Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Important content about what drives customer attitudes and behaviour, 21 Oct 2008
By 
Angus Jenkinson "angusjenkinson" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DNA of Customer Experience: How Emotions Drive Value (Hardcover)
The founder of a consulting and research company called beyond philosophy. They have had some considerable success (and became quite trendy) by developing a technique that measures the shape of the emotional response that consumers have to a brand or firm and to different brand experiences. Specifically, they identify a set of emotions that are related to advocacy (e.g. happiness), recommendation (e.g. trusted), attention (e.g. interested) and destroying (i.e. destroying relationship, e.g. irritated).

Their insight is that you can research these four different clusters in order to arrive at the emotional profile of your customer's response and this profile gives you much clearer and better insights into what you need to do to improve business success.

Moreover, the company and authors approach is to link these findings to the financial impact of change: what would be the result of moving particular emotional scores? By linking to the research done by Reichheld with the Net Promoter Score they are able to go significantly further in determining this value.

The background argument is made clearly and well (and is very soundly based, drawing on authoritative recent surveys of the mind and the role of emotion in shaping decision-making and behaviour). Emotions really matter, and understanding the detailed profile of your customer's response really does give much more useful insight into what to do.

Naturally, this is a book that is written to promote the author and his consulting/research company. All the evidence in it is drawn from these sources and are there not only to justify the argument but also to make the company and its 'beyond philosophy' approach attractive to marketing clients. Well, that is more or less something you do not put up with in the business world and Shaw does at least take us into the foothills of their methodology. I think you can learn from this even if you do not end up doing business with the company.

My own opinion is that this method needs to be taken one step further. The current tool is entirely generic: it assumes and uses one set of emotions for all customers. Given the relationship between emotion and value and the need of organisations to create unique value (their DNA), I believe that there is a step further that needs to be taken to get to a true DNA of customer experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read if you are serious about Customer Satisfaction, 4 Sep 2007
By 
P. Impey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The DNA of Customer Experience: How Emotions Drive Value (Hardcover)
A great read ....
This is a very thought provoking and practical read at the same time! Working for a company that uses Net Promoter, this has really helped me see what I need to do to improve my Net Promoter score. I now realise we should be measuring emotions as part of our Customer Experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to turning customers into advocates for your company, 11 Dec 2008
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The DNA of Customer Experience: How Emotions Drive Value (Hardcover)
Colin Shaw demonstrates convincingly why building a great "Customer Experience" is important to your company. He relates it to important clusters of emotions that either destroy or drive added value, and create loyal customers. While the DNA metaphor is a bit strained (after all, talking about the virus of customer experience wouldn't be nearly as poetic, even if it might be a slightly more accurate metaphor), Shaw gets his ideas across well and the underlying principles he outlines are quite good. He provides stories and quotes from his own consulting experience to clarify his points. getAbstract finds this concisely written book valuable and instructive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DNA of Customer Experience: How Emotions Drive Value (Hardcover)
I didn't really find this book enticing, couldn't wait to put it down, just read a couple of paragraphs through out the book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True enlightenment!, 12 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: The DNA of Customer Experience: How Emotions Drive Value (Hardcover)
Truly inspiring, a real eye-opener! This book was recommended by a good friend of mine who had heard Colin speak at a conference I was intrigued to learn more. This book is an enlightening read and has given personal inspiration to take next actions to improve my Customer's experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for those serious about their business, 2 July 2007
This review is from: The DNA of Customer Experience: How Emotions Drive Value (Hardcover)
Emotions drive $$$ in an experience!

I have never realised what an impact emotions have. The book identifies the four clusters of emotions that can literally drive or destroy value. The work has been done with London Business School so it must be right!

This has made me look at my interactions with Customers in a new way. I recommend that you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, understand and implement, 4 Jun 2007
By 
David J. Hillman "dave37314" (Beds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DNA of Customer Experience: How Emotions Drive Value (Hardcover)
This is an enlightening book and an outstanding read. After reading the first two books by Shaw I believe this encapsulates the next stage of the Customer Experience. It is easy to read, easy to understand and easy to implement! I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to take the Customer Experience to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best book, 30 April 2009
By 
Kasper Møgelvang (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The DNA of Customer Experience: How Emotions Drive Value (Hardcover)
Colin Shaw insights are first class. I think this is his best book until now and I like his other work.
Colin Shaw has a rare ability to keep his focus on creating value to companies using simple approaches and ideas. Everything is explained with a good combination of cases and theory that gives the reader a clear understand of the interest points made in the book.
I believe that all companies could benefit from the knowledge provided by Colin Shaw about the importance of emotionel factors to the customers. In the current business climate it is refreshing to read something with vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The DNA of Customer Experience: How Emotions Drive Value
The DNA of Customer Experience: How Emotions Drive Value by Colin Shaw (Hardcover - 10 May 2007)
£31.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews