Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is the second installment of M.R. Hall's 'Jenny Cooper Series'. If you read the last novel, The Coronor, then you know already what a cracking read you are in for. This story is all about a young British student Nazim Jamal, who disappeared along with another student seven years earlier. Mrs Jamal, the mother of Nazim, wants an inquest to be held into the...
Published on 13 July 2011 by Pat

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coroner Investigates again
I enjoyed The Coroner (Jenny Cooper 1) by M. R. Hall so was pleased to see that there were more in the series.

Jenny Cooper is a Coroner on the border between England and Wales, she is a mother to a teenage son and has a past that is haunting her.

This book was not on a subject that particularly appeals to me but was well written enough for me to...
Published on 27 May 2012 by C. Bannister


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 July 2011
By 
This is the second installment of M.R. Hall's 'Jenny Cooper Series'. If you read the last novel, The Coronor, then you know already what a cracking read you are in for. This story is all about a young British student Nazim Jamal, who disappeared along with another student seven years earlier. Mrs Jamal, the mother of Nazim, wants an inquest to be held into the circumstances surrounding her son's 'presumed' death, as she does not believe the police when they say the students were under surveillance and left the country to train with other extremists.

I am a voracious reader and am always reading, and I have to say that this is one of the very few novels that have actually left me stunned. A couple of incidents I did not see coming and was shocked when I read them, it certainly made me want to continue to read more of M. R. Hall's novels and to know that I could not second-guess what was coming next.

In my view a cracking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polished, informed, intelligent thrillers., 19 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Disappeared (Coroner Jenny Cooper Series) (Hardcover)
I loved The Coroner, I loved The Disappeared and I can't wait to get my hands on The Redeemed. This is an addictive series of books already, tailor-made for television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relentless, enthralling..., 17 Jan 2011
By 
D. Harris (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappeared (Coroner Jenny Cooper Series) (Hardcover)
This is a superb follow-up to The Coroner (Jenny Cooper 1), Hall's first book which introduced the character of Jenny Cooper, the most relentless (and reckless) investigator this side of Rebus. At one level of course it's a blend of familiar tropes - the detective who won't take "no" for an answer, even when They tell her to lay off; the self-destructive detective, who can't survive without drink or pills and the faceless, vague conspiracy that must be faced down.

Yet underneath, there is powerful current of mystery about Cooper's past - what childhood events is she suppressing, which drive her (we are, none too subtly, told) to uncover identities and seek justice for the dead? (And which also drive her to panic symptoms which she grapples with through medicatiin and counselling).

I know, it sounds a lot to bear with in a simple mystery. But this isn't a simple mystery. Hill fuses these elements and produces something truly compelling - whether you're reading to try and piece Jenny's past together, or waiting for the next episode in which she lays dignity, career, or even life in the line, or whether you are intrigued by the events she's doggedly investigating.

Here, Jenny is at her best, managing her awkward, prickly relationship with Alison, her Coroner's Officer (or her awkward, prickly relationships with her boyfriend, ex husband and son) while investigating the disappearance, some years before, of two teenagers - a disappearance which seems to have pointers towards her past. It's great fun to read, and I'm glad to see that Hall has another coming up later in 2011, The Redeemed (Jenny Cooper 3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super coroner rides again, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another good story of Jenny Cooper just not being able to take the easy way and puts herself (and her poor coroner's officer) through the mill in the pursuit of the truth come what may. Full of characters who try and, obstruct, deflect and sometimes put her at risk. Full of suave and shifty secret service people and civil servants, snooty lawyers slumming it, compromised police officers - who are your friends? Maybe she is her own worst enemy. Trying to find the truth about what happened to two young Asian men when few care - it just makes her more determined. She really does speak for the dead. There is sadness, humour and an excellent read. Just because you're paranoid it doesn't mean the world isn't out to get you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coroner Investigates again, 27 May 2012
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed The Coroner (Jenny Cooper 1) by M. R. Hall so was pleased to see that there were more in the series.

Jenny Cooper is a Coroner on the border between England and Wales, she is a mother to a teenage son and has a past that is haunting her.

This book was not on a subject that particularly appeals to me but was well written enough for me to want to find out what happens at the end, I was stunned! The story revolves around the disappearance of two Asian students from Bristol University 8 years previously. Did they go to join the Jihad? And why do MI5 still seem to be hovering around getting in the way of the inquest that Jenny is holding?

All in all this book carried me along enough to want to read The Redeemed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 27 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Jenny Cooper story develops her character and takes the reader even further into her psyche. What from her past is her subconscious trying to hide from? Although, the reader ends up being ultimately frustrated at the apparent refusal of our heroine to confront her demons, there is always the consolation of knowing that the next story may answer all our questions. This story is as gripping as it is gritty and, once again, Jenny Cooper has to take on the highest authorities in the land in order to unveil the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is this feasible?, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not acquainted with the world of the coroner, but somehow I can't imagine them doing the things Jenny does in this book. It was however quite a good read and a change to read a book set in the. Bristol area for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 10 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Walsh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Disappeared (Coroner Jenny Cooper Series) (Hardcover)
Having already read and been completely gripped by M R Hall's The Coroner I was delighted to read his latest novel, The Disappeared.

The intriguing female main character (coroner Jenny Cooper) is a professional woman struggling to overcome her own demons and life choices whilst holding down a demanding and responsible job. Through the twists and turns of Jenny's personal and professional life M R Hall compels the reader to explore our own cultural prejudices and values, as well as providing a flawed but fascinating heroine.

I thoroughly enjoy M R Hall's writing - his style is razor sharp and beautifully crafted. His inside knowledge (as a former barrister) adds enormously to the credibility of the storyline.

The Disappeared is a real page turner and will keep you thinking long after the book has been put on your book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did not enjoy as much as her other books., 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Puzzled! Can coroners really become that involved in their cases? Can she really function so well in her work if she is such a mixed up person? Found it a bit far fetched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wee worth the read, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its good to read a book that is based in the UK and not America.
Really good characters and the story evolves very nicely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Disappeared (Coroner Jenny Cooper Series)
The Disappeared (Coroner Jenny Cooper Series) by M. R. Hall (Hardcover - 1 Jan 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews