Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shark in the dark
The Shark in the Dark
I borrowed this book from the library... again ..and again.. and again. It is fantastic, a firm favourite of both my five year old daughter and two year old son, who can repeat the whole book as you turn over each page! The rhymes are excellent to read out loud and the ingenuity of the little fishes gets me every time I read it. A thoroughly...
Published on 18 Feb 2009 by Lottie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special
The positive reviews encouraged me to buy this book but my four year old quickly lost interest in this book as the story is very predictable.It rarely ever gets taken off the shelf.
Published 14 months ago by Cake


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shark in the dark, 18 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Shark in the Dark (Hardcover)
The Shark in the Dark
I borrowed this book from the library... again ..and again.. and again. It is fantastic, a firm favourite of both my five year old daughter and two year old son, who can repeat the whole book as you turn over each page! The rhymes are excellent to read out loud and the ingenuity of the little fishes gets me every time I read it. A thoroughly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fangtastic, 27 Jun 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Shark in the Dark (Paperback)
OK, lets keep this one short, this book is fantastic. How's that? LOL Seriously though its great, a well written story for the younger market with beautiful colourful pictures that will keep them amused long after the stories been told that will turn this from an occasional read to a firm favourite. Add to the mix the moral of brain overcomes brawn and you've got something a little special to enjoy. Perhaps even a story to inspire the next generation of Jacques-Yves Cousteau's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shark Fun, 14 Jun 2009
By 
Petra (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shark in the Dark (Paperback)
Another great book. Good fun, great rhyming story as with all previous books in this range. My young grandchildren love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh heck!, 22 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: The Shark in the Dark (Paperback)
This is the book that began my 2-year-old's passion for sharks and an ongoing game of 'not getting your bottom sharked' on the stairs or running and jumping between 'boulders' or 'islands' in any available space. She also loved the 'Oh heck!' page as she called it, and the sharks fin-to-mouth expression here - it's still known as an 'oh heck face' in our house.

The text is funny, energetic and stands many repeated readings; and the shark is just the right level of menacing for the target age group to enjoy. I like the colouring too - it has a good underwater feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Story for Young Children - Highly recommended, 11 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Shark in the Dark (Hardcover)
'Childrens books' is an area where there are so many excellent books. I have to say The Shark in the Dark stands out amongst the best. My children think it is 'Cool' - they love the story and illustrations - we read it over and over again. For something different - and fun - Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The shark in the dark, 13 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Shark in the Dark (Hardcover)
The children's book market has tons of good books, but The Shark in the Dark is one of the best. My 18 month old son loved it and its become a firm favourite bed time story. Great rhythm and beautiful illustrations. I dont understand why this isnt more popular on Amazon compared to the regulars..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 26 Sep 2010
By 
Louise Pretty "Yummy Mummy" (Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shark in the Dark (Paperback)
Lovely story with rhyming text. Pictures are beautiful and as a chilminder this book has become a firm favourite and I don't mind repeatedly reading it. The 2/3 year olds don't really understand how the fish get the shark to go away but the 4/5 year olds worked it out for themselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 29 Jun 2014
By 
S. Carhart "Sarah" (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shark in the Dark (Paperback)
Great rhyming story with lovely illustrations, has lovely rhythm and is fun to read aloud, bought with Cats Ahoy to go with Pirate-themed gifts and both books were enjoyed by the adults too (well, I love them!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for toddlers, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shark in the Dark (Paperback)
Fab book,easy to read with lovely pictures,all about standing up to a bully and working together as a team! My 3 year old loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for my 3 year old, 7 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shark in the Dark (Paperback)
I have read this so many times now and it is still a good read at bed time. Pages are a bit dark if you only read by child's light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shark in the Dark
The Shark in the Dark by Peter Bently (Paperback - 1 May 2009)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews