Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good eating, 6 Aug 2009
This review is from: Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) (Hardcover)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0230014348/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title

This book i'd be lost without, having got an original copy from the war i highly recommend you buy this book.

You'll never waste any amount of food when you start using this book and without trying you may even lose weight.

if nothing else its a great look at history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Eating, 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) (Hardcover)
This entertaining little book is a reprint of a wartime book by the Daily Telegraph. When first published it cost 2/- (2 shillings or 10p in today's money). It gives recipes and dishes that can be easily made from the limited wartime rations and what vegetables were available. Invaluable for people with an interest in WWII.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full meals from very little, 3 May 2010
By 
David J. Delancie (Croydon, Surrey. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) (Hardcover)
My Grand mother had an original volume of this cook book. Sadly on her death in 1976 they were disposed of and became lost.

Not only was there a certain nostalgia value in obtaining this volume and its companion fascimle. In these times of austerity the recipes remain relevant today for those of us on very restricted budgets. As a proffesional Chef its amazing how much of modern dishes classified as traditional were created during the rationing period (1940-1958)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just What I wanted, 24 Oct 2010
By 
John E. Rupik (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) (Hardcover)
This is a reproduction of the wartime publication. It is most interesting and just what I wanted.

The only small improvement that I think would have been helpful is a couple of pages in a prefix which gave hints and tips on adapting the recipes to our more affluent times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Eating, 16 April 2010
This review is from: Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) (Hardcover)
I bought this for a friend as she was looking for this particular book in the shops and I suggested I try Amazon for her. She was delighted with the buy, the book was very good value for money, it arrived in excellent condition and the service was first class. Another convert! With thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some really good recipes here, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) (Hardcover)
Some really good recipes here, looking for economy items and ways to eke out a small income it full of incidental advice as well as good plain food. AND - surprisingly enough some of the people who sent in recipes are actually listed with their full address would you believe. Find that surprising really although having got their mention maybe they were pleased about it and glad to be doing their bit. A super book, even just to browse through and definitely one to reach for if you've got some unexpected abundance to deal with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun book, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) (Hardcover)
During the war and the probably 10 years after some food was scarce or rationed - this is a fun book to read and to try the recipes out and see just how people coped and to the older generation ( I am one !!) the opportunity taste some memories is fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great lil book, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) (Hardcover)
This a great lil book full of tasty and useful recipes. Obviously there aren't any pictures of the food, but it you're not fussed about that then this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recipes, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) (Hardcover)
I found most of the recipes my grandmother used to make for us when we were children, loved going down memory lane, worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Eating., 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) (Hardcover)
Back in the day the food was just as good as today's.Another one added to the collection of other wartime recipe books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph)
Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) by Telegraph Group Limited (Hardcover - 1 Dec 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews