Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sure to become a classic.
This is a cracking book (excuse the pun). It's the gorgeous pencil and watercolour illustrations that tell the story, and the pages inside are different widths, each getting a bit wider to with a format like that of The Hungry Caterpillar. At the beginning, there's a pile of eggs, and on each turn of the page an egg from the pile hatches and the mini version of one of the...
Published on 5 Mar. 2008 by ELH Browning

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars short and sweet
Agree with the reviews I have read already, beautifully drawn and a cute little
story. Book is very short however and the images lack depth. If you like well drawn
images and a short snappy book then this is for you. This book is not one to return
to frequently as the idea once got, renders it a bit pointless. As already mentioned
the lack of detail...
Published on 27 May 2012 by carcas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sure to become a classic., 5 Mar. 2008
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Odd Egg (Hardcover)
This is a cracking book (excuse the pun). It's the gorgeous pencil and watercolour illustrations that tell the story, and the pages inside are different widths, each getting a bit wider to with a format like that of The Hungry Caterpillar. At the beginning, there's a pile of eggs, and on each turn of the page an egg from the pile hatches and the mini version of one of the mother birds emerges. But Duck didn't lay an egg and instead found a great big spotty egg which takes an age to hatch. What will be inside? It's a simple premise, with beautiful pictures, and humour in the pictures - we love the large booties that Duck knits while she waits. There's a fun twist in the tale and even though my children know what's coming after the first read they want to hear the story over and over again. For fans of Gravett's stories which do vary in their target audience, this is a natural step on from the Orange Pear Apple Bear and is simpler than Meerkat Mail for example, both of which I also recommend whole-heartedly.
A smashing Easter present - or a eggscellent choise for any time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VIVE LA DIFFERENCE !, 18 Feb. 2009
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Odd Egg (Hardcover)
Author/illustrator Emily Gravett has received numerous accolades for her work including the Kate Greenaway Medal and the Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Award for Illustration. She deserves recognition again for The Odd Egg, a smile provoking, cleverly designed story about a duck who very much wanted to lay an egg.

It was that time of year - all the other birds save for Duck had produced an egg. Luckily Duck found one.. For an egg it was quite unusual; the other birds thought it very odd and said it would never hatch. Nonetheless, Duck thought it the most beautiful egg he had ever seen.

Although it took some doing he sat on the egg and even proceeded to do some knitting for the blessed event. The other birds' eggs eventually cracked, the owl's and the chicken's but still nothing for Duck. At last Duck's egg began to creak then crack until out popped a surprise.

Ingeniously cut pages allow youngsters to follow the egg's progress to a humorous finish that will undoubtedly result in laughter as well as questions.

Enjoy!

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Odd Egg!, 9 Mar. 2010
By 
Debra Shaw (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Odd Egg (Paperback)
I saw this book in WH Smiths and just had to buy it for the new baby in the family. The pictures are so charming and the story is so sweet with a surprise at the end. Also the book is light enough to post to Australia. I wish this book had been available when my sons were little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected ending in a a clever format: Toddler addictive!, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Odd Egg (Board book)
At first sight, not really knowing what to assume of the unexpected ending.
I was not sure how politically correct the message was. After reading it a couple of times, it grew on me and started making sense. My sense.
Definetely not just one more book.
My almost two year old got addicted to it. Very clever format. She wanted to hear and see the eggs crack/ hatch one after the other again and again.
You should choose it if you are looking for something original and fun for your child.
I have loved the aestetics of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suitable for all!, 17 April 2008
This review is from: The Odd Egg (Hardcover)
We received this as an Easter present for our daughter - and it made an excellent gift. Although my daughter is only 18 months she loves the pictures and 'naming' the different birds in the story. The middle section with the eggs cracking and the mother's reaction is fantastic.
If you like this I would also recommend 'Monkey and Me' great stories before bed from 14 months onwards I'd say - and then when they can read I think they will enjoy them even more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, Funny, Simple, Sweet, 26 Oct. 2008
By 
N. Brockmann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Odd Egg (Hardcover)
I don't often write reviews but the whole "duck vs drake" review prodded me into action. This is an excellent book which I and my daughter love. The story is very simple and touching. Even though it is short it has a few great twists -- like the boy duck and the unusual ending -- for those who are smart enough to recognize them. My 3 year old is! Illustrations and sequencing are top notch. Give it a try along with Gravett's others especially Monkey & Me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 20 July 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Odd Egg (Paperback)
If there is one name that constantly jumps out for the Young Adult illustrated books then its Emily Gravett, not only has she given the reader highly original but also beautifully created books but also managed to get her work in the top sellers of the year its been released. She really is a master and the Odd Egg carries on her quirky as well as fun books. Quite short but an absolute dream book that will soon become a firm favourite in the owners household. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 5 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Odd Egg (Board book)
my 3 1/2 year son loves this book. Great book for bedtime, as it's not too long. he loves looking at what each egg hatches. really recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely illustrations, 18 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Odd Egg (Board book)
I love Emily Gravett's illustrations and I love the little 'twist' at the end. Both my four year old and nine month old love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new favourite!, 28 May 2013
This review is from: The Odd Egg (Hardcover)
My 2 year old daughter got this book out at the library and read it everyday for weeks so when it was time to go back I decided we needed our own! She still reads it every night before bed! An 'odd' story but she loves it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Odd Egg
The Odd Egg by Emily Gravett (Paperback - 6 Mar. 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews