Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study of Britain's declining economy
Larry Elliott, the Guardian's economics editor, and Dan Atkinson, the Mail on Sunday's economics editor, have produced another fine book on Britain's economic ills. Their record is good: their 2007 book Fantasy Island warned that Brown's claim to have ended boom and bust was nonsense.

We have a chronic balance of payments deficit, a looming shortage of energy...
Published on 24 July 2012 by William Podmore

versus
45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An important message, undermined by overstatement and flippancy
The wheels came off the British economy in 2007, but that wasn't the beginning of the end for Britain, according to Elliott and Atkinson. The decline started a lot earlier than that - 1914 to be precise.

At the start of WW1 Britain was the world's only superpower, the world's leading exporter, and a major military power. A century later, we've experienced a...
Published on 3 Nov 2012 by Jeremy Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
A superb read spelling out in laymans terms ahow and why we are as a country in such and economic mess.
A must read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The men who told you so., 4 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
The authors are economists with a remarkable flair for explaining complex issues in a crystal clear but unpatronising style. They have co-written previously - in "Fantasy Island " the perceptive analysis foretold the double dip recession and the reasons for it. In this later book, we are led through the detail of the economic ravages of the Second World War, the demise of the Empire, and the rise of new economic powers in Asia, the Middle East and South America. We are taught a convincing lesson - Britain's posturing as a super-power is past. We can't afford, nor do we need, to spend billions on nuclear submarines, to send troops and aircraft into bases and battles all over the world - we must learn to live within our means, as a modest and modern European democracy, capable of keeping all its people employed, educated, fed and healthy, with the benefits of innovation and enterprise, as do our neighbours in the Low Countries and Scandinavia. This authoritative and forceful book should be on the shelves of everybody interested in our political and economic future, but it would be of particular value to the blimps who still hanker after an Imperial past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a condemnation of our political leaders over more than a century., 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting opinion on how Britain has gone down the tubes since Victorian times. I would like the time to check out all the assertions made; not that I doubt them, just a feeling of unease that no government in the intervening period did anything about the inevitable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great reading, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
this makes a compelling reading for anyone interested in a very up to date view of the UK economy and the social implications of where we're heading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Theories, 12 April 2013
By 
Geoff Townley "geoffaries" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
Certainly worth reading, although I did find myself disagreeing with some of the statements and I'm not sure that the definition of what constitues a third world economy is accurate, but there are some compelling facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be conpulsory reading for all the nationalistic flag wavers., 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some unfomfortable reading for the majority of tabloid reading, Europe hating, head in the sands idiots in this country. The rest of you will admire how well this book has been written and researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worrying, 8 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
Somewhat heavy going but excellent possible future for UK.
Starts 100 years ago just after industrial revolution when Britain had the lead.

We now think of the poor north and the wealthy south, but 100 years ago it was the opposite. Rich northern factory owners while south was mostly farmland.

They do NOT argue that the UK will be like, say, Somalia but that we will be far more dependent on foreign ownership, tourism etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Downhill since 1914, 16 Aug 2012
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
Gives an excellent historical analysis of how/why Britain got to where it is today and is well worth reading for that alone. How this story will end is open for debate, but the authors' conclusions are hard to argue with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightening, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
factual and very critical on all political parties
historical data is well researched and blows a lot of UK myth out of the water
tells you how you get conned from all sides
but also how to protect yourself
you must read this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you have suspected and more expressed in a serious but chatty way., 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommend to anybody with an interest in finance and history and politics, or just British life. No particular political bias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews