Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collection of varied stories
This is a superb collection of short stories. Although designed to be used as part of an Open University course, it stands alone in its own right as a rich collection of stories by writers from around the world, connected by a loose theme of cultural difference. Many of the stories feature characters who, for various reasons, sometimes funny, sometimes tragic, sometimes...
Published on 4 April 2009 by M. V. Clarke

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Open University Set-Text that Explores the Theme of Cultural Diversity Within the English Language
This anthology, edited by Lynda Prescott, is one of a number of set-texts that are needed if you are studying the sixty credit Open University (OU) Level 1 humanities course, AA100 'The Arts Past and Present'. It is an introductory course made for new students to experience a plethora of arts disciplines before deciding on a particular specialism. This book is meant to...
Published 17 months ago by Nicholas Richard Pearson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A World of Difference: An Anthology of Short Stories from Five Continents (Paperback)
An excellent anthology of literary stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov 2014
This review is from: A World of Difference: An Anthology of Short Stories from Five Continents (Paperback)
good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A World of Difference: An Anthology of Short Stories from Five Continents (Paperback)
Enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIZ'S REVIEW, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. Elizabeth Gately (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A World of Difference: An Anthology of Short Stories from Five Continents (Paperback)
GOOD ANTHOLOGY OF STORIES WHICH I AM READING FOR MY OPEN UNIVERSITY COURSE ON ART AND CULTURE. EACH STORY IS DIFFERENT FROM THE NEXT ONE AND PROVIDES GOOD ENTERTAINMENT AND UNDERSTANDING OF THE CULTURE AND COUNTRY FROM WHERE THE STORY ORIGINATES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A World of Difference: An Anthology of Short Stories from Five Continents (Paperback)
Uni Text
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short stories, 16 Feb 2010
By 
C. Marshall (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A World of Difference: An Anthology of Short Stories from Five Continents (Paperback)
Bought this book as part of an Open University Degree syllabus. I enjoyed it very much, I read more than was required for the course for my own pleasure. Lots of great little stories, good if you don't have much time for pleasure reading or never finish a novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, 19 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A World of Difference: An Anthology of Short Stories from Five Continents (Paperback)
Bought this book for a Uni course, which to me seems to be the only reason for it's existence. Not impressed, most stories seem selfish and smug - look how much I suffer type. For me, the exception was the wonderful luminous story 'In Cuba I was German Shepherd' by Ana Menendez. It was worth buying simply to read that story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars used for course work, 13 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. Ra West - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A World of Difference: An Anthology of Short Stories from Five Continents (Paperback)
This was a course work book. Arrived in time and was the book i needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 30 Sep 2010
This review is from: A World of Difference: An Anthology of Short Stories from Five Continents (Paperback)
A good collection of short stories. The book introduces 15 writers with different backgrounds and writing styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A World of Difference: An Anthology of Short Stories from Five Continents
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews