Customer Reviews


258 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally Good Book 10 stars!
This book is excellent in every way. The cover is beautifully illustrated and very tactile with a yellow, very glittery raised design. This raised glittery theme is continued through the book with a hidden ladybird and sometimes her trail on each page. Young children can 'feel' as well as look for the ladybird which is cleverly much larger on some pages than others. The...
Published on 18 April 2009 by debbie8355

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What the Ladybird Heard
Another good read from Julia Donaldson, with plenty to look and point at, but I didn't like the illustration as much as some of the other books she has done. Personally I prefer those illustrated by Axel Scheffler, although my two year old boys did enjoy it and liked looking for the Ladybird that was hidden on each page. I would definitely still recommend it, but I...
Published on 25 Nov 2010 by Mrs. Sj Powell


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally Good Book 10 stars!, 18 April 2009
By 
debbie8355 (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is excellent in every way. The cover is beautifully illustrated and very tactile with a yellow, very glittery raised design. This raised glittery theme is continued through the book with a hidden ladybird and sometimes her trail on each page. Young children can 'feel' as well as look for the ladybird which is cleverly much larger on some pages than others. The illustrations inside are outstanding too.
The story inside is very clever and very entertaining of how some farmyard animals plus the ladybird outwit some thieves trying to steal the farmers prized cow.
It is a very, very entertaining tale and lots of opportunity to make animal noises and laugh at the story.
Exceptionally good and well worth adding to your young childrens book collection. I would say it's suited to preschool and key stage one children. My 7 and 4 year old loved it.
Wholeheartedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 22 Dec 2009
By 
D. Haycock (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My little boy - 17 months - loves this book, and we've had it a couple of months now, and I've not tired of reading it, either. Lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, colourful and beautifully written, 23 Sep 2012
Julia Donaldson is a master of children's literature. The language in this book has a compelling rhyme and rhythm. On top that the animal noises are great fun to do and the pictures are bright and engaging. Absolutely top notch for children from about 18 months onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars julia donaldson, 7 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What the Ladybird Heard (Paperback)
another great book by julia with a ladybird on each page for the kids to find i cant fault it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 24 Sep 2011
By 
K. perry (wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What the Ladybird Heard (Paperback)
fantastic book my 3yr old loves it, especially searching for the sparkly ladybird on every page. from the writers of the gruffalo to be honest havent found a book theyve written that hasnt been fab but this has to be one of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, fun for kids, 22 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: What the Ladybird Heard (Paperback)
This book is a firm favourite in our house, as the little ladybird overhears the thieves going to rob the farm and takes action with all the animals. It's funny and sweet with bright and colourful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 4 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What the Ladybird Heard (Paperback)
Purchased this for a friend who has a child with special needs after someone recommended it to me. Came very quick and in a great condition. A nice colourful book for children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the ladybird?, 23 April 2009
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a delightfully written story, written poetically using rhyming words about a butterfly that overhears theives plotting to commit a crime on the farm.

I read this to my 6 year old son and he loved it and wanted me to read it again.

It has a kind of "where's wally" theme, in the sense that somewhere on each page there is a glittery little ladybird that you encourage your child to find, it can be very hard to find as he is occasionally very tiny, but it keeps a childs interest.

The illustration is bright, colourful and somewhat funny, adding to the appeal of the book.

My son enjoyed it and I imagine other children would too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What the Ladybird Heard (Paperback)
My son insists on having this story read to him every night at bedtime and I enjoy it too! He loves all the rhyming and the colourful illustrations and he almost knows it by heart!
He is a great fan of Julia Donaldson and we have many of her books and although he's nearly 5, he loves them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 5 Jun 2012
By 
As usual Julia Donaldson has created a funny, colourful childrens book. As well as a great story, you can also play find the glittery ladybird on each page with your toddler and make the animal sounds. The story is about a ladybird on the farm overhearing that some robbers are going to steal the prize cow. And all the animals make different animal noises to confuse the robbers so that they fall in the duck pond and wake the farmer up. It's got lots of humour, bursting with colour, and funny animals. This is a great book for toddlers and small children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What the Ladybird Heard
What the Ladybird Heard by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 5 Mar 2010)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews