Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile and accessible read
I've just finished reading this short book. It explains Kotter's Eight Step Process for Change that he first described in more conventional form in Leading Change and then Heart of Change. It tells the story of a colony of penguins who eventually commit to abandoning the iceberg they have inhabited for generations.

Whilst it won;t make the Man Booker shortlist...
Published on 13 Oct 2006 by Patrick Mayfield

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick and easy read illustrating Kotters Eight change steps.
After reading this book you will want to explore Kotters other work:

* Leading Change and

* The Heart of Change.

These give you the depth and breadth that is obviously missing here. I have found other books that I thought had the edge, over Kotters work these include:

*Strategic Organization Change - Pub 2005. It is based...
Published on 13 Feb 2009 by Stan Felstead - Interchange Re...


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile and accessible read, 13 Oct 2006
This review is from: Our Iceberg is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions (Hardcover)
I've just finished reading this short book. It explains Kotter's Eight Step Process for Change that he first described in more conventional form in Leading Change and then Heart of Change. It tells the story of a colony of penguins who eventually commit to abandoning the iceberg they have inhabited for generations.

Whilst it won;t make the Man Booker shortlist next year, I found the fable subtle, realistic and rich enough to keep me reading, and it didn't take long to read the 147 pages of large type, several of which were devoted to some very attractive colour illustrations of points in the story. The story illustrations of Kotter's model were good, and the penguin characters had some familiarity, particularly NoNo the influential saboteur, who did all he could to oppose the change.

This is designed as a more accessible format for the type of manager who would rather freeze on an ice floe than read a research-based management book such as Kotter's original Leading Change. The authors researched how some of the key messages of Kotter's work could be better communicated through story-telling and enhanced by good pictures.

And I think the authors have pulled it off. I can see this book going down well in certain team contexts or change management training courses. Well worth checking out, and it won't take much time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick and easy read illustrating Kotters Eight change steps., 13 Feb 2009
This review is from: Our Iceberg is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions (Hardcover)
After reading this book you will want to explore Kotters other work:

* Leading Change and

* The Heart of Change.

These give you the depth and breadth that is obviously missing here. I have found other books that I thought had the edge, over Kotters work these include:

*Strategic Organization Change - Pub 2005. It is based around a comprehensive organization model and linked change processes, that leads you to what I think is a more realistic view of how to proceed, that is easier to digest than some aspects of Kotters work which has been around for a while now. (see my other reviews)

*Tool kit for Organizational change, by Thomas Cawsey - Pub 2007. This is the product of 10 years work, the result is a very useful, readable and pragmatic guide to organizational change.(see my other reviews)

Stan Felstead - Interchange Resources - UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By no means a Change Management bible, but a great introduction..., 4 Feb 2007
By 
S. Battista "Tango" (South Northants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Our Iceberg is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions (Hardcover)
I was recommended this book in a Change Management course I went on recently. A quick 1 hour read on the train back from London, this book isn't intended to be a Change Management bible, but it is a cute fable that does introduce you to Kotter's 'Eight Steps To Transformation Change' - I would recommend this as a great book to give out to a team undergoing change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The value of certainty, 9 Sep 2008
By 
Anthony Evans "Ant Evans" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Our Iceberg is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions (Hardcover)
What this book does is to show how current fashions in change management are supposed to work. In that sense it is less dull than some of the competition, which usually try to tell you, not show you. However there is a step missing. It is missing because it is the hardest step, and one about which change management has nothing to say. Step 0 is: be right, or be lucky. Most of the alarm calls that reach execs, evoked here in pengiun terms, are wrong. Execs, like doctors, know that if they wait long enough, most 'crises' will just go away by themselves. Of those that are right, the remedial actions proposed, like the data that support them, are almost always contradictory and imperfect. It is true that sometimes any action is better than no action, if only to reassure people. In those cases, there is no need to be right - the need is to appear decisive, and not to be too wrong. In either case, the myth of certainty in the face of change is a convenient veil. Good change management may require eight reassuring steps, but good decision making requires lonely judgements, about which this book has nothing to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A straight forward book that hits the mark, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Iceberg is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions (Hardcover)
If you want a quick easy read that covers all you will need to make a change this is for you.
Read it in less than an hour and it made perfect sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone sitting in a change resistant company leading change or needing a compelling reason to change should read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Arrived as stated., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Iceberg is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions (Hardcover)
Excellent and easy read. All about change and why we struggle with it but why it is a necessary. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kotter is an expert on change, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Iceberg is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions (Hardcover)
Fable type story getting the big picture change message across. Have used it at work where those so inclined got it, others thought it was twee. Will be liked by those who remember Who Moved My Cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Iceberg is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions (Hardcover)
Need I say more. An excellent book for organisational change management. I have provided a copy for all of the key leaders in the organisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: Our Iceberg is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions (Hardcover)
A serious message behind a fable, and wonderful to compare the proposed approach with what typical companies will actually do. A book with useful tools that tells a good story and shows you when your senior managers are being truly effective. And the story itself is fun enough to read to your kids- they may pick up some of the meaning too.

Great stuff, especially compared with the derivative dry repetitive trash that is the not only the average management guru's book, but most of the better ones' too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Our Iceberg is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews