Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars13
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2010
This was a facinating insight into a woman I thought I knew but obviously not. Carefully crafted and delicate handling of her private life.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
Well-researched, this biography starts at the beginning and continues at the same pace to the end - but I doubt it will awaken any new interest in Constance Spry. Despite the title, she was a very private person and there simply isn't the material for any surprising revelations.
It's at its strongest covering her early years, her relationship with her auto-didact father, her social-climbing mother and Constance's early working days, travelling Ireland in a caravan lecturing the peasantry on how to combat TB. She was middle-aged before she began her flower career.
She was certainly a formidable woman, admirably independent long before girls had careers. But this is probably a book for the middleaged/elderly flower arranger who remembers Mrs Spry as a household name. Unfortunately, there isn't a single colour illustration ... of course, she worked in a monochrome era but surely there's something out there?
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
This biography surprised, charmed and inspired it. I was surprised that a woman I associated with middle class cooking and mannered floral arrangements escaped an abusive marriage to make a life for herself in London in the First World War, never actually married the man whose name she took, had a torrid affair with a lady painter, reinvented her career several times, and dound time to invent Coronation Chicken. I was charmed at the easy style of a book that stimulated my interest in topics I am not naturally drawn to such as flower arranging and interior decoration and a woman I had little in common with. And I was inspired by the story of someone whose creative urges were unfulfilled through everything she tried - music, drawing, and painting - until in middle age she discovered a means of self-expression that inspired her to create, teach, write and enthuse. Constance Spry does not come out of the book as a wholly sympathetic character with traits of impatience, zeal to move on , some snobbery and a lot of impatience, but her sense of humour and the colourfulness with which milieu in which she moved from thirties minimalism, upper class opulence, wartime deprivation and post-War authority make this one of my best reads of 2013.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
This was a great read, interesting, especially to someone like me who likes flower arranging as well as biographies. This is the life story of an amazing woman - and quite an unconventional one which is not the picture one normally has. It was an easy read and inspired me in terms of flower arranging ideas too. There is some "name dropping" which could be off putting but then CS did mix in the most amazing circles.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
so very very interesting i love flowers food and history i got it all and more i have since bought the hard copy to give as a gift and have recomended it to lots of friends the chapter on the coranation is superb 'who knew ' not me loved loved it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
A good read recounting the life of the flower arranger and Cordon Bleu cookery school guru. From a troubled first marriage to a lesbian affair, it is indeed 'surprising'!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Fascinating insight into a very crative and unusual woman who one thinks of only in flowers.What a surprise,have passed on my copy and also recommended to many others
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
From a simple background, Constance Spry through charm and hard work went on to achieve so much.

I found this a well written and researched book - fascinating.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
Who would have thought we owed so much to Constance spry - an amazing woman and her story is
Absolutely dascinating
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Well written about a fascinating and interesting person. Excellent continuity - no long boring repetitive pieces.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse