Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is thorough and packed with precise explanation, but also good-humoured and fluently written. Suitable for those (like myself) who are new to the subject but with sufficient depth that I'm sure I'll get more from it after reading other works and returning to it. Definitely worth buying, reading, keeping to read again... Recommended.
Published on 13 May 2003

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simplified
A good introduction to IR, but beyond BA 1 this book loses its utility - it's far too simple. The book covers only certain interpretations of main IR theories, and most readers would be better with something like International Relations Theory: Realism, Pluralism, Globalism and Beyond which shows the nuances of each point of view. These nuances are not just fussing by...
Published on 2 Aug 2009 by Mr. F. J. Evans


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 13 May 2003
By A Customer
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is thorough and packed with precise explanation, but also good-humoured and fluently written. Suitable for those (like myself) who are new to the subject but with sufficient depth that I'm sure I'll get more from it after reading other works and returning to it. Definitely worth buying, reading, keeping to read again... Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must have!" for students and teachers of Politics, 21 April 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find Chris Brown's methodical approach to the much debated theory of International Relations most refreshing. His non-judgemental style gives a clear account of all the main theoretical possibilities of the discipline while at the same time restoring the fun that is sadly missing back to the subject. This text is essential reading for any student (postgraduate or undergraduate) of International Relations or Politics. Even teachers and politicians could learn something from this valuable text!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simplified, 2 Aug 2009
By 
A good introduction to IR, but beyond BA 1 this book loses its utility - it's far too simple. The book covers only certain interpretations of main IR theories, and most readers would be better with something like International Relations Theory: Realism, Pluralism, Globalism and Beyond which shows the nuances of each point of view. These nuances are not just fussing by petty theorists, but important differences that should not be overlooked by anyone taking a serious interest in IR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me want to read a lot more about the subject!!!!!, 19 Nov 2003
I bought this book in order to increase my understanding of the current affairs in international politics. And I can certainly say that it did!! This book increased my insight but most of all it inspired me to read much more about the subject. I think it's a great introduction and I found the 'further reading guide' at the end of the chapters very helpful in exploring this extremely interesting subject!!! If you buy this book you WILL be burdened with the need to read a lot more, truly inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No beating around the bush, 12 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding International Relations (Paperback)
This book is very good for those who want an introduction to International Relations. It simplifies issues, but doesn't omit important details. It is very well written, not beating around the bush when it comes to tricky issues. It is written in a honest tone, and makes sure to maintain itself professionally about it.

The structure of the book is also very helpful. It moves more and more into theoretical debates as the chapters go on, but it is still possible to read each chapter without having read the preceding chapters.

I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to study, or just learn more about, International Relations, this book will be extremely handy to have around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Choice, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding International Relations (Paperback)
Whilst if I was to buy a textbook on IR as a beginner to the subject this wouldn't be my first choice, this is a detailed and useful textbook which has come in handy in some of my modules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first year text, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Charles Lister-james (St Andrews, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good first year text and nice to read. A good transition into a student's first year of International Relations. I would recommend it as a starting text to most students. It should be paired with alternate texts as well, but a good piece of a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Painful, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding International Relations (Paperback)
Really didn't enjoy reading this, was very heavy going until the last few chapters when it shifted from theories to the personal application of them.

I don't doubt the quality of the authors credentials or of the information provided, but I do think he has a tendency to be a bit verbose. It's densely packed with information and new theories and name checks come along every few lines. And for somebody not familiar with the topic, it became a jumble of terminology.

But I'm probably not the target audience. It's very comprehensive and I'm sure if you are studying the subject academically it's just the job, but as a casual reader I would choose differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 19 Aug 2012
This review is from: Understanding International Relations (Paperback)
Package arrived on time in very good condition even tho it was a used book. I think its an excellent book for anyone new to international relations as it goes from.the history of it to actual examples which I found very useful. The chapters are set out in readable chunks and an extra reading list is provided at the end of each chapter. I would definately recommend this book to anyone even just for general knowledge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understanding International Relations
Understanding International Relations by Kirsten Ainley (Paperback - 15 April 2009)
£25.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews