Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Update your 'must-have' list with this book!
This book is absolutely super! I simply can't image going through a CELTA course without it. Like an inspiring and supportive tutor, in this book, Jim offers a diversity of student-centred activities in every teaching stage. He helps the teacher to transform the dry and difficult grammar teaching into an interactive and enjoyable learning experience. On top of that,a...
Published on 10 Oct 2010 by Janet

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting enough.
This is a useful book for presenting grammar points and concept checking with students. Some ideas are offered for practising these but nothing original here.
Published on 11 Oct 2011 by Gaz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Update your 'must-have' list with this book!, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it (Paperback)
This book is absolutely super! I simply can't image going through a CELTA course without it. Like an inspiring and supportive tutor, in this book, Jim offers a diversity of student-centred activities in every teaching stage. He helps the teacher to transform the dry and difficult grammar teaching into an interactive and enjoyable learning experience. On top of that,a unique bonus I have got from this book is the accurate and complete illustration of the meaning, form, and pronunciation for each grammar item, which is the biggest problem for both teachers and learners. The creative presentations and the clear concept checking questions not only save teachers from nerve-wracking inventions, but also guarantee a guided-discovery for learners. No matter whether you are a teacher or a learner, make sure it is on your 'must-have' list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One stop shop for grammar, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it (Paperback)
Jim Scrivener's book is an excellent one stop shop for anyone who wants to find out about English grammar and how to teach it. There is simply no other book that does such a great job at explaining grammar points and then giving teachers a variety of ways in which they can introduce them to students and then help learners to practise them. I bought it for a friend of mine who has just done a CELTA course. She loved it and found it full of ready made recipes that she could use. Definitely a book I can wholeheartedly recommend. One quibble: why is there no picture of the author?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource to supplement, rather than substitute for, a main course text, 19 May 2014
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it (Paperback)
Providing you are using it in the manner intended, obviously, Jim Scrivener’s “Teaching English Grammar” is an excellent resource and highly recommended. The reason for the caveat is that in terms of practical use, it isn’t designed to be a core teaching text for students of English (although as a core for teaching English teachers, it is arguably more central). This means that it’s not a book designed to start at page one and to use it as a basis for a language course. In fact, the most likely use for this book is as a supplement to a core teaching text to provide clear explanations of problems and provide some alternative exercises.

Short chapters are organised around specific pieces of grammar (eg countable and uncountable nouns). Scrivener starts each with a summary of the form of the grammar (very helpful), ideas about presenting this topic, exercises to teach practice, concept checking questions, and often thoughts on meaning and use and common problem areas that students have.

All is presented in a clear and practical format. There is no index, which is a bit of a shame, but otherwise it’s a good teaching resource. It’s not an academic treatise on grammar covering all aspects, and it might have been helpful to give more indication (there is some) of which is most appropriate for different levels of student fluency. With each topic, you will want to treat it like a menu rather than a recipe - pick a few exercises or, indeed, explanations. I guess what I’m saying is it will help you with ideas for explaining and teaching but won’t help you (much) to plan a course of work for students.

I have found it more readable and practical than some of the more extensive tomes that are out there. Even so, just a cursory glance at some of the subjects will soon make you realise how frustrating the English language can be. It’s also worth noting that Scrivener’s emphasis is on common usage rather than grammatical purity - which is, by and large, a very good thing. So, as long as you don't expect either a substitute course plan or a comprehensive guide to all aspects of English grammar, then this is an excellent book and far clearer, and slightly less "dry" than others that I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting enough., 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it (Paperback)
This is a useful book for presenting grammar points and concept checking with students. Some ideas are offered for practising these but nothing original here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over priced for what it is, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it (Paperback)
Some reviewers have given the impression that this is a one-stop shop for grammar. It is not, if you are after a one-stop shop for grammar then 'Practical Usage English' is better equipped to meet your needs. What this book does provide is pretty much what it's title suggests, a resource for providing ideas on how to teach English grammar. As a tool for teaching grammar there are some very good ideas in here, but as one reviewer pointed out, there is nothing startlingly new or nothing you can't find elsewehere in here.

What I was quite surprised about when I received this book was it's general build quality. For £18 odd, I was expecting it to be printed on good quality stock paper. However it's all rather flimsy, the inside is printed on quite cheap paper which is translucent. If you expect to be thumbing through this book a lot as I do, it is not going to last that long. So because of the lack of originality and poor build quality for the price, I give it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it (Paperback)
Teaching English Grammar :what to teach and how to teach it. It is a good book of teaching grammar I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it (Paperback)
Jim Scrivener is no stranger to grammar books and English in general; he produced many good books over the years. However, this latest edition of his is well presented and balanced. The book tackles the issue of teaching English grammar in a very easy and simplified version; it takes you through the units step by step and talks you through what is suitable and what is not.
Brilliant book for the experienced teacher and the novice alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more shaky grammar explanations, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it (Paperback)
I just love it. Whenever you either have a new grammar point to expose and explain, look it up in the book and find out not only how to introduce it and expose it : it also tells you what mistakes your students are likely to make and therefore what to insist on, it gives you the famous "concept" question to check their understanding and do some teaching if need be on the whole grammar point. I think it is definitely a must to the inexperienced teacher, and probably a good addition to teachers who wish to revisit their grammar explanations on renew the activities that lead onto a new grammar point, etc. The only minor drawback to me is that the author is probablyu good at drawing on the board, so he gives lots of ideas of scenes to get the teaching from, ... and I can not do it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and profesional, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it (Paperback)
I will definitely recommend this product, it matches the expectations that I had from it, the delivery was really quick and it arrived in perfect conditions. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly useful, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it (Paperback)
I couldn't recommend this book more. Its a godsend that aided the completion of my CELTA and I have already used it in classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it
Teaching English Grammar: What to Teach and How to Teach it by Jim Scrivener (Paperback - 5 July 2010)
£20.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews