this as I am always waiting for Peter James' books to be published. It was delivered to my kindle just after midnight on publication day so I couldn't wait for the opportunity to read it.

It's the seventh novel in the Detective Superintendent Roy Grace series and once again is set around Brighton, Hove and surrounding areas.

I hate...
Published on 27 May 2011 by Midnight

versus
55 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attractive and competent?
Like many reviewers, I've read all of the Roy Grace books. Some have been better than others, hence my not rushing to get hold of a copy of Dead Man's Grip as soon as it was published. I did enjoy this latest offering but some of the enduring themes in the series are starting to grate. The love-in between Grace and his protege Branson was less pronounced in Dead Man's...
Published on 11 Sep 2011 by pilatesforlife


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

254 of 263 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DS Grace thrills again, 27 May 2011
By 
Midnight - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had pre-ordered this as I am always waiting for Peter James' books to be published. It was delivered to my kindle just after midnight on publication day so I couldn't wait for the opportunity to read it.

It's the seventh novel in the Detective Superintendent Roy Grace series and once again is set around Brighton, Hove and surrounding areas.

I hate it when reviews give away the storyline so a very brief synopsis:
A teenage student has been killed in a fatal multiple car accident. Other drivers involved in the accident are later found tortured and murdered. DS Roy Grace and his team investigate and try to protect another driver involved in the crash.
Roy's problems in his personal life continue..........

Peter's books are always well researched and give readers a detailed and enthralling tale. I find his style of writing highly readable as he gently leads you through the story and transports you into a world of intrigue and drama.

This latest offering is well worth the read and I certainly recommend it.

If you haven't already discovered the thrill of reading the Roy Grace series, this is a list of the order:
Dead Simple (2005)
Looking Good Dead (2006)
Not Dead Enough (2007)
Dead Man's Footsteps (2008)
Dead Tomorrow (2009)
Dead Like You (2010).

Although it's not essential to read them in order, it does mean you can follow the progression of DS Grace's personal story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chris's review, 30 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. C. Symcox "Chrissy" (South Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Peter James has maintained his high standard. I have enjoyed all his previous Roy Grace books and was looking forward to this one. I found the book a little slow to start and wondered where we were going then - wham - it all fell into place and it became a real page-turner. Would recommend this book to anyone who is undecided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable read..., 19 Mar 2012
By 
A. Humphrey "Rainbowdrops" (Dorset,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was the second book by Peter James I have read and as with the first book this one got me gripped from the start and kept me turning the pages at pace throughout.
I like how the author gives us a chance to get to know the detective and learn about his private life inbetween the crime solving.
A very good read...would recommend and I look forward to reading more from Peter James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gruesome but with dark humour, 15 Sep 2012
By 
Mrs. Margaret A. Layton (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read " Perfect People " by the same author, I was keen to read another. This was rather better, well paced, draws you in from the start with a nasty road accident. The story develops into a series of gruesome murders, some cross Atlantic chases - and ends with a neat twist, will not spoil by revealing this ! well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attractive and competent?, 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: Dead Man's Grip (Ds Roy Grace 7) (Hardcover)
Like many reviewers, I've read all of the Roy Grace books. Some have been better than others, hence my not rushing to get hold of a copy of Dead Man's Grip as soon as it was published. I did enjoy this latest offering but some of the enduring themes in the series are starting to grate. The love-in between Grace and his protege Branson was less pronounced in Dead Man's Grip, which was a relief, but the constant and sometimes extensive descriptions of how attractive the female characters are is really starting to irritate this reader. Even the odd woman who isn't careful with her appearance could, according to a male character, "be one attractive lady" given a makeover. The author has a similar tendency to ascribe a high level of competency and commitment to anyone in the orbit of Sussex police. Is no-one associated with the police plain ugly, useless or just burnt out and disinterested? It would appear not. I also find the interaction between Grace and the absurdly named and impossibly perfect Cleo Morey mawkish. Some of the dialogue between these characters, for example, Grace telling Cleo he was going to arrest every piece of brie in Brighton after she told him she fancied brie more than she fancied him, is just risible.

This said, Peter James does tend to come up with a decent storyline and I was eager to see what happened. In virtually all crime fiction you have to suspend belief and take it as entertainment. In Peter James books, the real effort comes from having to plough past some of the characterisation and dialogue.

Despite the negatives, I would recommend Dead Man's Grip as a decent page turner for anyone who enjoys crime fiction.

I hope in the future some of the characters will become a bit less one dimensional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read in the series, 26 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Grip (Ds Roy Grace 7) (Hardcover)
Just finished the new book, great read and with so much going on. Without ruining the plot for others I will only say the saga of Sandy moves on with some shattering developments !!
The strong storyline and beautifully paced plot will have the reader spellbound. I really enjoyed the book and as with all the series of Grace story-lines the attention to detail and police procedure
is legendary. The locallity of much of the story set around Brighton remains a huge plus for the books and this one will not disappoint. I have no hesitation in recommending this book as a must read
and if you have not read any of the other books in the Roy Grace series this one will definately wet your appetite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Man's Grip, 24 Jun 2011
By 
B. Ford (Fort Worth TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Man's Grip (Ds Roy Grace 7) (Hardcover)
The Roy Grace series is an excellent police procedural set in Hove-Brighton, England. Recommend read the books in order because Grace's "back story" weaves through all the books and is part of the mystery of this series. This particular story begins with developing four characters that are the basis to the plot. There is no clue early on as to how these characters come together, but they do collide and this opens a can of worms for Grace. As he tries to deal with the very volitile situation involving the four characters, his love interest is about to give birth to their child. The suspense builds in both lines of intrigue to a cliff-hanger ending. That is the good news - obviously Peter James plans additional DS Grace books- can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging who done it, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book, due mainly to the main character being likeable and believable. I'm new to this writer and series but enjoyed the various strands of the story knitting together. For the price a real treat which I have followed up by buying three others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder Mystery Crime Writing Almost at Its Best, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An intricate plot with plenty of well drawn fascinating characters. Detective Superintendent Roy Grace is faced with a complex investigation following the death of an American student whilst cycling to Brighton University. The plot thickens as we follow the drivers of the three vehicles involved in the fatal accident. The victim was the grandson of a high profile American gangster. What comes next is a little predictable, but there are plenty of twists and turns and surprises to follow.

There is also the ensuring saga of Grace's personal life. His, thought to be dead wife, Sandy, is always in the background. And, Grace has to cope with his feelings and worries for his fiancée, Cleo, and the problems she is experiencing in pregnancy. However, James occasionally glosses over some things that you expect to be better explained as regards Grace's feelings and motivations. Detective Sergeant Glenn Branson is not as irritating as he has been in the past. However, the additional back story of his divorce problems are just as irritating and a distraction from the main story as they have always been.

In conclusion, it's a good page turner if you skip the irritating passages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dead Man's Grip, 15 Aug 2012
Time to go back to basics. I really like the Roy Grace series by Peter James but this one was too long and the plot erred towards the implausible. I think the next book needs to return to a more solid detective thriller with the usual Sandy embellishments, romantic interest plus the opportunities the new baby can provide. Roy Grace's heroics at the end stretched credulity,unnecessarily weakening the book and hopefully that won't be repeated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Man's Grip (Ds Roy Grace 7)
Dead Man's Grip (Ds Roy Grace 7) by Peter James (Hardcover - 3 Jun 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews