Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Scheffler illustrations in a simple story for bathtime
This book is perfect for children from about 12 to 42 months. If you're not already familiar with Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler's books, they're great for children from about a year old. Great stories, beautifully illustrated, and usually with a message that kids can begin to relate to when they grow up a little. Although this book is Axel Scheffler's own work, the...
Published on 22 Sep 2009 by Andrew Kerr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bath Book
It is nicely illustrated and the squeak is nice.

However, a bit wordy for a bath book and the kids soon lost interest.
Published 8 months ago by Nik


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Scheffler illustrations in a simple story for bathtime, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Andrew Kerr "Alabony" (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) (Bath Book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is perfect for children from about 12 to 42 months. If you're not already familiar with Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler's books, they're great for children from about a year old. Great stories, beautifully illustrated, and usually with a message that kids can begin to relate to when they grow up a little. Although this book is Axel Scheffler's own work, the style is very similar.

The story is a simple one about how Freddy the Frog loves to play in the pond with his friends. The novelty is that it's a well-put-together waterproof plastic book. Looks like it'll probably last fairly well, and it's very buoyant, so no danger of losing it under the bubbles! It also has a squeaker on the front cover, which, while a little incongruous, keeps little ones entertained too.

My nearly-3-year-old girl loves the Donaldson and Scheffler books, but is probably nearing the end of being entertained by this book. Think it'll be great for younger children though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About as good as a bath book could be, 14 Oct 2009
By 
bomble "bomble" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) (Bath Book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
`Freddy the Frog' with Axel Scheffler's illustrations is by far the nicest bath book we have come across as new parents. It is printed to a much higher level of detail than the handful of other bath books we already own and has a nice little squeaker that my 20-month-old daughter has no difficulty in using. The text for the story is written on the adjacent page to the main illustration which allowed the (un-credited... is it Scheffler?) writer to come up with a sweet little rhyming tale - simple but nice to read aloud. The illustrations are terrific in my opinion. I can see that they might not be to all tastes, but there's a kind of happy mayhem in the images with plenty of fine detail to stimulate a small child and good to play finding games in the scene.

A few minor points make this less than perfect; the squeaker only works well from the front page so my daughter wants to close the book midway. The pond scene of the illustrations is repeated on every picture page and could have been more varied (although it does go from day to night!) Finally, some of the added characters are of a decidedly unusual variety compared with most children's books for this age group so, while you might delight in showing your child moorhens, kingfishers and (?) water rats their names are not given in the text and they're not the easiest things for a child to learn compared with the usual duck, fish etc. That might be a selling point if you've had enough of the same recycled characters - but it could also put you off.

Overall I enjoy reading this book with my daughter who is at about the right age for something like this... She loves it and has learned to say Frog in honour of Freddy... so that can't be bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hop in the bath!, 20 Sep 2009
This review is from: Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) (Bath Book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great product this - waterproof book with velcro fastener and a squeaker, my 8 month old son loves playing with it as well as having it read to him. Durable, brightly coloured and well written, overall very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading!, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) (Bath Book)
My 18 month old son loves this bath time book, we read it every night and it never seems to bore him :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic trip, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) (Bath Book)
Read this to my niece when she was a baby. Looking forward to reading it to her baby when it arrives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The product is ok., 3 Nov 2013
By 
Ms. C. Avanzi (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) (Bath Book)
It is a ok. Bought as a present. Somehow I thought it was different, more consistent? But no faults with the product. Delivery on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bath Book, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Nik (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) (Bath Book)
It is nicely illustrated and the squeak is nice.

However, a bit wordy for a bath book and the kids soon lost interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) (Bath Book)
Still awaiting delivery sadly was advised that it would be between 2nd and 5th November. Sadly it will miss my nephews birthday but I am sure that I will be pleased with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun!, 8 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. Je Parfitt "Jan P" (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) (Bath Book)
I bought this for my year old grandson and it was an immediate hit. Brightly coloured and very tactile. Perfect for bathtime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grandson Christmas gift, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) (Bath Book)
He loved this little bath book and still has it among his bath time toys its been very durable so worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books)
Freddy the Frog Bath Book (Axel Scheffler's Noisy Bath Books) by Axel Scheffler (Bath Book - 4 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: 7.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews