Customer Reviews


283 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIFTH AND FINAL BOOK IN A LANDMARK SERIES.
To gain full enjoyment out of this book you do need to have read the previous four
Cazalet Chronicles by Elizabeth Jane Howard.

This volume opens with the death of the Duchy. It is 1956 and with the passing of the
old lady the life of privelege found in the earlier chronicles comes to an end also.

The author does a brilliant job of...
Published 11 months ago by Mrs. C. Swarfield

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointments and regrets
I start to write this having just learned of the death of the author, Elizabeth Jane Howard. One of her last interviews, with the Daily Telegraph, includes the telling sentence about the hiatus between Casting Off, the fourth Cazalet novel, and All Change - "absolute hell from a continuity point of view. You keep on having to remember what you called someone's chauffeur...
Published 8 months ago by Blue Baby


‹ Previous | 15 6 729 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 'Times, they are a changing', 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Havent finished it yet, but so far it is reaching my expectations. Riveting stuff about relationships, unputdownable if you have read the whole series and want to know what happened.
The family are totally believable, especially Edward finding his second wife's faults more grating as they get older. Lust leads us into very different avenues. Did we want those avenues?
I remember the 50's and identify with some of the incidents and happenings, and realise how the 'times' affect one's actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Totally immersed in the saga of the Cazalet family and have read them all on my Kindle. Only sorry there won't be any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed the Cazalet Chronicles, finding them gripping and realistic. You may enjoy this series if you like family sagas, social commentary, 20th century history. The characters are extremely well developed and Elizabeth Jane Howard writes insightfully about people, showing a depth of understanding of individual characters of all ages. The children are interstingly observed and the author is able to "put herself in the shoes" of toddlers upt to very old people and those in between. There are no goodies and baddies, just flawed and endearing individuals who respond in their own personal ways to the vagaries of life. Like all good series I wanted it to go on and on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A joy, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could have gone on forever reading about this family more real and richly drawn than any other saga of human relationships
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Liz Rylance (Southwick, W Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful family chronicle ... read all 5 on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed immensely, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book but was sorry to finish it as it's the last one in the Cazalet Chronicles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All change, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only started to read this book - if it is as good as the others I will be very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Jun 2014
Great book. Loved the cazalets chronicles. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Page turning but disappointing, 17 Jun 2014
I enjoyed most of this book - it's quite satisfyingly page turning but the story and characters do not withstand close inspection. There's some quite overwhelming references to being sick and vomiting in nearly every chapter. Odd. Also agree with other reviewers that the relationship between Neville and Juliet does not convince. The chapters feel episodic. Characters do seem muddled up. Louise seems to forget completely about her own son and also her father's previous inappropriate behaviour. The book was good at portraying the 'End of an Era' as a theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's Over, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a fitting finale for the Cazalet family. As with the other books in the series it is so beautifully written and I will really miss reading about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 729 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Change (Cazalet Chronicles)
All Change (Cazalet Chronicles) by Elizabeth Jane Howard (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2013)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews