Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study of Britain's declining economy
Larry Elliott, the Guardian's economics editor, and Dan Atkinson, the Mail on Sunday's economics editor, have produced another fine book on Britain's economic ills. Their record is good: their 2007 book Fantasy Island warned that Brown's claim to have ended boom and bust was nonsense.

We have a chronic balance of payments deficit, a looming shortage of energy...
Published on 24 July 2012 by William Podmore

versus
45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An important message, undermined by overstatement and flippancy
The wheels came off the British economy in 2007, but that wasn't the beginning of the end for Britain, according to Elliott and Atkinson. The decline started a lot earlier than that - 1914 to be precise.

At the start of WW1 Britain was the world's only superpower, the world's leading exporter, and a major military power. A century later, we've experienced a...
Published on 3 Nov. 2012 by Jeremy Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An important message, undermined by overstatement and flippancy, 3 Nov. 2012
By 
Jeremy Williams (Luton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
The wheels came off the British economy in 2007, but that wasn't the beginning of the end for Britain, according to Elliott and Atkinson. The decline started a lot earlier than that - 1914 to be precise.

At the start of WW1 Britain was the world's only superpower, the world's leading exporter, and a major military power. A century later, we've experienced a relative decline as our national prestige has waned and other countries have caught up and overtaken us. We've had no particular strategy as a country, we have allowed a series of imbalances to develop, and there's no obvious way out of it. The economy is "slow-growing, unproductive, unequal, unbalanced and living beyond its means" say the authors. If we don't fix it, the future looks "shabbier, meaner and poorer".

This central premise is pretty much correct in my opinion, and a rather urgent message considering how complacent we appear to be. Unfortunately, the book itself leaves a lot to be desired.

Going South divides roughly into thirds, and only the middle third of it is actually any good. It begins by lamenting Britain's new `third world' status, a hundred pages of whining about how things aren't how they used to be. There are some good points here, but some of it is just downright silly.

The middle pages are the useful bit, where the authors look at the post-WW1 history of Britain's economy. This is a good overview, showing the strategies and government initiatives to stimulate the economy. Taking us up to the present, the book then looks at a series of problems that Britain faces in the coming years, and it is here that it is at its best. It includes the balance of trade, the pensions deficit, energy security, household debt and banking instability. It's convincing, and lives up to the chapter title of `the great reckoning'.

Then comes part three, where there is a tentative look at what we could do about it. The authors suggest Britain can go in one of two directions: a social democracy like Sweden, or a `freeport' capitalist model that would basically turn the whole country into an export processing zone. They then describe how Britain might look under each of these development paths. The former is a fairly attractive portrait, the latter a crass caricature that's more extreme than any other capitalist project yet conceived anywhere in the world. Why they think these are the only two options, I don't know. It's clear that they think Britain should pursue the Scandinavian model. They should just say so, rather than attempting to make the point with a false alternative.

My biggest problem however, comes back to the opening section and the argument that Britain is becoming a `third world country'. The authors recognise that the `third world' tag is used "routinely in pub and kitchen table conversation in response to railway strikes, political sleaze, to the council's failure to empty the rubbish bins." They insist that they "are not using the expression in that way", but then repeatedly do, referring to "Britain's banana republic transport system", or the police tactics of "third world Britain."

This just doesn't stand up to scrutiny, but once they've started they can't stop. Everything becomes evidence of Britain's new third world status. The list includes our politicians' search for a `big idea', bureaucracy, tax breaks for business, and an overcomplicated public service. Then it gets worse - the fact that we have a `tourist strategy', the National Lottery, or the desire to host the Olympic Games. Or consider this: "the large numbers of people employed to stand on pavements handing out leaflets, cheap telephone cards and free newspapers, or attempting to sign up customers for various services, is a sure sign of incipient third world status."

The Sky News subscription team in the mall make Britain a third world country? Seriously?

I know plenty of people like this sort of thing, but the tone of tabloid indignation undermines the very serious points made elsewhere the book. And that's a shame, because there's an important message amidst all the bluster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study of Britain's declining economy, 24 July 2012
By 
William Podmore (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
Larry Elliott, the Guardian's economics editor, and Dan Atkinson, the Mail on Sunday's economics editor, have produced another fine book on Britain's economic ills. Their record is good: their 2007 book Fantasy Island warned that Brown's claim to have ended boom and bust was nonsense.

We have a chronic balance of payments deficit, a looming shortage of energy and food, a shrinking economy. We are a net importer of industrial products, food and energy. In 2010 our trade gap in goods was £98.46 billion. In finished manufactured goods, it was £59.8 billion, with deficits in everything from cars (£2.75 billion) to intermediate goods like components (£11.99 billion) to capital goods (£13.3 billion). In semi-finished goods, the deficit was £8.14 billion, in basic materials, £2.9 billion, in coal, gas and electricity, £5 billion, and in food, drink and tobacco, £17.36 billion.

Services had a £58.77 billion surplus, including financial services at £26.6 billion and insurance at £3.7 billion. The surplus on income earned abroad was £23.04 billion. The deficit in transfers was £20.08 billion, including £9.11 billion paid to the EU.

The authors point out, "The quick fixes with which we have sought to disguise our shrinking economic performance - imperial preference, European Community membership, North Sea oil, financial deregulation, asset stripping, and periodic property and house price bubbles - are all used up." They warn that our economy is in absolute decline.

Between 2009 and 2012 real incomes fell by 7 per cent. 6 million households have only five days' savings. Since 1979 the number of people of working age who are too sick to work has quadrupled to 2.1 million. The `self-employed', that is, those employed, if they are lucky, by a variety of employers, numbered 3.9 million in 2011, up from 2.7 million in 1985.

The workforce, `thanks to large-scale immigration', is too big for the economy's needs. 2.5 million non-UK nationals are now employed here.

Just 20 per cent of workers in Germany are low-skilled, 30 per cent in France and 60 per cent in Britain. In the OECD league table of education, we fell from 8th to 28th in maths, 7th to 25th in literacy and from 4th to 16th in science between 2000 and 2009.

The banks are still not investing, instead they are speculating in interest rates, property and commodities. In 2014 a huge wall of banking and commercial debt is due for refinancing, and the banks will be demanding more of our money to cover their gambling debts.

We need to protect our farmers, develop our energy sources and rebuild industry. To do this, we `need to break the power of the City over the economy, smashing up the big banks'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Important topic but slightly disappointing book, 3 Sept. 2012
By 
AndyC (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
There are quite a few books around at the moment about the financial crisis. This one is written by Larry Elliott of The Guardian, who has a done an excellent job in his newspaper columns of explaining the credit crunch etc to non financial experts like myself, and Dan Atkinson of The Mail on Sunday, which has the best financial pages in any of the uk's 'popular' press. A lot of the other books I've read (such as those by Vince Cable and John Lanchester) are 'how the hell did we get here' books, whereas 'Going South' is more of a 'where on earth are we going next' study.

So I was really expecting and hoping to enjoy this book, and it does make some very good points - such as that it is only in the last decade that average earnings in the uk haven't increased at the same average rate (about 1% a year) as the economy as a whole, and even explaining some of Enoch Powell's thinking - that Britain should stop pretending it could still be a major world power - that led to his notorious 'rivers of blood' speech.

However, the book goes off at annoying tangents too often, possibly as a result of the dual authorship, without really explaining the relevance to the main thesis. Too many of the side-tracks are of the 'why oh why oh why' variety that end up sounding like the sort of annoying people in pubs who get their opinions from the tabloids or bbc local radio, and insist on sharing them with you. Personally, I believe that smoking bans, health and safety regulations, and crackdowns on drink-driving are signs of a civilised first-world society rather than a third-world economy. Like a lot of 'ranty' books they twist any occurance to suit their opinions, even when they are mutually contradictory. For example, the authors claim that the prevalence of 'sandwich board' people on the streets of our cities are signs of a third-world economy, but if local councils brought in regulations to prevent these activities, they would no doubt claim that this interference in economic activity was also a sign of our third-world status. In the end, unfortunately, they end up undermining their own arguments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All The Recent British Madness That's Fit To Print, 3 July 2012
By 
Paul Woodfine (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
In this book, the authors argue that in a very short while, the British economy will resemble that of a developing nation rather than that of a developed nation. They then dedicate several thousands of words to cataloguing recent incident after recent incident of official, political and commercial behaviour that makes more sense if we already regard Britain as a developing nation. What they don't claim is that UK GDP will shrink by 15% in a couple of years or that the poor will be found frozen dead in the streets, though they do wave the "the lights are going out" flag - the one where too many of the UK's power stations are due for de-commissioning in a few years' and no-one's built replacements. (Silly billies - the power companies will just import from the French and Germans - after all, most of the power companies are owned by the French and Germans.)

I think they are suggesting that since the UK economy started Going South, the behaviour of its businessmen, officials and politicians got worse. Except they argue that the process has been going on since at least 1918 - it was the First World War what did for the country. The next couple of years will be, they suggest, the final indignities that transform the UK into a developing country full of Chinese engineers building hospitals in return for... whatever it is Britain offers.

However, "working in a low-performance, lop-sided economy" is not an explanation for why the people behave the way they do. The politics, law, management and business culture, the attitude towards education and personal advancement, the discovery or loss of raw materials or value-adding ability - these things come first and the economic status follows. The question is why British officials choose to behave as they do, why so many people swipe in at work so they can treat their customers and clients with peremptory contempt, and why managers and politicians let this happen? The authors choose to stay away from the Dark Side of the British character, where the answers to these questions are to be found.

Their investment ideas are contradictory: they list things that are made by giant companies quoted on the same stock exchange they suggest you stay away from. Unless they are suggesting you go in for investing in private companies, which is a full-time game for wealthy people. And as for investing in pop-up restaurants? For real?

There's a lot of good, accurate anecdote here. I read Disraeli's Sybil, Or A Tale of Two Nations when I was a callow youth, and again later when I was old enough to understand it. Ever since, I have always regarded Britain not as a middle-class country with an inexplicably large underclass, but as an underclass country (of insolent petty officials, rogue plumbers, shoddy programmers, rioters, bullies, currency traders, tax dodgers, puking party girls and affraying lads on the town) with an inexplicably large middle-class. It's not the bad behaviour and incompetence that's the puzzle, but the moments of competence, grace and politeness.

Finally, can journalists talk about Britain without talking about football? The odd thing is that after cataloguing every failure of the England team since it bit, gouged and barged its way to 4-2 in 1966, the authors don't see the recurring hope for the England team as a systemic flaw in the British (or rather English) character: Brits have an endless capacity for delusion and denial, or at least for going through the motions of saying things that would be if they meant them evidence of delusion and denial. Which in itself demonstrates a love of futility and a preference for fantasy. And there's the problem: if the British can collude in deceive themselves about football, they are probably prepared to collude in deceiving themselves about why their children can't get decent jobs and why their own salaries are worth less and less every year.

If you are wondering if it really has been that bad since 2008, then read this book. It won't take long, and you will appreciate that, yes, it was actually worse than you thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you care about Britain, you must read this book, 26 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
In this book Larry Elliott and Dan Atkinson offer a detailed examination both of the current state of the nation, and how we got here - going as far back as 1914 - much of which will be familiar if you have read Correlli Barnett's four books on the period.

In Chapter Three they offer twelve 'indicators' of Britain's descent into third world status, all of which is both as comprehensive as it is destressing.

In examining what steps the country might take to avoid this long descent into basket case status, the authors - in Chapter 8 'Desperately seeking Sweden, or FreeportHo!' - offer a detailed examination of the possible economic models the country might adopt which, as the chapter head indicates, boils down to a choice between something like the Swedish - high tax - social democracic model, or the US - low tax - free market model.

The problem - hinted at by the authors - is that we have never been offered a grown-up debate about these options; quite the reverse, governments are busily in pursuit of what the US Reaganite neocons called "Do less, make it seem like more" displacement activity, suggesting that the coalition is either unaware of the problem, or, more likely, they are - as Ha-Joon Chang recently argued in The Guardian - very happy to continue with a 'system' which preserves the "one per cent" in their plutocracy.

In leaning towards the Swedish model, the authors may not have taken into account the probability that Britain is now a much more Thatcherite country than it was when the Lady first coined the defining 'philosophy' of the coming era: "there's no such thing as society".

If the British Social Attitudes 26th Report is to be believed Thatcherism now has much more support that it had in the 1990s.

The missing dimension, however, is the elephant in the Thatcherite room: free market globalisation.

Governments are now, arguably, governing for the 6000+ Davos People who are beyond the reach of national governments, but on whom governments depend for favours.

It is this phenonomenon which Zygmunt Bauman calls "Standortkonkurrenz" - competition to lower taxes so that global capital will set up shop where taxes and regulations are at their lightest.

They will, however, be less than keen to set up in a country where educational standards, and a certain style of libertarian culture, tend to not to be to employers liking.

The authors are right to emphasise both the educational failure and the message sent out by "talent show wanabees" -

"That modern Britain is failing large numbers of people desperate to better themselves and gain respect ... muddling through represent a choice in itself, and will almost certainly lead to a more rapid descent into developing status."

Given the characteristics of the current political élite it's very difficult to envisage this 'rapid descent' being brought to a halt.

I cannot urge you strongly enough to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pity about the title, 18 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
It's quite a risky proposition to bring out a book in 2012 with the subtitle, `Why Britain Will Have A Third World Economy By 2014,' and the absurdity of this statement almost put me off reading it. Whatever the problems faced by Britain right now, and as the authors correctly point out, there are a great many, they do not make Britain a Third World economy. If this was purely a humorous exaggeration it might not matter, but although there is some humour in this book, the authors appear to be serious in this claim, and therefore I think they are wrong.
A Third World economy nearly always suffers from excessive corruption, poor infrastructure, low average incomes, a great deal of poverty and an inadequate welfare network/education system, plus a lack of development in home-grown financial markets and services in general. By making out, even half jokingly, that Britain fits these criteria, the book immediately loses credibility.

In reality, Britain is perhaps the most obvious example of an overdeveloped post-industrial society, one that has gone the way of extreme financialization, and is now paying the price of having too few wealth creators in the workforce. The UK is not alone in this - many European nations and also the US are suffering from similar problems associated mostly with high debt levels and an over-reliance on services. Britain, certainly, is an extreme example, especially as it was once, as the authors remind us several times, the global superpower and the workshop of the world (the two things go together, of course).

And while I'm pointing out the book's failings, it contains far too many errors; eg, £200 million when it should be £200 billion (page 71), Second World War instead of First World War (page 138), and this interesting fact: `The economy's net wealth by 1951 was lower in 1945 than it had been in 1913 ... (page 140) plus lots of other typos etc (note to publisher; you can pay me if you want the rest).

It's not all bad, however. The writing style is mostly good and even amusing in places, plus there's a pleasant sense of nostalgia when going over past events. Much of what they say, if we ignore the exaggeration implicit in the title and the overall theme, is true enough, and on a kind of `let's all have a good moan about the state of Britain' level, this is quite an entertaining read.

But the fact remains that the main thrust of the authors' argument is too ridiculous to be taken seriously. Instead of trying to prove that Britain is turning into a third-world country, which it plainly isn't, they could have made a much better case by suggesting that the UK has gone too far along the development path, and is now suffering the consequences of trying to live off a combination of its past glory and, via the City, the wealth of other nations. Perhaps Britain, having been the first industrial economy, is now paying the price for becoming the first post-industrial economy. Industry, after all, is an essential ingredient of any society, modern or otherwise, but financial services are not industry. This is Britain's real problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book nails it, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Friendlycard (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
Larry Elliott and Dan Atkinson's book is a really important contribution to an understanding of the unfolding demise of Britain.

Hitherto, authors have looked at many of Britain's woes - its massive debts, its borrowing-addicted economy, its widening inequalities of wealth and income, its increasingly unrepresentative quasi-democracy, its increasingly discredited institutions - and asked this question - "how has this happened to one of the world's first-rank economies?"

When you shift the question, as Elliott and Atkinson do, things suddenly make sense. All of the Britain's most distressing characteristics - debt, disorganisation, incompetence, graft, lack of accountability and so on - may not be consistent with an advanced economy, but they are all too familiar aspects of third world countries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great analysis - very readable., 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting and easy read. The authors avoided complex, economic explanations resulting in a convincing argument. All a bit worrying....we'll have to see what happens.

The trouble is these books which predict doom are always more interesting to read than those which are optimistic. To their credit the authors did manage a few examples of Britain at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish larry elliott had been Chnacellor instead of the current nitwit, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
F. Borwick (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
This book tells you very clearly what is wrong, and confirms all our worst suspicions. Don't trust politicians, especially the current lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good but shorter book was trying to get out, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 (Paperback)
Read a bit like a series of newspaper articles that had been inelegantly bolted together. Much of the prose needed a red pen through it but nonetheless the core of the book contained a compelling and powerfully argued polemic. Britain has been in decline for more than a century, governments since the 1980s have more or less given up on developing meaningful policy responses, while the private sector - a financial services industry of questionable worth the exception -has been sluggish. Governments and citizens have been in prolonged denial about the depth of the economic malaise and a reckoning may be closer than we think. Elliot and Atkinson point out that history is littered with former greater powers to reduced backwater status - and Britain may be within just a couple of years of joining them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014
Going South: Why Britain will have a Third World Economy by 2014 by Dan Atkinson (Paperback - 14 Jun. 2012)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews