Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential guide for students, teachers, researchers and librarians
An outstandingly comprehensive and useful guide which I would recommend to everyone doing original research for writing an essay, dissertation, research paper or book, including all students at secondary and higher education levels, their teachers and/or supervisors, authors, librarians and other non-academic researchers.

Despite the level of very necessary...
Published on 29 Mar 2009 by A Customer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good basic guide but not that comprehensive
This is excellent as a basic introduction and the layout is very clear. However, I would have preferred to see more than one example of each type and, given the amount of "white space" in this book, I feel there would have been space to do this. I would also have liked to see more information on citing different editions (especially dates to use where, say, the book I'm...
Published on 24 Sep 2011 by Moominmamma


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential guide for students, teachers, researchers and librarians, 29 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An outstandingly comprehensive and useful guide which I would recommend to everyone doing original research for writing an essay, dissertation, research paper or book, including all students at secondary and higher education levels, their teachers and/or supervisors, authors, librarians and other non-academic researchers.

Despite the level of very necessary detail covered, this guide is very easy to use, in part thanks to clear sub-sections and contrasting typography, the inclusion of many practical examples of references, a helpful glossary and a comprehensive index which, hitherto, I have always found to be effective.

Coverage of the necessary material divides is split into five logically separate sections.

Section A introduces referencing, what it is and why it needs to be done. There are helpful comments on how to avoid plagiarism, the significance of both common knowledge and confidential information for the referencing process and the question of which referencing style to use.

Section B summarises the most important methods of displaying citations and quotations within a body of text. Section C does the same for displaying references in a reference list and/or bibliography. Both sections use copious examples to demonstrate theoretical points raised. The most common sources are dealt with, namely books, individual book chapters, journal articles (printed and electronic), newspaper articles and internet web sites.

Section D includes individual sections on every conceivable source type that might be encountered and how referencing is done for each source type, again with practical examples. For this section, the Harvard (author-date) style is followed. To name but some source types included, conference papers, theses, Virtual Learning Environment content pages, British Standards, patents, mathematical equations, cartoons, maps, radio and TV programmes, musical scores, podcasts, genealogical sources and, increasingly, internet and online source material are all included. I hope this list in part demonstrates the thoroughness of this book's coverage in detail. The increasing need for reference to electronic sources necessitates purchase of this latest edition rather than the earlier two editions.

Section E covers the essentials of alternative styles to the Harvard referencing style, namely the Oxford Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities (OSCOLA), the American Psychological Association (APA), the Modern Language Association (MLA) and the Modern Humanities Research Association (MHRA).

My one criticism is that there is little emphasis given as to when referencing should be carried out during the research and writing process, apart from some very brief indications on page 12 under 'How to avoid plagiarism'. Referencing needs to be done for each source at the time of use rather than as a comprehensive exercise done after all research has been completed, as I have found out from encounters with college students completing their written assignments and being unable to re-locate materials previously used so that they can recheck referencing details. This criticism does not detract significantly from my overall assessment.

Lastly, this book retails at a very reasonable price. Definitely, excellent value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 22 Feb 2010
I am using this book for my Degree. I had never had to use referencing before this and had basically NO clue. This book is very 'user friendly' and has every reference you could ever need. This honestly is the best book I have ever bought and will see me right through my degree. I highly recommend this book it will take away all the stress in trying to sort your referencing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Harvard referencing - Highly recommended., 26 May 2010
By 
E. Barton (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent source when having to use Harvard referencing. Recommended by Uni (Plymouth)and peers. Looks horrific to use initially but is actually very easy to use! (Honest!) Very clearly laid out with examples for each source of reference and in text citation examples too. Several other methods of referencing are referred to, but the bulk of the book is the Harvard way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good basic guide but not that comprehensive, 24 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cite them right: The essential referencing guide (Palgrave Study Skills) (Paperback)
This is excellent as a basic introduction and the layout is very clear. However, I would have preferred to see more than one example of each type and, given the amount of "white space" in this book, I feel there would have been space to do this. I would also have liked to see more information on citing different editions (especially dates to use where, say, the book I'm referring to is a British edition of a US original, up to its umpteenth reprint and no edition number is given). Also rather more on translations and on referring to a whole body of work by a single author - i.e. making general comments rather than on a specific book. It would also be helpful to have a little information on citing authors whose names do not fit the typical forename plus surname format. So, overall, I would say this is OK, providing solid information, but that I for one was left with various queries for my next tutorial!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It helps me to help them, 8 Sep 2009
By 
David Pellett "University of Teesside" (Worcestershire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a University Lecturer, I provide guidance to students. As such, I must be absolutely correct. This reference book has ensured that I can give the assistance required and of course.....be correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't do without it!, 17 Nov 2009
By 
Heather Bates (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is the standard for referencing and citations at our university and I can see why. It is useful for people at all levels of writing, from those still at school to the very top of academia. The book is very clearly and logically laid out and, in light of the increasing number of electronic sources, has been updated to include any manner of places from which you may want to quote, even including sources such as director's commentaries on DVDs! It concentrates mainly on the Harvard style of referencing, but also includes guidelines on OSCOLA (for law schools), APA, MLA & MHRA. There is also a useful section on avoiding plagiarism. The book is excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cite them right, 3 Jun 2009
By 
R. Taylor (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I borrowed a copy of this from a friend to use when referencing for my Uni assignments and found it invaluable so had to purchase a copy for myself. There are about 5 of us who each have our own copy as it is very useful. It gives clear examples of how to set out your citations, referencing and bibliography when using different sources. The types of sources it covers is quite large from books,journals,internet articles,reviews, Government publications,films/movies,lecture notes and so much more as well as alternatives to Harvard style referencing. Its a very useful book that I have used many times when writing my assignments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Harvard referencing using Internet sources and Youtube., 11 Feb 2011
By 
Yay!! (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cite them right: The essential referencing guide (Palgrave Study Skills) (Paperback)
Harvard referencing starts on page 14 - and is the main body of the book.

Every conceivable version of referencing for the internet, youtube, ebooks is included.
Do you know how to reference a youtube video? No, neither did I.

These days being able to reference a book, is nothing... electronic journals and internet sources are the bulk of reseach for most students.

We need to be able to cite internet sources, so you can get that reference correct, in the text and at the end.

The layout of the book is superb. It details how to reference, working from the information that you have, and what to do, if a website has no date or author on it. And lets be honest, how many websites will quote you the author and date of update?

The book is easy to read, clear, very visual, and lovely paper - wonderful to the touch.

Finally it's in it's 8th edition. How many books do you know in their 8th edition - which on it's own is a statement of how good this book really is.

Wish I'd bought this earlier!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is an essential reference guide for anyone in further education, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Referencing can be a minefield when doing essays, assignments or reports. This book covers every eventuality of referencing. It will keep you right, just like it says it will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resourse, 3 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a lecturer for communications courses at different levels I often have problems explaining how to cite references from different sources to my students without them getting too baffled. This book lays out the correct way in a simple to understand format and the inclusion of examples makes it even easier to understand.

It covers three different citing standards, which cover a number of different area so is a bonus in this way as well.

I have a feeling that this book will become like an old friend who is useful in so many ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cite them right: The essential referencing guide (Palgrave Study Skills)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews