Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£43.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2013
I was told of this book to use for my equality and diversity human resources course, as it details how companies (large and small) should treat their employees with dignity and respect.
From any HR aspect, this is a working textbook that delivers what you need to know.
Worth the dosh!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
Just another overpriced book that a student needed for Uni. Give it a few months and someone will be able to buy it for a lot less than I paid for it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Great condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
good good)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
Happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
I do a HR module at university and this textbook is praised by the lecturers, often cited in their lectures. I am using the 3rd edition book, and am sadly disappointed. The book is incredibly large, yet the majority of the text is irrelevant, with quotes including:

'the word 'strategy', deriving from the Greek noun strategus, meaning 'commander in chief', was first used in the English language in 1656. The development and usage of the word suggests that it is composed of statos (army) and agein (to lead).'

Information like this may be interesting if you're a casual reader, but this book is clearly aimed at students and academics, who in most cases are looking to find something quickly and with minimal "clutter", and who do not care about the history and derivation of the english language.

In addition to this, the book is missing vital sections including 'workplace discrimination', a hugely important topic in HRM. And those sections that are included, are often very one-sided, leaving out large areas such as 'criticisms of policies' and 'alternative methods'.

Overall, this book, despite its 540 pages, is somewhat useless, and I just hope the later edition(s) has been improved greatly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)