Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Little Pigs with no gory bits
My rather sensitive two year old toddler loves this version of the classic fairy tale - the good news is that no-one gets eaten and the big bad wolf ends up in the soup cauldron! The three little pigs live happily ever after! Lovely bright colours, fun lift the flaps and nice rhymes. Very enjoyable.
Published on 15 July 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not suitable if you're adding to your family
My son has loved all of the Nick Sharratt books he's had so far so when I decided to get him a copy of the three little pigs this was my first choice. However when the book arrived I was disappointed to see on the first page that the reason given for the three little pigs leaving home was the arrival of new babies so there wasn't enough room for them. As I'm 7 months...
Published 3 months ago by Helen Warham


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Little Pigs with no gory bits, 15 July 2002
By A Customer
My rather sensitive two year old toddler loves this version of the classic fairy tale - the good news is that no-one gets eaten and the big bad wolf ends up in the soup cauldron! The three little pigs live happily ever after! Lovely bright colours, fun lift the flaps and nice rhymes. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's entirely in rhyme., 9 April 2012
The rhyming style is amazing - rather like Pam Eyres, which makes it more fun to read for adults. It has engaged my 3-year-old so much that he can now recite it from start to end without prompts. He doesn't do that with any other books. At his pre-school nursery, he will even 'read' it to the other children!

The illustrations are cleverly done: simple, but with enough details (especially under the flaps) to engage the child with questions like 'how many red flowers are there?' and 'what does this pig (with the yellow shirt) have in his bag?'. Every page has a couple of things like that. The flaps are intelligently designed (more so than the companion book Red Riding Hood) and every one of them either adds colour to the story, or helps to move it along.

I'm about to buy all the other books in the series. I'd recommend it even if you didn't think you wanted a rhyming version of the story. The wolf is not very menacing, and it's a nice length for a 3-year-old's bedtime story (18 pages with 4 lines of prose on each ... about the same as a Mr Men book).

We have the 2009 edition with CD. I don't recall listening to the CD before it got lost. The book is printed on stiff card-like paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not suitable if you're adding to your family, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lift-the-Flap Fairy Tales: The Three Little Pigs (with CD) (Paperback)
My son has loved all of the Nick Sharratt books he's had so far so when I decided to get him a copy of the three little pigs this was my first choice. However when the book arrived I was disappointed to see on the first page that the reason given for the three little pigs leaving home was the arrival of new babies so there wasn't enough room for them. As I'm 7 months pregnant I didn't want to give this to my son and have him thinking that he would have to move out when his baby brother or sister arrives. It was returned the same day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Little Pigs, 27 Jan 2006
By A Customer
I read this version of the story to a class of year 2 children (aged 6-7 years) and they were enthralled! The rhyming text is brilliant and the flaps add so much to the story. A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pigs in a flap, 27 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son likes this book - the rhymes are very well constructed and flow well, making it easy to read. The illustrations bright, colourful, cheerful and enhanced by 'lift the flaps'. Not sure the flaps of the final brick house are quite as good as the rest. A good telling of the story which is not too scary for the vivid imagine of a 3 year old and is also pretty close to the original traditional tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Jan 2011
My two year old son absolutely loves this book so much so that we've bought others from the series and they've all been just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lift-the-Flap Fairy Tales: The Three Little Pigs (with CD) (Paperback)
Terrific stuff for toddlers and their carers. Wish there were more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lift-the-Flap Fairy Tales: The Three Little Pigs (with CD) (Paperback)
Great buy. Very nice book, comes with cd. Would recomend this to everyone. So much fun to read to kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Toddler treat!, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lift-the-Flap Fairy Tales: The Three Little Pigs (with CD) (Paperback)
My 3 yr old cant get enough of this - lovely colourful pages and playful rhymes. The cd is a bonus to keep him reading independently at the table while I'm cooking dinner. Also great for the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lift-the-Flap Fairy Tales: The Three Little Pigs (with CD) (Paperback)
This the second one of these I have bought for my grandchildren. The first has lasted well and been well loved. They love to open the flaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lift-the-Flap Fairy Tales: The Three Little Pigs (with CD)
Lift-the-Flap Fairy Tales: The Three Little Pigs (with CD) by Stephen Tucker (Paperback - 1 May 2009)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews