Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, comprehensive introduction to politics
This book was compulsive reading as an introduction to my university course. It is very much a text book, with a layout suited for learning. Topics and areas are well divided and well covered, giving a learner a clear understanding of structures, areas and various aspects of politics. I strongly recommend it to anyone learning about the machinery and debates of politics...
Published on 9 Aug. 2003 by jemima

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Long winded
Heywood, as an author, is too wordy and tends to ramble and drag out a subject when a quick summary would have done. This, for me, is a great sin, especially when you're writing a textbook. Look, we all know that reference books are boring as hell, but when the author likes to ramble and is unable to express his ideas in clear, concise sentences then we have a problem.
Published 13 months ago by Zero


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, comprehensive introduction to politics, 9 Aug. 2003
This book was compulsive reading as an introduction to my university course. It is very much a text book, with a layout suited for learning. Topics and areas are well divided and well covered, giving a learner a clear understanding of structures, areas and various aspects of politics. I strongly recommend it to anyone learning about the machinery and debates of politics. It will provide a very firm base from which to further develop your studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 29 Jan. 2004
This book is invaluable for anyone taking a politics course at university. It covers a broad range of themes with balance and clarity. Helpful tables make it easier to digest the information, and its references for further reading make it indispensable when it comes to writing essays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 25 Oct. 2014
This book came heavily recommended when starting my politics course, and its clear to see why. Topics are covered in a great amount of detail and set out in a way which makes them easy to both find and understand. This book may require a small understanding of politics for an individual to fully be able to learn the topics covered, however as an accompaniment to higher learning I feel this serves the purpose well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid piece by heywood - which is basically the same as 3rd ed, 23 Oct. 2010
By 
Despite this now being 'out of date', so far as I can tell from actually having both books, this edition looks almost identical to the 3rd edition one, which is always nice

I'm guessing this is going to be one of the staple textbooks at university for you, and it does the job soundly - providing clear, helpful knowledge, with plenty of examples and diagrams to help make it feel like it still has relevance.

It's not that advanced compared to plenty of other materials out there, but as a starting point on a politics degree course, you can't really go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good help at uni, 23 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
I used this book as part of my first year studies at University for my politics class and it was really easy to use, well set-out etc and not too complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucid, well-structured, in-depth., 25 Jan. 2005
By 
Adam Knowles "Sapare aude" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lucid, intellectual writing that covers exactly the right areas.

Other reviews say it's ideal for academic study. In my case it encouraged me to start on formal courses, because the subject matter is fascinating.

It's very readable; I expect to be referring to it for a long time!

A high quality book, both physically and intellectually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
By 
M. N. Iqbal "Naz" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Politics Undergraduate Review, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
I bought this book because It was one of my core books for my first year subject "Comparative Politics". I didn't find it hard to read through. The book goes through all key concepts of the world of politics (constitutions, governments, ideologies…) and it provides examples all the time. It pretty much follows a PEE (Point, Evidence, Explanation) IB strategy, or at least it reminded me of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great price!, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
This book was a suggested read on my university reading-list. Had a quick read through and it looks very detailed and in-depth which was what I was looking for.

The item arrived in 5 days (including the weekend) and is in a good condition as described! No notes or highlighting or underlining either. Good price too - £7.35 (including postage) - new this book costs over £20!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Long winded, 5 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
Heywood, as an author, is too wordy and tends to ramble and drag out a subject when a quick summary would have done. This, for me, is a great sin, especially when you're writing a textbook. Look, we all know that reference books are boring as hell, but when the author likes to ramble and is unable to express his ideas in clear, concise sentences then we have a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series)
Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) by Andrew Heywood (Paperback - 4 May 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews