Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars447
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2015
The board book is NOT the complete book. Amazon, your description is very misleading, as are the reviews you choose to publish together with this product.
I bought this thinking that it was a board version of the original book. I should have thought something wasn't quite right after clicking to buy and seeing "Animal Noises" and "jigsaw". The board book is just a list of the noises the animals from the original story make. I can make those noises quite easily myself without wasting £5.59. Total and utter rip off and this should be stated on the product description for the board book. Very, Very disappointing.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is excellent in every way. The cover is beautifully illustrated and very tactile with a yellow, very glittery raised design. This raised glittery theme is continued through the book with a hidden ladybird and sometimes her trail on each page. Young children can 'feel' as well as look for the ladybird which is cleverly much larger on some pages than others. The illustrations inside are outstanding too.
The story inside is very clever and very entertaining of how some farmyard animals plus the ladybird outwit some thieves trying to steal the farmers prized cow.
It is a very, very entertaining tale and lots of opportunity to make animal noises and laugh at the story.
Exceptionally good and well worth adding to your young childrens book collection. I would say it's suited to preschool and key stage one children. My 7 and 4 year old loved it.
Wholeheartedly recommended.
0Comment|79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
My little boy - 17 months - loves this book, and we've had it a couple of months now, and I've not tired of reading it, either. Lots of fun.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
Bought this book for my 3.5 yr old twin nieces who are besotted with Gaston from Holly & Ben's Little Kingdom at the moment - Gaston is a Ladybird so I thought they would enjoy this book - they love it! Everytime I babysit and ask them which story at bedtime, its this one. They love finding the ladybird hidden on each page and telling the story along with me. The books about a group of animals on a farm (including a ladybird) who foil some thieves who plan a robbery to steal a prize cow. Great book
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
fantastic book my 3yr old loves it, especially searching for the sparkly ladybird on every page. from the writers of the gruffalo to be honest havent found a book theyve written that hasnt been fab but this has to be one of the best
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
This book is a firm favourite in our house, as the little ladybird overhears the thieves going to rob the farm and takes action with all the animals. It's funny and sweet with bright and colourful illustrations.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
another great book by julia with a ladybird on each page for the kids to find i cant fault it
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 January 2016
Storyline -
A story about how a quiet ladybird saved the prize cow form being stolen by Hefty Hugh and Lanky Len.

Early Years Teachers - This book proved to be an invaluable resource on my teaching placements. As with this well respected and loved children's author, Julia Donaldson, this is a great book with a good story line. It is so versatile and can be enjoyed by many ages. It is really easy to engage with as there are so many possible themes in the story which can be explored to a suitable depth dependent on the children's ages.

Themes: directions, animals, thieves, listening, people who help us.

Activity ideas:
- Children could draw a map of the farm labelling the buildings.
- Children could write a character profile of Lanky Len and Hefty Hugh.
- Children could create a wanted poster for Lanky Len and Hefty Hugh.
- Children could design a new outfit for the scarecrow in the farmer field.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Amazing book, my daughter has loved this book since she was 2 years old, we look for the glitter lady bird on each page, and say out the rhyming words together, my daughter now nearly 5 is starting to read this book by her self. Im yet to read a bad Julia Donaldson book
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
.....saves the day!

From the back cover:

'Two crafty robbers, one tiny ladybird, and a whole farmyard of fun!
Hefty Hugh and Lanky Len have a cunning plan to steal the farmer's fine prize cow.
But they reckon without the tiniest, quietest creature of all: she has a plan of her own.

A wonderfully funny rhyming tale from Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks - the best selling creators of 'Sharing a Shell' and 'The Princess and the Wizard'......'

Measuring 10" square, this is sure to be a popular book, with oodles of appeal, and the glittery ladybird to find on every page!
Eye-catching front cover, with a glittery feel, opens to 24 highly coloured quality pages in the ever-popular double page spread format.
In addition the inside cover pages are two-page spreads of the farmyard, before and after the cunning plan!
These are truly excellent pieces of artwork which promote all sorts of discussions and drawings as extension work!

Clear text is enhanced in places FOR EFFECT!
A repeat element helps word recognition, and encourages joining in.....if you can stop those little eyes checking out where the tiny, quiet little ladybird is hiding, as you turn the page!

Example of text:

'Once upon a farm lived a fat red hen,
A duck in a pond and a goose in a pen,
A woolly sheep, a hairy hog
A handsome horse and a dainty dog,
A cat that miaowed and a cat that purred,

A fine prize cow.....and a ladybird.....'

The next two pages have all the aforementioned animals introducing themselves, and their various noises, i.e. a MOO, or a HISS etc, ..........but `the ladybird never said a word'....
at this point, anyway!
She is too busy listening to the robbers' plan which she tells the rest of the animals about....
...one by one...
....in their ear......
....with a glittery trail, further enhancing these two pages!

The animals respond in their various `voices', as before....
.....but the ladybird's plan to foil the robbers is rather cunning in its own right.......
and as night falls....the animals finally save the day, in their own devious way!

My only minor criticism is that I needed a fair bit of practice to recite out loud some of the couplets, especially as the story develops... but that is an adult challenge...and the children in my groups didn't seem to notice - so four and a half stars overall!
review image review image
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.85

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.