Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baby Bear wants to go to the moon
and, so searches around his house until he finds just what he needs for his mission.

From the back cover:-

'The moon and back before bathtime?
Whatever next!

This is the second book about 'Baby Bear', who first appeared in the best-selling Peace at Last by the same author.

Beautifully written and illustrated with Jill...
Published on 23 Oct. 2008 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Whatever Next!
This is another good book by Jill Murphy. I would give it 5/10 as it is not
on a par with 'The Last Noo Noo' I would give that 9/10 & Highly recommend it.
This is quite a good read and a decent bedtime story.
Published on 28 Jan. 2011 by T. Gussmann


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baby Bear wants to go to the moon, 23 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Whatever Next (Paperback)
and, so searches around his house until he finds just what he needs for his mission.

From the back cover:-

'The moon and back before bathtime?
Whatever next!

This is the second book about 'Baby Bear', who first appeared in the best-selling Peace at Last by the same author.

Beautifully written and illustrated with Jill Murphy's characteristic warmth and humour.

'Whatever Next!' has also become a picture book classic.'

30 shiny high quality pages in the popular 2-page spread format. Wonderfully illustrated throughout, this beautiful book is further enhanced by meaningful facial expressions.
Clear text is on the left hand page with the pictures on the right, so suitably predictable for the younger reader who is eager to turn the page!
This delightful book finishes with a topically tired Baby Bear and his Ted, ready for bed!

The book opens with Baby Bear peeking out from behind the curtain, asking nonchalantly:-

"Can I go to the moon?" asked Baby Bear.
"No you can't," said Mrs Bear.
"It's bathtime.
Anyway, you'd have to find a rocket first."

Baby Bear found a rocket in the cupboard under the stairs.
He found a space-helmet on the draining board in the kitchen, and a pair of space-boots on the mat by the front door.
He packed his teddy and some food for the journey and took off up the chimney....
WHOOSH!
Out into the night..........'

On his journey Baby Bear meets an owl who accompanies him in his 'smart rocket` ......up and up ......past the millions of stars, until they eventually land on the moon.
It is rather boring on the moon so Baby Bear, Owl and Teddy have a picnic...... but are very aware that Baby Bear's Bath must surely be ready.
So, they fly down ......and down..... Say Goodbye to Owl...... get a little damp.... and a little bit .....well.....grubby, as they return back down the chimney, landing with a bump on the living room carpet!

As Baby Bear explains his sorry state, in a matter-of-fact sort of way, Mrs Bear laughs:-

"You and your stories," she said.
Whatever next?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming tale and long term favourite, 9 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Paperback)
A beautifully conceived and illustrated book with a charming tale of a bear's adventure at bathtime. The use of 'noise' words brings the tale to life. Black and white drawings on the text pages face beautiful full colour pictures opposite adding to the story. It has become a tale we know by heart and yet never dread as it is selected frequently. The quality of the board is high and the book is showing less signs of wear than some of its contemporaries. A real favourite and one to keep to pass down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is simply no way to hide it, 21 Feb. 2008
I simply LOVE this beautiful book!

This review is for the TED SMART (BOOK PEOPLE) paperback edition.

Baby Bear wants to go to the moon and so searches around his house until he finds just what he needs for his mission.

From the back cover:

`The moon and back before bathtime?
Whatever next!

This is the second book about Baby Bear, who first appeared in the best-selling Peace At Last.
Beautifully written and illustrated with Jill Murphy's characteristic warmth and humour.
'Whatever Next!' has also become a picture book classic.'

30 shiny high quality pages in the popular 2-page spread format. Wonderfully illustrated throughout, this beautiful book is further enhanced by meaningful facial expressions.
Clear text is on the left hand page with the pictures on the right, so suitably predictable for the younger reader who is eager to turn the page!
This delightful book finishes with a suitably tired Baby Bear and his Ted, ready for bed!

The book opens with Baby Bear peeking out from behind the curtain, asking nonchalantly:

"Can I go to the moon?" asked Baby Bear.
"No you can't," said Mrs Bear.
"It's bathtime.
Anyway, you'd have to find a rocket first."

Baby Bear found a rocket in the cupboard under the stairs.
He found a space-helmet on the draining board in the kitchen, and a pair of space-boots on the mat by the front door.
He packed his teddy and some food for the journey and took off up the chimney....
WHOOSH!
Out into the night..........'

On his journey Baby Bear meets an owl who accompanies him in his 'smart rocket'......up and up......past the millions of stars, until they eventually land on the moon.
It is rather boring on the moon so Baby Bear, Owl and Teddy have a picnic...... but are very aware that Baby Bear's Bath must surely be ready.
So, they fly down ......and down..... Say Goodbye to Owl...... get a little damp.... and a little bit .....well.....grubby, as they return back down the chimney, landing with a bump on the living room carpet!

As Baby Bear explains his sorry state, in a matter-of-fact sort of way, Mrs Bear laughs:

"You and your stories," she said.
Whatever next?"

Indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bear on the moon? Whatever Next!, 5 Jun. 2013
By 
Cream crackered (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Paperback)
Whatever Next is a childrens story written and illustrated by Jill Murphy. Jill Murphy is also well known for creating the popular childrens book Peace At Last. She also created The Worst Witch series of books and The Large Family picture books. Whatever Next was first published in 1983.

The book is A4 size and paperback. The front cover (and pages) are quite thin unfortunately, so make sure young children are supervised! On the front cover is a large and rather fun picture of Baby Bear sitting in a box (with a colander on his head), zooming out of a chimney, whilst a cat looks on! The illustrations inside the book are lovely and enjoyable to look at. Each page has a full colourful picture and there are even black and grey pictures on the text pages (these give you more of an idea of what Baby Bear is getting up to). I never read this book as a child but I used to love Peace At Last. The pictures in this book are very similar to Peace At Last, which makes me feel even more positive towards it.

My daughter (5) regularly asks for this book at bedtimes and has done so for a few years. It's just the right length and it's a nice, enjoyable, easy going story for settling down to. My daughter is usually captivated until the end and doesn't lose interest. I like the fact that the book makes use of imaginative play and encourages children to use their own imagination like Baby Bear. As my daughter has now begun reading, she is also interested in helping me read the book - there is no repetition or rhyming, but there are a lot of small words for reading beginners to sound out (Eg. Can, go, to, the, mat, by, for, off, up). I think this book would be enjoyed best between 2-6 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Perfect! The Bear Family Are Back!, 27 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Next (Hardcover)
As my 3-ear old son is a huge fan of "Peace at Last", we were delighted to find more adventures of the Bear family. Jill Murphy has captured exactly the fun a child can have with a cardboard box and a lot of imagination. We have read this so many times my son now remembers it word for word! What greater praise can there be from a small boy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories..., 7 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Paperback)
We first read this to our little boys when it was originally published and it continued to be their favourite story for many years. Now they are all grown up and our very loved, battered and taped copy sits on the shelves waiting for more little ones to creep quietly into bed for story time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The smile on my child's face says it all., 25 July 2014
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Paperback)
It's a cute book. Please never let these children's books go out of print. I loved them when I was a child, now my children love them. My own copies from the 1980's have been looked at so often by my children they have now fallen apart. I was delighted to find them brand new and it didn't cost a small fortune either. Since this book "whatever next" and three Happy families books came through the letter box this morning they have not been put down. Their smiling their little heads off, what more could a parent want. Good old fashion fun, you can't beat these children's books. My children love these books read to them especially before bedtime. Books mean to our little ones - cuddles, laughter, learning new words, spending time listening and talking to your children. They look forward to having stories read to them everyday. Mrs Skinner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the imagination, 7 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Hardcover)
Our 2-year old is always asking us to read him "Baby Bear" and is now obsessed with finding the moon. The interaction between Mrs Bear and Baby Bear obviously resonates with him (Can I go to the moon? No you can't, it's nearly bathtime) and he can't get enough of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical!, 21 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Hardcover)
Exceptional good value for money, my 18 month old won't go to bed without it being read to her. She is totally potty about the moon and looks for it every time we go out of the house - night and day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the moon, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Paperback)
My son 3 loves this storey, we have made a space ship and had a picnic on the moon in the garden, a great story. And a fun to replicate,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whatever Next!
Whatever Next! by Jill Murphy (Paperback - 6 July 2007)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews