Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy To Read
Ethelred Tressider is a writer. Well actually he is three writers - he writes traditional police procedurals as Peter Fielding, historical crime as J R R Elliot and romance as Amanda Collins. The three are successful enough to ensure that they go on being published, but no more than that.

Ethelred's writing is not going well and life has fallen into a rut, and...
Published on 21 April 2009 by Lynrow Kernow

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Horribly written
I hate to give up on a book but got around 70% through this one and gave up. The characters are lacking in substance and any sympathetic qualities, but mostly the story jumped around with narratives from differing people. None of it seemed to hang together and it seemed more a study on trying to be a clever piece of writing than a whodunit. The murder was mentioned at...
Published 16 months ago by Mrs. K. Blunt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy To Read, 21 April 2009
Ethelred Tressider is a writer. Well actually he is three writers - he writes traditional police procedurals as Peter Fielding, historical crime as J R R Elliot and romance as Amanda Collins. The three are successful enough to ensure that they go on being published, but no more than that.

Ethelred's writing is not going well and life has fallen into a rut, and he knows it.

But then, suddenly, things begin to happen. His ex-wife Geraldine, who left him for his best friend years ago, has gone missing, leaving the impression that her ex-husband may have been the last person to see her.

What has happened? Has she been killed? Has she killed herself. Or has she maybe set the stage for her own disappearance?

Ethelred's chocolate loving agent Elsie Thirkettle tries to persuade him to investigate - after all, solving the mystery would do wonders for his career!

But soon she begins to wonder if her client knows more about what has happened than he telling her. Is Ethelred as innocent as he first appears?

This is a wonderful tale - cleverly constructed and well executed, with great warmth and wit. Some developments are guessable, but it spoils the journey not one bit.

That's largely because Ethelred and Elsie are such marvellous creations. Their conversations are a joy and it was a delight to spend time with them

A wonderful traditional mystery that does what it sets out todo exceedingy well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the clues are there...., 26 Aug 2008
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Herring Seller's Apprentice (Macmillan New Writing) (Hardcover)
`The Herring Seller's Apprentice' is the kind of book that is likely to appeal to fans of MC Beaton, especially those who like the Agatha Raisin books. This is a similarly light hearted mystery, with all the clues there to be solved.

Ethelred Tressider is a crime writer whose wife (sorry ex-wife!) has gone missing. When she is later presumed dead, the victim of a serial killer, Ethelred and his literary agent, Elsie Thirkettle, begin their own investigations. Elsie is a marvellous character, both outspoken and outrageous!

This was an enjoyable and quick read, but it didn't have as many plot turns as I would have expected having read the other reviews. Nevertheless, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So well written, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It didn't quite capture my attention from the outset but settled down into an unfamiliar style and loved it. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book!!, 23 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: The Herring Seller's Apprentice (Macmillan New Writing) (Hardcover)
The Herring Seller's Apprentice is a fantastic book. Full of plot twists and witty jokes, I just could not put it down. I really recommend it to everyone especially crime novel skeptics - you will not be disappointed. Buy it now and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best books I have read for a good while, 25 Oct 2007
By 
S. Meghji (Finchley, N12, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Herring Seller's Apprentice (Macmillan New Writing) (Hardcover)
I loved this book. It is so funny. I loved the characters, and the plot, could not put it down. It is a very cleverly written book. It had me laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Many twists and turns, 13 Nov 2013
By 
JJ (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book. It takes you off on many twists and turns, throws in the odd red herring...or maybe not?
The main characters are a fine mis-matched pair, a writer and his agent.He writes detective novels amongst other things and has more of an eye for a scam and an under-telling of the truth. She is a bit foul mouthed with little good to say about anyone and is a bit of a hoot.
The plot revolves around the disappearance of the author's ex-wife (who his agent thought very little of in the first place). He becomes involved due to their past relationship, while his agent, with her weird fashion ideas, just wants to make sure the ex-wife and her family get what they deserve for the grief they caused him in the past - as she has a little bit of a soft spot for him - and so she become the apprentice.
I will definitely look out for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Book, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book quite amusing. I could not say I could not put it down but it was entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift. Recipient was delighted. Amusing read and quirky characters the first of a trilogy (so far). Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Horribly written, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. K. Blunt "katherine2701" (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hate to give up on a book but got around 70% through this one and gave up. The characters are lacking in substance and any sympathetic qualities, but mostly the story jumped around with narratives from differing people. None of it seemed to hang together and it seemed more a study on trying to be a clever piece of writing than a whodunit. The murder was mentioned at the beginning but hardly mentioned much after that. If it were written by a student I would advise them to try to write one story at a time rather than 3 books badly as one. It is like reading a newspaper report on a crime interspersed with a historical reference book and an electoral register. Not for me at all I'm afraid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, 11 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Herring Seller's Apprentice (Macmillan New Writing) (Hardcover)
Entertaining and beautifully written, The Herring Seller's Apprentice is for those who love clever novels. I look forward to L C Tyler's next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Herring Seller's Apprentice (Macmillan New Writing)
The Herring Seller's Apprentice (Macmillan New Writing) by L. C. Tyler (Hardcover - 5 Oct 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews